* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: StarCraft II  (Read 2268 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18806
  • Post Rating Ratio: +98/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
StarCraft II
« on: December 11, 2014, 05:44:04 am »
See topic title :P


I was wondering if anyone else play Starcraft II? I used to play almost every night back when I laddered (I only got to gold, though). Now I mostly play custom team games such as unranked, Big Game Hunters mode and Nexus Wars. I haven't connected in a while since I was busy with this site, but now that most of my urgent site duties are done, maybe I'll have more time to play again and code calc games.

I know that most of you live in Europe, but since the last year or so it is now possible to play on any server regardless of where you live (the game used to be region-locked).


What about Starcraft: Brood War? (yes, that's still a thing. There are 9000 connected users on the old SCBW Battle.net as I write this)
« Last Edit: December 11, 2014, 05:45:55 am by DJ Omnimaga »


  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Scipi

  • Full User
  • Domain Name Owner
  • CW 4x3 challenge - 3rd place
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Lost Town
  • Posts: 164
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-0
  • CodeKitten ^w^
    • s1ay3r44
    • Scipii
    • _Scipi
    • Scipi
    • ScipiSoftware
  • Gender: Male
Re: Does anyone here plays Starcraft II?
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2014, 05:52:47 am »
I have SCII, but I never play it. For some reason, I never preferred SC's style of RTS over C&C and Red Alert. Although nowadays I play Rome: Total War, Wargame: Red Dragon, and EU IV as my main RTS's (EU IV is kinda real-time).
  • Calculators owned: TI-83+, Nspire, Nspire CX, Casio Prizm




Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18806
  • Post Rating Ratio: +98/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Does anyone here plays Starcraft II?
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2014, 08:19:28 am »
I used to play C&C but only on the Nintendo 64. For some reasons for me it was the opposite: Once I tried Starcraft I never could look back (although I didn't mind Warcraft II). Even Supreme Commander didn't appeal much to me. I guess I'm just picky about RTS'es :P

That said, SCII has plenty of arcade games and custom maps that are different from the real game and the game is now free to play (although with no campaing and ladder) so they can be an option as well. For example, I often play Nexus Wars (yay for caging :P)
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Scipi

  • Full User
  • Domain Name Owner
  • CW 4x3 challenge - 3rd place
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Lost Town
  • Posts: 164
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-0
  • CodeKitten ^w^
    • s1ay3r44
    • Scipii
    • _Scipi
    • Scipi
    • ScipiSoftware
  • Gender: Male
Re: Does anyone here plays Starcraft II?
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2014, 08:27:01 am »
I think the main thing that kept me away was that I'm more the base building type. I like to use defence turrets and expand out rather than rely on units, which starcraft demands more on. SupCom's flux economy is what keeps me away from that game. I watch some of the pro's play online, and it's amazing, but I could never figure out how to tech up properly.
  • Calculators owned: TI-83+, Nspire, Nspire CX, Casio Prizm




Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18806
  • Post Rating Ratio: +98/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Does anyone here plays Starcraft II?
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2014, 08:45:49 am »
Aah I see. Yeah I tend to like sending armies into enemy bases and destroy stuff lol. I like big army clashes, though, as well. In SC you really have to balance micro and macro while still doing both properly (although SCII makes it better than SC1 by allowing more than 12 units per groups and grouping buildings on the same key).
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Professional slacker
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Israel
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
  • ƎW∀⅁ ƎH⊥
  • Gender: Male
Re: Does anyone here plays Starcraft II?
« Reply #5 on: December 11, 2014, 10:16:03 am »
Nope I don't play any strategy games but I have a cousin who used to play SC2 as well.
  • Calculators owned: TI-80, HP 40G, TI-84 Plus rev G (yay 128k RAM), TI-83 Plus Silver Edition (broken LCD), TI-82 Stats.fr (black), TI-Nspire CX rev C (yay Nlaunchy), TI-83+ SE ViewScreen



Offline unknownloner

  • Full User
  • CW 4x3 challenge winner!
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Yesterday
  • Posts: 221
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-0
  • WHY CAN'T I CLICK ALL THESE CIRCLES?!
    • Code Blog
  • Gender: Male
Re: Does anyone here plays Starcraft II?
« Reply #6 on: December 11, 2014, 01:23:53 pm »
Well I own SCII wings of liberty, haven't played it in ages though. Haven't played supreme commander in ages either, really need to go back and play that. I think I prefer supreme vommander to starcraft but I couldn't say right now honestly.

  
/)

Offline GuyInFreezer

  • Full User
  • Safe-haven access
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location: Durham, NC
  • Posts: 44
  • Post Rating Ratio: +0/-0
    • drcirno99
    • GuyInFreezer
  • Gender: Male
StarCraft II
« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2016, 02:19:35 pm »
Because I saw no mention of this game :D

I tried the ladder few weeks ago since my last time (which was 2010, when the game came out, and ranked silver with all cannon rushes) and earned a shiny bronze rank! (2 wins, 3 losses, All but one encounters being PvP and the enemy coming with oracle rush)
But man, LotV games feel much more different than the previous ones.

