* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Poll

Would you rather play Fallout on the TI-84+, or the TI-84+ CSE/CE?

TI-84+
11 (78.6%)
TI-84+ CSE/CE
3 (21.4%)

Total Members Voted: 14

Author Topic: Fallout 84+  (Read 1605 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kegwaan

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location: 34th digit of pi^1/2
  • Posts: 113
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-0
  • I suck, but I'm getting better.
    • /u/CL3M3NTiN3_jr
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Fallout 84+
« on: December 14, 2015, 10:26:33 pm »
Some of you may have caught me yesterday mentioning that I once was working on a semi-text based Fallout for the TI-84+, however it was lost in a ram clear. As JWinslow23 suggested, I have decided to revive the project, and I will document its progress here; however do not expect that this project will move forward quickly (I'm a slow programmer  :-[ ).

But first I have a question, should I make this for the TI-84+ or the TI-84+ CSE/CE? (I don't know whether or not you can do polls here or not. If you can do polls, I'd be happy to know how.) (Nevremind, thanks to Araidia fo telling me how) Doing it for the 84+ would be simpler, but the CSE would allow a more Pipboy-like interface (with the black and green colors). But in order to create a game for the CSE that is similar to other CSE games I will have to learn xLIBC, so if I do decide to do that I will need to learn how to use libraries.

As mentioned before, this is going to be semi-text based. Some elements like V.A.T.S. will be graphical, but other elements like traveling will be text based. Although I'd like this to be mostly graphical, I'm afraid that that's not going to be easy on the TI-84+/CSE.

So before I start, should I make it on my 84+ or my 84+ CSE?
« Last Edit: December 14, 2015, 10:41:23 pm by kegwaan »


  • Calculators owned: TI-84+ SE, TI-84+ CSE
"If it's stupid and it works, it's not stupid."

Offline Araidia

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Sep 2015
  • Location: USA
  • Posts: 231
  • Post Rating Ratio: +0/-0
    • 3648273
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fallout 84+
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2015, 10:36:57 pm »
Right next to the "New Topic" box there is a "New Poll" box. It is exactly the same as the previous method but there's a poll too. Since I have a TI84+ CE, I would prefer it to be on there(but it's your choice). I like the Pip boy interface idea too. Good luck on making it! :thumbsup:
  • Calculators owned: TI84+ CE

Also Known as: Soul | Enguard

Offline kegwaan

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location: 34th digit of pi^1/2
  • Posts: 113
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-0
  • I suck, but I'm getting better.
    • /u/CL3M3NTiN3_jr
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fallout 84+
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2015, 11:16:47 pm »
I think I will program it for the CSE/CE, I think a lot of people would choose that over the 84+. I'll start by making a demo version on the homescreen, later I'll learn to use libraries and use those. While I'm here, can I change the color of text on the homescreen, or only on the graphscreen? I've tried but I don't think I can. Wish me luck on the project.
  • Calculators owned: TI-84+ SE, TI-84+ CSE
"If it's stupid and it works, it's not stupid."

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Topic Management
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18271
  • Post Rating Ratio: +91/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fallout 84+
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2015, 11:22:23 pm »
If you make it for the 84+CSE, speed might eventually become a problem and if you decide to stick with menu-based gameplay, then the text will fill up the lower RAM very fast. However, on other models it shouldn't be as bad, especially the 84+CE which has 150 KB of RAM.

Something you can do to add graphics that are somewhat fast is to learn xLIBC, while on the CE you can use colored ASCII and text with CE Textlib library. DCSE8 can also let you use ASCII/text in color.

That said, I am not too sure if making movement menu-based is a good idea, since those games tend to be hard to navigate through by people used to using the d-pad to move around. That's unless you actually use the arrows for commands (eg "GO LEFT" requires pressing Left like in a map-based game, rather than typing out the command or pressing [1] or [F1]). However, it might be better to start text-based at first then eventually move to graphical or ASCII/text sprites as you get closer to completion, so the game look more attractive (and less misleading to people expecting something closer to the real game)  in later versions.


