Dear visitors and members, with the staff having moved on to other life interests and as a result of changes in people's internet usage habits, the CodeWalrus community have migrated almost entirely to Discord, IRC and WalrusIRC and is now essentially a place where to hang out, chat about gaming, programming, music, anime, and chill. As a result, even though the CW forums will remain open for posting, for faster TI, Casio or HP calculator help and news we recommend using the bilingual TI-Planet forums instead.

We encourage everyone to join our Discord server now.

* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: Hero Core - Issue tracker  (Read 4930 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Keoni29

  • Featured Project Author
  • Full User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 284
  • Post Rating Ratio: +8/-0
    • 8times8
  • Gender: Male
Hero Core - Issue tracker
« on: November 27, 2014, 10:01:02 pm »
List of known bugs:
Player dies when stuck in a wall or facing a wall and fireing a bullet.[SOLVED]
Cut ability spawns a bullet in the left top part of the screen.[SOLVED]
Savepoint in first room does not work. Only after re-entering the room it works. [SOLVED]

Interrupts cause a memory leak.[SOLVED] booya!


Post any bugs you find here.
« Last Edit: December 01, 2014, 07:38:17 pm by keoni29 »


If you like my work, why not give me an internet?

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18973
  • Post Rating Ratio: +100/-5
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Hero Core - Issue tracker
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2014, 10:44:42 pm »
To report bugs, it would help if we had a copy of the latest version available somewhere :trollface:
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Keoni29

  • Featured Project Author
  • Full User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 284
  • Post Rating Ratio: +8/-0
    • 8times8
  • Gender: Male
Re: Hero Core - Issue tracker
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2014, 10:59:39 pm »
There is this memory leak that has not been fixed yet. It corrupts the TblSet variable. I want to fix that before I release the next build.
« Last Edit: November 27, 2014, 11:03:32 pm by keoni29 »
If you like my work, why not give me an internet?

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18973
  • Post Rating Ratio: +100/-5
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Hero Core - Issue tracker
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2014, 11:33:29 pm »
Ah ok. I was wondering since you told us to report bugs that we find, but we can't report them if we can't play. :P
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Keoni29

  • Featured Project Author
  • Full User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 284
  • Post Rating Ratio: +8/-0
    • 8times8
  • Gender: Male
Re: Hero Core - Issue tracker
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2014, 11:18:14 pm »
I can probably solve this memory leak today. I will most likely release a new build tonight.
If you like my work, why not give me an internet?

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18973
  • Post Rating Ratio: +100/-5
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Hero Core - Issue tracker
« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2014, 03:27:06 am »
Ok good luck! (although I assume it will be tomorrow for you? :P

Do you have any clue what might cause the leak yet?
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Keoni29

  • Featured Project Author
  • Full User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 284
  • Post Rating Ratio: +8/-0
    • 8times8
  • Gender: Male
Re: Hero Core - Issue tracker
« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2014, 08:24:35 am »
It is something that happens before, during or after the titlescreen. Not the main game.
If you like my work, why not give me an internet?

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18973
  • Post Rating Ratio: +100/-5
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Hero Core - Issue tracker
« Reply #7 on: November 29, 2014, 07:09:35 pm »
Ah ok. Is it a continuous drop or just one single memory decrease?
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
Re: Hero Core - Issue tracker
« Reply #8 on: November 30, 2014, 09:24:42 am »
So it's the interrupt ? What does the interrupt do ?

Offline Keoni29

  • Featured Project Author
  • Full User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 284
  • Post Rating Ratio: +8/-0
    • 8times8
  • Gender: Male
Re: Hero Core - Issue tracker
« Reply #9 on: November 30, 2014, 11:34:19 am »
It is used for playing back TIMID music, but even with no code in the isr ( immediately returning) this leak occurs. I suspect that something else is leaking into L2 which in turn causes the interrupts to behave strangely.
If you like my work, why not give me an internet?

Offline pimathbrainiac

  • Full User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 421
  • Post Rating Ratio: +2/-1
  • Formerly Banned CW Co-Founder Turned News Editor
    • pimathbrainiac
  • Gender: Other
Re: Hero Core - Issue tracker
« Reply #10 on: November 30, 2014, 02:46:39 pm »
Have you tried using LnRegr? According to Runer that should fix it.
Well, I'm bach here too!

Offline Keoni29

  • Featured Project Author
  • Full User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 284
  • Post Rating Ratio: +8/-0
    • 8times8
  • Gender: Male
Re: Hero Core - Issue tracker
« Reply #11 on: November 30, 2014, 02:48:29 pm »
Yes I use that.
If you like my work, why not give me an internet?

Offline pimathbrainiac

  • Full User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 421
  • Post Rating Ratio: +2/-1
  • Formerly Banned CW Co-Founder Turned News Editor
    • pimathbrainiac
  • Gender: Other
Re: Hero Core - Issue tracker
« Reply #12 on: November 30, 2014, 02:50:25 pm »
Hmmmm... Perhaps compile with an older version of Axe that uses L2 instead of the new RAM area for interrupt storage?
Well, I'm bach here too!

Offline Keoni29

  • Featured Project Author
  • Full User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 284
  • Post Rating Ratio: +8/-0
    • 8times8
  • Gender: Male
Re: Hero Core - Issue tracker
« Reply #13 on: November 30, 2014, 02:52:06 pm »
Which ram area is used with the latest version? More importantly: how come something else overwrites this reserved ram area? I am using all of L1 and GDB's for the rest.
If you like my work, why not give me an internet?

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
Re: Hero Core - Issue tracker
« Reply #14 on: November 30, 2014, 03:11:16 pm »
Well L2 happens to be aligned to 256 bytes and to be of the right size for the im2 vector table so that's why most stuff stores it there. I have no idea what the issue could be.

You should try to run your program through Wabbit's debugger if you know some ASM (you can also monitor RAM from there so you can see what it overrides I guess).

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games