These days I mainly do co-op missions (which are great addition to the game imo) and arcade games (mainly monobattles and desert strike).

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18806
  • Post Rating Ratio: +98/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: StarCraft II
« Reply #8 on: January 11, 2016, 10:04:44 pm »
Merged both Starcraft topics together :P

I didn't play SCII in a long while, since my PC currently has overheating issues during such games. I need to fix it. >.<

The highest I went to was mid gold, during season 3, but that was ages ago. I bet I would be bronze level now. I no longer ladder and now instead play unranked or custom games when I play. Also I remember I had a friend in my list there that made his way from bronze to diamond with just 6 pool rushes. :P Also monobattles are fun, as long as you use a map with a time limit at the start to select unit.

By the way, what are the main differences with LotV?
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline GuyInFreezer

  • Full User
  • Safe-haven access
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location: Durham, NC
  • Posts: 44
  • Post Rating Ratio: +0/-0
    • drcirno99
    • GuyInFreezer
  • Gender: Male
Re: StarCraft II
« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2016, 10:25:23 pm »
Basically balance wise, Zerg became OP, Terran became sad, and Protoss got this awesome unit called Adept which made already cheesy toss even more cheesy with early adept-warp prism rush.

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18806
  • Post Rating Ratio: +98/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: StarCraft II
« Reply #10 on: January 11, 2016, 10:33:52 pm »
Ah I see. I think they made Zerg OP because it was the hardest race (by far) to start with. Most zerg strategies were oriented towards counter-attacking and map control, since attacking head-on resulted into heavy unit loss, especially against turtling Terrans. But I always found that zerg had issues defending against certain strategies, especially Terran marine tank or early protoss air (although sneaking an ovi near their base early in the game then moving it into the base before they get anti-air was effective).

Terran was even harder to defend against in silver because by then, players were faster, but still didn't follow any build order correctly, so they were unpredictable, rendering scouting useless. Someone could get 2 gas early, predicting early air or helions, only to not do any T2 unit and switching to marine/marauder. However, if their initial attack failed hard, then you could win easily because they put themselves behind in their econ.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline GuyInFreezer

  • Full User
  • Safe-haven access
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location: Durham, NC
  • Posts: 44
  • Post Rating Ratio: +0/-0
    • drcirno99
    • GuyInFreezer
  • Gender: Male
Re: StarCraft II
« Reply #11 on: January 11, 2016, 10:45:06 pm »
Infestor's fungal are now a projectile that can be dodged instead of insta-cast like last time, but combined with lurker (which was already a scary unit from BW), Ravager (mutates from roaches that can attack both air and ground with non-targeting ability), and that viper's parasite bomb (90 damage + splash on air units) thing are just too good.

Offline GuyInFreezer

  • Full User
  • Safe-haven access
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location: Durham, NC
  • Posts: 44
  • Post Rating Ratio: +0/-0
    • drcirno99
    • GuyInFreezer
  • Gender: Male
Re: StarCraft II
« Reply #12 on: January 11, 2016, 10:48:50 pm »
And also the early game design was completely changed so that you are forced to expand early (now LotV maps are littered with expansions) and you now start with 12 workers to "reduce early-game boredom".

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18806
  • Post Rating Ratio: +98/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: StarCraft II
« Reply #13 on: January 11, 2016, 10:57:43 pm »
OOOOOH lurkers are in multiplayer now? O.O They were my favorite BW unit. Does ravager require a Lair upgrade? THe main weakness of zerg is the lack of any anti-air until you get a lair. In Brood War, you could get Hydras early.

I'm unsure if I like the 12 workers thing, though. It seems like they just changed Starcraft II entirely. That basically means RIP 6 pool D: but also expansions are gonna run out fast now. I guess kids nowadays are just too busy and have a lower attention span, so they got bored at slow game starts, except that I liked the freedom it provided.

@GuyInFreezer with the 12 workers start, does every game now start with a worker rush? :P
« Last Edit: January 11, 2016, 11:46:17 pm by DJ Omnimaga »
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline GuyInFreezer

  • Full User
  • Safe-haven access
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location: Durham, NC
  • Posts: 44
  • Post Rating Ratio: +0/-0
    • drcirno99
    • GuyInFreezer
  • Gender: Male
Re: StarCraft II
« Reply #14 on: January 11, 2016, 11:51:28 pm »
Haven't seen a cheese that extreme yet but because the current meta tend to expand early with every races, there are a LOT of "early timing push" (is how you write it and "super early forward rax bunkering" is how you read it).

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games