Also @Araidia the New Poll option will create a new topic. What he needs to use is Add Poll instead.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)
??? ??? ??? ???

Offline Araidia

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Sep 2015
  • Location: USA
  • Posts: 231
  • Post Rating Ratio: +0/-0
    • 3648273
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fallout 84+
« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2015, 11:24:45 pm »
If you make it for the 84+CSE, speed might eventually become a problem and if you decide to stick with menu-based gameplay, then the text will fill up the lower RAM very fast. However, on other models it shouldn't be as bad, especially the 84+CE which has 150 KB of RAM.

Something you can do to add graphics that are somewhat fast is to learn xLIBC, while on the CE you can use colored ASCII and text with CE Textlib library. DCSE8 can also let you use ASCII/text in color.

That said, I am not too sure if making movement menu-based is a good idea, since those games tend to be hard to navigate through by people used to using the d-pad to move around. That's unless you actually use the arrows for commands (eg "GO LEFT" requires pressing Left like in a map-based game, rather than typing out the command or pressing [1] or [F1]). However, it might be better to start text-based at first then eventually move to graphical or ASCII/text sprites as you get closer to completion, so the game look more attractive (and less misleading to people expecting something closer to the real game)  in later versions.


Also @Araidia the New Poll option will create a new topic. What he needs to use is Add Poll instead.
My bad, I thought that there was no other way of getting the poll except for making a new topic. ;D
  • Calculators owned: TI84+ CE

Also Known as: Soul | Enguard

Offline kegwaan

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location: 34th digit of pi^1/2
  • Posts: 113
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-0
  • I suck, but I'm getting better.
    • /u/CL3M3NTiN3_jr
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fallout 84+
« Reply #5 on: December 14, 2015, 11:42:50 pm »
If you make it for the 84+CSE, speed might eventually become a problem and if you decide to stick with menu-based gameplay, then the text will fill up the lower RAM very fast. However, on other models it shouldn't be as bad, especially the 84+CE which has 150 KB of RAM.

Something you can do to add graphics that are somewhat fast is to learn xLIBC, while on the CE you can use colored ASCII and text with CE Textlib library. DCSE8 can also let you use ASCII/text in color.

That said, I am not too sure if making movement menu-based is a good idea, since those games tend to be hard to navigate through by people used to using the d-pad to move around. That's unless you actually use the arrows for commands (eg "GO LEFT" requires pressing Left like in a map-based game, rather than typing out the command or pressing [1] or [F1]). However, it might be better to start text-based at first then eventually move to graphical or ASCII/text sprites as you get closer to completion, so the game look more attractive (and less misleading to people expecting something closer to the real game)  in later versions.


Also @Araidia the New Poll option will create a new topic. What he needs to use is Add Poll instead.
What I had in mind for text based movement was using Y= through GRAPH to change your location, and in each location there were things to do, such as look for ammo, etc. But I thought about it, and I might make it so that you have regular, graphical movement, from a top-down perspective.
  • Calculators owned: TI-84+ SE, TI-84+ CSE
"If it's stupid and it works, it's not stupid."

Offline DarkestEx

  • Super User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 1318
  • Post Rating Ratio: +10/-2
    • @0xbmuessig
    • @muessigb
    • View Profile
    • My homepage
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fallout 84+
« Reply #6 on: December 14, 2015, 11:50:54 pm »
Nice game idea :)
Do it for the 84+ please as you will reach a way higher audience as not many people have a color calc (I don't own one nor will I ever get one). Also speed is better on the 84+.

I think a lot of people would choose that over the 84+.
I'd also recommend doing a long term poll. Or let it run for atleast a week. The 84+ has already more votes.
« Last Edit: December 14, 2015, 11:59:23 pm by DarkestEx »
  • Calculators owned: TI-84+, Casio 101-S, RPN-Calc
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Hewlett-Packard 100LX, Original Commodore 64C, Tektronix AWG2021, IBM X60s, IBM X60t, Nintendo DS Lite, Nintendo GameBoy Color, Nintendo GameCube, Xbox 360, Palm m5

