* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: 8/16/32 or 64 bit?  (Read 2094 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Keoni29

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 284
  • Post Rating Ratio: +8/-0
    • 8times8
  • Gender: Male
8/16/32 or 64 bit?
« on: December 10, 2014, 11:39:16 pm »
What is your favorite word size / bus width / cpu type?
I personally like 8 bit for its simplicity. I also like 64 bit because it's really fast.


If you like my work, why not give me an internet?

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18730
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: 8/16/32 or 64 bit?
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2014, 11:44:37 pm »
I like 64 bits because it seems to run most of my programs, but I like 8 bit because it's simple. However, I would probably need to try ASM on various CPU types to really judge what is more convenient to develop on.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Keoni29

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 284
  • Post Rating Ratio: +8/-0
    • 8times8
  • Gender: Male
Re: 8/16/32 or 64 bit?
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2014, 11:53:02 pm »
I never wrote software in asm for 16 bit systems. I should get one of those 16 bit PIC microcontrollers and mess around with it.
If you like my work, why not give me an internet?

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18730
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: 8/16/32 or 64 bit?
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2014, 12:01:43 am »
You could get a TI-80 calculator and flash the ROM chip :trollface: . IIRC it uses some proprietary 16-bit CPU from TI that TI-Planet documented once. It's 980 kilohertz, though.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Professional slacker
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Israel
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
  • ƎW∀⅁ ƎH⊥
  • Gender: Male
Re: 8/16/32 or 64 bit?
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2014, 12:02:27 am »
Well technically you could make a 64bit cpu that's as simple as the z80. :P It's just that modern ISAs are much more evolved to fulfill modern needs.
  • Calculators owned: TI-80, HP 40G, TI-84 Plus rev G (yay 128k RAM), TI-83 Plus Silver Edition (broken LCD), TI-82 Stats.fr (black), TI-Nspire CX rev C (yay Nlaunchy), TI-83+ SE ViewScreen



Offline Duke "Tape" Eiyeron

  • Urist McEiyolobster
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: (V)(-_(//));(V)
  • Posts: 1636
  • Post Rating Ratio: +11/-2
  • Fanciest Walrus of the oceans.
    • @@Eiyeron
    • Eiyeron
    • /u/Eiyeron
    • Eiyeron
    • Rétro-Actif : Rétro/Prog/Blog
  • Gender: Male
Re: 8/16/32 or 64 bit?
« Reply #5 on: December 11, 2014, 04:58:58 pm »
32 bits because SuperH (and because setting up 32 bit game on a 64bit system can be a PITA sometimes)
  • Calculators owned: A lot.

Offline Hooloowalrus

  • Full User
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Safe-haven access
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Temporarily refracted into a free standing prism.
  • Posts: 24
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-0
  • super-intelligent shade of the color blue
  • Gender: Male
Re: 8/16/32 or 64 bit?
« Reply #6 on: December 11, 2014, 05:02:54 pm »
I like 8 bits for it's small size and easy programmability for things like a calculator, but I like higher bit counts (32 and 64) for a computer which I use to do things. 64 bit has the advantage of lotsa memory, but who needs that :P
  • Calculators owned: TI-83, TI-83+ purple, TI-83+SE, TI-83+.fr USB, TI-84+ SE, TI-84 pocket.fr, Commodore PR-100, 4xTI-73, a couple TI-82s, TI-XXXXXXXXXXX, [blank] (nspire prototype), Nspire CAS+, Nspire Clickpad non-CAS, Nspire CX, HP Prime (lost in space), HP 50G, TI-92+

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18730
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: 8/16/32 or 64 bit?
« Reply #7 on: December 12, 2014, 08:27:45 am »
By the way, is it true that a 8 bit processor is really not suited for a language like C, to the point where it will be even slower and larger than compiled Axe Parser code in comparison?
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Keoni29

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 284
  • Post Rating Ratio: +8/-0
    • 8times8
  • Gender: Male
Re: 8/16/32 or 64 bit?
« Reply #8 on: December 12, 2014, 08:47:37 am »
Modern microcontrollers can be programmed in C just fine. I programmed AVR's in C. Ofc assembly can be more optimized.
If you like my work, why not give me an internet?

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Professional slacker
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Israel
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
  • ƎW∀⅁ ƎH⊥
  • Gender: Male
Re: 8/16/32 or 64 bit?
« Reply #9 on: December 12, 2014, 11:02:48 pm »
I like 8 bits for it's small size and easy programmability for things like a calculator, but I like higher bit counts (32 and 64) for a computer which I use to do things. 64 bit has the advantage of lotsa memory, but who needs that :P
Hard drive users who want a responsive system. :P

Also at the C thing, it's just that 1) the z80 was made to be programmed only in asm and 2) no compiler actually tries to optimize a lot so the code is around the speed and size of the older versions of Axe. As Keoni said, AVR's and PIC's can be programmed in C perfectly fine.
  • Calculators owned: TI-80, HP 40G, TI-84 Plus rev G (yay 128k RAM), TI-83 Plus Silver Edition (broken LCD), TI-82 Stats.fr (black), TI-Nspire CX rev C (yay Nlaunchy), TI-83+ SE ViewScreen



Offline Duke "Tape" Eiyeron

  • Urist McEiyolobster
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: (V)(-_(//));(V)
  • Posts: 1636
  • Post Rating Ratio: +11/-2
  • Fanciest Walrus of the oceans.
    • @@Eiyeron
    • Eiyeron
    • /u/Eiyeron
    • Eiyeron
    • Rétro-Actif : Rétro/Prog/Blog
  • Gender: Male
Re: 8/16/32 or 64 bit?
« Reply #10 on: December 13, 2014, 07:23:40 am »
Quote from: Streetquote
Also at the C thing, it's just that 1) the z80 was made to be programmed only in asm and 2) no compiler actually tries to optimize a lot so the code is around the speed and size of the older versions of Axe. As Keoni said, AVR's and PIC's can be programmed in C perfectly fine.

I just got the reason HBE won't be done in C for TI. Thanks.
  • Calculators owned: A lot.

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Professional slacker
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Israel
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
  • ƎW∀⅁ ƎH⊥
  • Gender: Male
Re: 8/16/32 or 64 bit?
« Reply #11 on: December 13, 2014, 11:43:05 am »
Welp, SirCmpwn is forking sdcc for KnightOS so there might be some improvements on optimization. :) Remember, the z80 was designed in the 80's when c didn't even exist. :P
  • Calculators owned: TI-80, HP 40G, TI-84 Plus rev G (yay 128k RAM), TI-83 Plus Silver Edition (broken LCD), TI-82 Stats.fr (black), TI-Nspire CX rev C (yay Nlaunchy), TI-83+ SE ViewScreen



Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18730
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: 8/16/32 or 64 bit?
« Reply #12 on: December 13, 2014, 12:09:18 pm »
Ah that's cool then. Hopefully this also makes it easier to make cross-OS programs that way too.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games