Dear visitors and members, with the staff having moved on to other life interests and as a result of changes in people's internet usage habits, the CodeWalrus community have migrated almost entirely to Discord, IRC and WalrusIRC and is now essentially a place where to hang out, chat about gaming, programming, music, anime, and chill. As a result, even though the CW forums will remain open for posting, for faster TI, Casio or HP calculator help and news we recommend using the bilingual TI-Planet forums instead.

We encourage everyone to join our Discord server now.

* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: Site hangs on login  (Read 3265 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Art_of_camelot

  • Full User
  • Safe-haven access
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: Dr. Light's Laboratory
  • Posts: 99
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-1
    • Omnimaga
Site hangs on login
« on: December 21, 2015, 06:52:06 pm »
Codewalrus and Omnimaga won't load on my win 7 laptop running the most current version of chrome. They hang on the login and just show the orange Loading... text

*Edit* It's working now. On Omnimaga, I changed stay logged in forever to stay logged in for a day and it worked. Not sure what changed here.
« Last Edit: December 21, 2015, 06:57:04 pm by Art_of_camelot »



Offline alexgt

  • Just your friendly neighborhood Ninja Stach Fancy Iron Man
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Behind you
  • Posts: 2611
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-1
  • Something should go here...
    • /u/alexgt9123
  • Gender: Male
Re: Site hangs on login
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2015, 06:59:16 pm »
Hope it keeps working for you, it would suck if you couldn't log on for a ling time xD
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84+, Ti-Nspire, Hp Prime, Broken HP Prime, HP 48SX

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
Re: Site hangs on login
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2015, 07:21:32 pm »
It's because of Sorunome's mod, that encrypts the password with RSA to provide an extra layer of security when logging in for sites without https. Try logging in with javascript disabled, and poke him about it to debug it.

Offline Art_of_camelot

  • Full User
  • Safe-haven access
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: Dr. Light's Laboratory
  • Posts: 99
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-1
    • Omnimaga
Re: Site hangs on login
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2015, 07:43:49 pm »
My internet started acting up afterwards, and I haven't been able to reproduce it. It seems likely that it was on my end afterall.

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
Re: Site hangs on login
« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2015, 07:48:19 pm »
Alright, good to know it works now.

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18971
  • Post Rating Ratio: +100/-5
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Site hangs on login
« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2015, 08:55:39 am »
I had the same problem on Omnimaga regardless of which login lenght I selected. I never had issues on CW but I didn't have time to check if it now works on Omni with the new login security mod update.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline cheesehead544

  • New User
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 3
  • Post Rating Ratio: +0/-0
Re: Site hangs on login
« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2016, 10:21:04 am »
If i login from the bar on the left, i get the everlasting loading bar.
but if i login from the top bar, it works.

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18971
  • Post Rating Ratio: +100/-5
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Site hangs on login
« Reply #7 on: January 09, 2016, 11:52:25 am »
Interesting. Also one thing to note is that on Omnimaga, I didn't have this happen the second last time I logged in a few days ago, but yesterday it did again. It seems to only happen from the portal, not the forum index, though. I didn't try on CW since I'm always logged in, though.

What I suspect is that when the site is slow-ish, the connection time outs during login, because when I tried logging in on Omni when it didn't work, the site was slow-ish. Maybe Soru needs to check that out.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18971
  • Post Rating Ratio: +100/-5
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Site hangs on login
« Reply #8 on: January 14, 2016, 03:33:11 pm »
* DJ Omnimaga pokes @Sorunome

Quote
caleb1997   Hello!   10:25:51 AM
caleb1997   I've been having login issues.   10:26:05 AM
caleb1997   I keep trying to log in, and it goes through.... Like, the 10th or 12th try.   10:26:30 AM
caleb1997   It takes me about 9 or 10 minutes to just log in.   10:26:48 AM
caleb1997   Could this be fixed?   10:26:57 AM
DJ Omnimaga   caleb1997 blame Sorunome's mod Tongue   10:28:21 AM
DJ Omnimaga   I think we should maybe get rid of it until he fixes this   10:28:31 AM
*   DJ Omnimaga pokes Streetwalrus   10:28:47 AM
caleb1997   ok.   10:29:14 AM
DJ Omnimaga   Here's the topic https://codewalr.us/index.php?topic=947.0