Offline kegwaan

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location: 34th digit of pi^1/2
  • Posts: 113
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-0
  • I suck, but I'm getting better.
    • /u/CL3M3NTiN3_jr
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fallout 84+
« Reply #7 on: December 14, 2015, 11:58:41 pm »
Nice game idea :)
Do it for the 84+ please as you will reach a way higher audience as not many people have a color calc (I don't own one nor will I ever get one). Also speed is better on the 84+.
I will probably make the program cross compatible, don't worry. I think that the newer CE will have pretty good speed, but I don't own one and I don't think I'll be buying one anytime soon.
  • Calculators owned: TI-84+ SE, TI-84+ CSE
"If it's stupid and it works, it's not stupid."

Offline DarkestEx

  • Super User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 1318
  • Post Rating Ratio: +10/-2
    • @0xbmuessig
    • @muessigb
    • View Profile
    • My homepage
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fallout 84+
« Reply #8 on: December 15, 2015, 12:03:10 am »
Nice game idea :)
Do it for the 84+ please as you will reach a way higher audience as not many people have a color calc (I don't own one nor will I ever get one). Also speed is better on the 84+.
I will probably make the program cross compatible, don't worry. I think that the newer CE will have pretty good speed, but I don't own one and I don't think I'll be buying one anytime soon.
I wish you good luck then. Writing it cross compatible basically means programming it twice. They are not that compatible. Also what language are you doing it in?
I'd recommended Axe over Assembly or BASIC if you have enough Axe knowledge when it comes to he 84+ as you will have way more speed.

Note to me, finish TwoStep finally.
  • Calculators owned: TI-84+, Casio 101-S, RPN-Calc
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Hewlett-Packard 100LX, Original Commodore 64C, Tektronix AWG2021, IBM X60s, IBM X60t, Nintendo DS Lite, Nintendo GameBoy Color, Nintendo GameCube, Xbox 360, Palm m5

Offline 123outerme

  • Super User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: In spaaace! Well, the Earth is anyhow.
  • Posts: 584
  • Post Rating Ratio: +2/-0
  • Professional Unpaid Intern
    • 113/11355
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fallout 84+
« Reply #9 on: December 15, 2015, 12:04:26 am »
You can make it cross compatible, but it requires a lot of features and advantages of newer models to be ignored. Meaning you only have a 16x8 homescreen character screen.
  • Calculators owned: TI-84+CSE, TI-nspire Clickpad, TI-84+SE

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Topic Management
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18271
  • Post Rating Ratio: +91/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fallout 84+
« Reply #10 on: December 15, 2015, 12:42:40 am »
Nice game idea :)
Do it for the 84+ please as you will reach a way higher audience as not many people have a color calc (I don't own one nor will I ever get one). Also speed is better on the 84+.
I will probably make the program cross compatible, don't worry. I think that the newer CE will have pretty good speed, but I don't own one and I don't think I'll be buying one anytime soon.
I wish you good luck then. Writing it cross compatible basically means programming it twice. They are not that compatible. Also what language are you doing it in?
I'd recommended Axe over Assembly or BASIC if you have enough Axe knowledge when it comes to he 84+ as you will have way more speed.

Note to me, finish TwoStep finally.
It depends. @123outerme once made a BASIC game that adapts to the screen size (Source Seekers). I don't know how he did the automatic detection, though, and it lacked colors.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)
??? ??? ??? ???

Offline JWinslow23

  • Pi is the coolest number in the history of math. :\
  • Super User
  • CW 4x3 challenge - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location: Somewhere between 13 and Graham's Number
  • Posts: 729
  • Post Rating Ratio: +10/-1
  • Use pi! Pi is the absolute greatest! :(
    • @UCu_9qD95nADzc-W6RN-3Z8A
    • 113/11328
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fallout 84+
« Reply #11 on: December 15, 2015, 12:49:54 am »
Nice game idea :)
Do it for the 84+ please as you will reach a way higher audience as not many people have a color calc (I don't own one nor will I ever get one). Also speed is better on the 84+.
I will probably make the program cross compatible, don't worry. I think that the newer CE will have pretty good speed, but I don't own one and I don't think I'll be buying one anytime soon.
I wish you good luck then. Writing it cross compatible basically means programming it twice. They are not that compatible. Also what language are you doing it in?
I'd recommended Axe over Assembly or BASIC if you have enough Axe knowledge when it comes to he 84+ as you will have way more speed.

