The shoutbox is currently out of service. Join us on Discord instead.

Scary secret codes in Android

Started by DarkestEx, December 09, 2015, 08:31:00 am

Previous topic - Next topic

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

DarkestEx

December 09, 2015, 08:31:00 am Last Edit: December 09, 2015, 09:26:58 am by DarkestEx
[Did you know android has a way to wipe the full phone just by entering a phone number?

Go into the phone application and enter:
WARNING, this will reset your phone!: ShowHide

*2767*3855#

It will wipe everything.

brentmaas

It seems shady already, but the trollface totally confirmed that xD
Lel I glitched Omni

DJ Omnimaga

December 09, 2015, 08:48:19 am #2 Last Edit: December 09, 2015, 09:31:08 am by DJ Omnimaga
Erm, I'm unsure if topics intended to fool unsuspecting visitors/members into damaging their data have their place on CodeWalrus (in this case, *2767*3855# does a factory reset on many Samsung phones).

I have added a warning to your post and a demo video that shows people what the code really does. I'll also be editing the forum rules because it seems like "malicious content" is missing from there. In the future, let's try to keep misleading codes/softwares/links that can result into data loss outside CodeWalrus.


EDIT: Ok thanks for the edit. It's better to inform people about such codes than pranking people with them since it can result into data loss.

p4nix

Older versions of Sony smartphones could run those codes from the emergency call menu without unlocking the phone, and with a special debug menu you could access a phone without knowing the PIN or something.
AFAIK this is fixed now, but knowing this helped a classmate out when he forgot his PIN.

(Not talking about the SIM pin here)

aeTIos

That's harsh. Things like this should definitely ask for confirmation by some code.
ceci n'est pas une signature

p4nix

Those codes can also be automagically executed by websites. This should be fixed now on most devices or can be fixed over special apps.

DarkestEx

Yes. A simple callto link on all pre-jellybean devices will erase the contents just by clicking the link. Even a redirect would work.
Almost nobody has such a link blocking app installed so many people are in risk. This code works on all stock Android phones. This might not apply to custom ROMs.

DJ Omnimaga

Quote from: aeTIos on December 09, 2015, 03:32:50 pm
That's harsh. Things like this should definitely ask for confirmation by some code.
Yeah I agree.

Quote from: p4nix on December 09, 2015, 03:35:45 pm
Those codes can also be automagically executed by websites. This should be fixed now on most devices or can be fixed over special apps.
I wonder about people who can't afford a new phone and are stuck on Android 2.2.2 or something...

p4nix

I wonder about people buying a new phone each year. But well, maybe I'm just a communist :P

Snektron

Well you can often install a different ROM, though that needs some android knowlege and not everyone has that.
More on secret codes in android: you can access a version-based easter egg by clicking on the version number (in settings -> about the phone).
You can also become a developer (enabling developer options) by clicking on the build number (again settings -> about the phone).
These should work regardless of manufacterer, as long as its android.
Legends say if you spam more than DJ Omnimaga, you will become a walrus...


alexgt

I know my next prank :P

But seriously if you said that was your phone number for your calc and they believed you...

ben_g

Why does android have this feature? Is it to be able to reset phones with really bad software or virus problems?

alexgt

I don't know, may be it is meant as a joke :-\

p4nix

Well, as I told, Sony had a code for a menu which helped people repairing broken phones. So I guess it's kind of that reason. On the other hand, not protecting this at all with a confirmation is a little bit strange too.

Oh and guys, please be nice and don't do such pranks. It doesn't makes you cool, it makes you immature :P Being destructive is only cool if you don't harm anyone else then yourself. Such data loss can be really nasty, and you don't want that happen to yourself, do you?

alexgt

I wouldn't do that I was joking, I was just wondering who would fall for it xD

Powered by EzPortal