@Streetwalrus @Juju do you think we could remove Soru's mod until he either fixes this or make it not require javascript? I suspect that JS might be the problem in some browsers, but I could be wrong. But it makes it very hard for people to login successfully.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Sorunome

  • Full User
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Safe-haven access
  • 2016 Yearly CW Project Winner
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Location: Equestria
  • Posts: 164
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-0
  • Keep calm and fox on
    • @sorunome
    • @sorunome
    • /u/sorunome
    • Sorunome
    • 110/11005
    • My Website
  • Gender: Female
Re: Site hangs on login
« Reply #9 on: January 14, 2016, 06:04:03 pm »
* DJ Omnimaga pokes @Sorunome

Quote
caleb1997   Hello!   10:25:51 AM
caleb1997   I've been having login issues.   10:26:05 AM
caleb1997   I keep trying to log in, and it goes through.... Like, the 10th or 12th try.   10:26:30 AM
caleb1997   It takes me about 9 or 10 minutes to just log in.   10:26:48 AM
caleb1997   Could this be fixed?   10:26:57 AM
DJ Omnimaga   caleb1997 blame Sorunome's mod Tongue   10:28:21 AM
DJ Omnimaga   I think we should maybe get rid of it until he fixes this   10:28:31 AM
*   DJ Omnimaga pokes Streetwalrus   10:28:47 AM
caleb1997   ok.   10:29:14 AM
DJ Omnimaga   Here's the topic https://codewalr.us/index.php?topic=947.0

@Streetwalrus @Juju do you think we could remove Soru's mod until he either fixes this or make it not require javascript? I suspect that JS might be the problem in some browsers, but I could be wrong. But it makes it very hard for people to login successfully.
First of all, you cannot revert this mod without making it impossible for certain people to log in (as in, everybody that logged in since the installation of the mod), as I already mentioned a few times.
Second, as already mentioned, the javascript part is optional.

I am willing to look into login issues further if i can recieve said information of somebody effected.
  • Calculators owned: Too many (why are you even reading this?)
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Gamebuino!
This is a signature.
And now......give me an internet!

To be or not to be.........is that even a question? Who gets to decide this anyways?

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18971
  • Post Rating Ratio: +100/-5
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Site hangs on login
« Reply #10 on: January 14, 2016, 06:08:08 pm »
Ah, that sucks then. As for the JS we think this might be what causes the issues and is why Streetwalrus wanted to know how to disable it earlier (he doesn't know how). As for people affected, @caleb1997 was the last one affected. Would he need to send you the same info as rwill?
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Sorunome

  • Full User
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Safe-haven access
  • 2016 Yearly CW Project Winner
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Location: Equestria
  • Posts: 164
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-0
  • Keep calm and fox on
    • @sorunome
    • @sorunome
    • /u/sorunome
    • Sorunome
    • 110/11005
    • My Website
  • Gender: Female
Re: Site hangs on login
« Reply #11 on: January 14, 2016, 06:11:01 pm »
I mentioned in some thread somewhere which $modSetting thingy it was, i couldn't find it in the admin pannel but you could delete that entry off the {board_prefix}settings table.
  • Calculators owned: Too many (why are you even reading this?)
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Gamebuino!
This is a signature.
And now......give me an internet!

To be or not to be.........is that even a question? Who gets to decide this anyways?

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
Re: Site hangs on login
« Reply #12 on: January 14, 2016, 06:15:47 pm »
And I already said that it's not actually possible to change that value. You should have relied on something else for that.

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18971
  • Post Rating Ratio: +100/-5
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Site hangs on login
« Reply #13 on: January 14, 2016, 07:06:24 pm »
And I already said that it's not actually possible to change that value. You should have relied on something else for that.
I am getting confused here, since I'm completely illiterate about that stuff. Does this mean you cannot disable the javascript thing, or is that the other thing Soru talks about?
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
Re: Site hangs on login
« Reply #14 on: January 14, 2016, 07:09:17 pm »
We're talking about the same thing which is the js thing. There is no way to disable it because the "option" checks a variable which is always true (I grepped the entire smf install).
« Last Edit: January 14, 2016, 07:12:42 pm by Streetwalrus »

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games