Note to me, finish TwoStep finally.
It depends. @123outerme once made a BASIC game that adapts to the screen size (Source Seekers). I don't know how he did the automatic detection, though, and it lacked colors.
I believe I had discussed a method with him using DeltaX. If you set Xmin to 0 and DeltaX to 1, then Xmax would be 94 iirc for monochrome, else it's color.

Also, a bit unrelated, if you do that on the CSE, it sets the screen dimensions incorrectly. I noticed that back when I make Cookie Clicker +C. That's why I never knew the real size of the CSE screen :P

Offline 123outerme

  • Super User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: In spaaace! Well, the Earth is anyhow.
  • Posts: 584
  • Post Rating Ratio: +2/-0
  • Professional Unpaid Intern
    • 113/11355
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fallout 84+
« Reply #12 on: December 15, 2015, 01:05:59 am »
I believe I had discussed a method with him using DeltaX. If you set Xmin to 0 and DeltaX to 1, then Xmax would be 94 iirc for monochrome, else it's color.

Also, a bit unrelated, if you do that on the CSE, it sets the screen dimensions incorrectly. I noticed that back when I make Cookie Clicker +C. That's why I never knew the real size of the CSE screen :P
Yeah, I used this. Although the product wasn't that good, the wide range of devices it could run on helped boost downloads. If at all possible (and works well), making it compatible with other devices when you make a graphically simple game is usually the best.
  • Calculators owned: TI-84+CSE, TI-nspire Clickpad, TI-84+SE

Offline alexgt

  • Just your friendly neighborhood Ninja Stach Fancy Iron Man
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Behind you
  • Posts: 2611
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-1
  • Something should go here...
    • /u/alexgt9123
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fallout 84+
« Reply #13 on: December 15, 2015, 03:55:26 am »
Nice game idea :)
Do it for the 84+ please as you will reach a way higher audience as not many people have a color calc (I don't own one nor will I ever get one). Also speed is better on the 84+.
I will probably make the program cross compatible, don't worry. I think that the newer CE will have pretty good speed, but I don't own one and I don't think I'll be buying one anytime soon.
I wish you good luck then. Writing it cross compatible basically means programming it twice. They are not that compatible. Also what language are you doing it in?
I'd recommended Axe over Assembly or BASIC if you have enough Axe knowledge when it comes to he 84+ as you will have way more speed.

Note to me, finish TwoStep finally.
It depends. @123outerme once made a BASIC game that adapts to the screen size (Source Seekers). I don't know how he did the automatic detection, though, and it lacked colors.
In BASIC there is a trick that you set the graph size to fit the screen (so every time you moved the cursor in the graph screen it would increment the position by one) then you would use a command to get the current graph size (I think) then you would have the screen size. You could run a BASIC program within Axe with an Axiom @Cumred_Snektron made and then with some Axe magic that I forgot to do you could store that home variable into a pointer in Axe. (I probably got half those things wrong tho :P)
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84+, Ti-Nspire, Hp Prime, Broken HP Prime, HP 48SX

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Topic Management
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18271
  • Post Rating Ratio: +91/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fallout 84+
« Reply #14 on: December 15, 2015, 07:48:17 pm »
I believe I had discussed a method with him using DeltaX. If you set Xmin to 0 and DeltaX to 1, then Xmax would be 94 iirc for monochrome, else it's color.

Also, a bit unrelated, if you do that on the CSE, it sets the screen dimensions incorrectly. I noticed that back when I make Cookie Clicker +C. That's why I never knew the real size of the CSE screen :P
Yeah, I used this. Although the product wasn't that good, the wide range of devices it could run on helped boost downloads. If at all possible (and works well), making it compatible with other devices when you make a graphically simple game is usually the best.
Thanks for the trick. I think it should be shared in the calculator tutorials section. :)
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)
??? ??? ??? ???

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games