* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: USB floppy drive in AMIGA  (Read 1638 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Keoni29

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 284
  • Post Rating Ratio: +8/-0
    • View Profile
    • 8times8
  • Gender: Male
USB floppy drive in AMIGA
« on: December 09, 2014, 10:51:15 pm »
I received a Gotek diskette drive emulator in the mail today.  It reads floppy disk images from the usb stick and acts like a regular floppy drive. Using the buttons you can select a disk image file on the usb stick.

These drives are intended to be used in PC's and keyboards, but an awesome guy wrote this firmware that allows you to use it in Commodore Amiga computers.
It's simple enough to flash the firmware using a windows program and a usb -> serial cable. I had to do a little bit of a casemod to fit the thing in the AMIGA.

In this picture you see the drive emulator with a usb stick inside. The program I loaded is called Protracker (audio editing software :))


If you like my work, why not give me an internet?

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Topic Management
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 17435
  • Post Rating Ratio: +83/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: USB floppy drive in AMIGA
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2014, 12:06:50 am »
Yeah that machine to the left was intriguing me earlier on Telegram. :) I like that idea, though, because if something requires a diskette drive then you can use this and download anything.

Also what does this tracker do? Does it do full music or chiptune-like? I would like to hear some stuff made with i such as a quest for the legendary axe remix. :)
  • Calculators owned: TI-73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX, HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Juju

  • aka Yuki Kagayaki aka J̵̭͕͇ù̞̭̝̯̦j̴̭̙̗͖͡ù͏͓̲̕
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Server Maintenance
  • Moderator
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Inside a walrus
  • Posts: 2666
  • Post Rating Ratio: +17/-1
  • Couch potato
    • jul.savard
    • juju2143
    • @juju2143
    • juju2143
    • @julosoft
    • juju-kun
    • /u/juju2143
    • juju2143
    • View Profile
    • Juju's shed
  • Gender: Female
  • WalriiPoints: 99999
Re: USB floppy drive in AMIGA
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2014, 03:00:29 am »
That's pretty cool ^_^
  • Calculators owned: TI-83+ (dead?), Casio Prizm (also dead???)

In the beginning there was walrii. In the end there will be walrii. All hail our supreme leader :walrii:

YUKI-CHAAAANNNN

Offline Duke "Tape" Eiyeron

  • Urist McEiyolobster
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: (V)(-_(//));(V)
  • Posts: 1636
  • Post Rating Ratio: +11/-2
  • Fanciest Walrus of the oceans.
    • @@Eiyeron
    • Eiyeron
    • /u/Eiyeron
    • Eiyeron
    • View Profile
    • Rétro-Actif : Rétro/Prog/Blog
  • Gender: Male
Re: USB floppy drive in AMIGA
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2014, 06:50:12 am »
And now add a quad core to your Amiga! :w00t:
  • Calculators owned: A lot.

Offline Keoni29

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 284
  • Post Rating Ratio: +8/-0
    • View Profile
    • 8times8
  • Gender: Male
Re: USB floppy drive in AMIGA
« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2014, 08:38:24 am »
It can do pretty much anything because it's sample based. It was common to use chippy samples (basic waveforms) for they were easy to generate in software. For recording sound you need some kind of sound digitizer device. The AMIGA has 4 wave channels. The only limits are ram and sample rate. My amiga has been expanded from 0.5 to 1MB ram. You need the 1MB to be able to run protracker.
« Last Edit: December 10, 2014, 08:55:14 am by keoni29 »
If you like my work, why not give me an internet?

Offline Duke "Tape" Eiyeron

  • Urist McEiyolobster
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: (V)(-_(//));(V)
  • Posts: 1636
  • Post Rating Ratio: +11/-2
  • Fanciest Walrus of the oceans.
    • @@Eiyeron
    • Eiyeron
    • /u/Eiyeron
    • Eiyeron
    • View Profile
    • Rétro-Actif : Rétro/Prog/Blog
  • Gender: Male
Re: USB floppy drive in AMIGA
« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2014, 10:50:12 am »
1 MB? That's pretty low but is in the standards of before.

Yeah chiptune! Make us a little chippy tune with it!
  • Calculators owned: A lot.

Offline Keoni29

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 284
  • Post Rating Ratio: +8/-0
    • View Profile
    • 8times8
  • Gender: Male
Re: USB floppy drive in AMIGA
« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2014, 11:22:46 am »
Still a lot more than its predecessor: the c64 with just 64k ram
If you like my work, why not give me an internet?

Offline Hooloowalrus

  • New User
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Temporarily refracted into a free standing prism.
  • Posts: 17
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-0
  • super-intelligent shade of the color blue
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: USB floppy drive in AMIGA
« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2014, 01:34:13 pm »
Which is still more than the TI-83+'s 32k of RAM. Thanks TI.
  • Calculators owned: TI-83, TI-83+ purple, TI-83+SE, TI-83+.fr USB, TI-84+ SE, TI-84 pocket.fr, Commodore PR-100, 4xTI-73, a couple TI-82s, TI-XXXXXXXXXXX, [blank] (nspire prototype), Nspire CAS+, Nspire Clickpad non-CAS, Nspire CX, HP Prime (lost in space), HP 50G, TI-92+

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Topic Management
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 17435
  • Post Rating Ratio: +83/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: USB floppy drive in AMIGA
« Reply #8 on: December 10, 2014, 02:00:16 pm »
Oh I see now. I wasn't sure because some Amiga games didn't always seem to use wave samples and sounded closer to chiptune material.

And Hooloovoo lol  on top of that 84+ files must be stôred in RAM to run.
  • Calculators owned: TI-73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX, HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Professional slacker
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Server Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Israel
  • Posts: 2784
  • Post Rating Ratio: +19/-0
  • ƎW∀⅁ ƎH⊥
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: USB floppy drive in AMIGA
« Reply #9 on: December 11, 2014, 09:35:08 am »
Lol yeah few things can actually execute from mass storage actually. When you start an application on your PC it copied the executable to RAM.
  • Calculators owned: TI-80, HP 40G, TI-84 Plus rev G (yay 128k RAM), TI-83 Plus Silver Edition (broken LCD), TI-82 Stats.fr (black), TI-Nspire CX rev C (yay Nlaunchy), TI-83+ SE ViewScreen

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games