* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: Illusiat Domain Error  (Read 1068 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Excelseo

  • New User
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 4
  • Post Rating Ratio: +0/-0
Illusiat Domain Error
« on: November 21, 2015, 03:13:16 am »
So, I've recently een hoping to get into graphing calculator game design, and I figured I'd start out by checking out the classics- namely, the original Illusiat.
I downloaded the game generally without incident, storing the two files of the english version in my RAM, and clearing out 10 KB of space. However, after entering my name, I am presented with a domain error. How can I fix this?

Thanks!
« Last Edit: December 31, 2015, 09:16:52 am by DJ Omnimaga »



Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18522
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Illusiat Domain Error
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2015, 05:04:06 am »
Heya @Excelseo and welcome to the world of TI calculators (and as it turns out, walruses :walrii: ). Could you tell me where you downloaded the game? Also could you tell me which name you entered in the field? I don't recall any character names crashing the game, but it's possible that the file is corrupted, since I am unable to reproduce the error. If you have Doors CS 7 installed, when you get the Domain error you could select Goto then tell me which line of code the program scrolls at (the code is locked but I think DCS7 can open it).

Also, which calculator do you have and what OS version is on it?

Also if you are seeking for classics among the Illusiat series, I would recommend starting at Illusiat 6 instead of 1, because the first ones are much lower in quality due to lack of a proper RPG engine. :P But you can try them all anyway if you want. :)
« Last Edit: November 21, 2015, 05:15:33 am by DJ Omnimaga »
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Excelseo

  • New User
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 4
  • Post Rating Ratio: +0/-0
Re: Illusiat Domain Error
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2015, 09:07:11 pm »
Thank you very much for the help, but after a Reset, the problem seems to have solved itself. I apologize for not trying that earlier. Despite the occasional bug, the game now works fine!

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18522
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Illusiat Domain Error
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2015, 01:08:50 am »
I forgot to suggest a reset actually. My bad. I figured that this might have been one of the first set of games you have tried. But ASM programs can sometimes cause such issues. By the way, back up often, especially if you learn programming one day. A RAM clear can erase most of your saves and code.

Glad the game is working by the way :)
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline SiphonicSugar

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Location: Tennessee, United States
  • Posts: 249
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-1
  • Inspiration
    • siphonicsugar
    • @SiphonicSugar
    • SiphonicS
  • Gender: Male
Re: Illusiat Domain Error
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2015, 11:54:22 pm »
Heya @Excelseo and welcome to the world of TI calculators (and as it turns out, walruses :walrii: ). Could you tell me where you downloaded the game? Also could you tell me which name you entered in the field? I don't recall any character names crashing the game, but it's possible that the file is corrupted, since I am unable to reproduce the error. If you have Doors CS 7 installed, when you get the Domain error you could select Goto then tell me which line of code the program scrolls at (the code is locked but I think DCS7 can open it).

Also, which calculator do you have and what OS version is on it?

Also if you are seeking for classics among the Illusiat series, I would recommend starting at Illusiat 6 instead of 1, because the first ones are much lower in quality due to lack of a proper RPG engine. :P But you can try them all anyway if you want. :)
I tried playing the 6th one, and I was too lazy to figure out how to get past the first area.
  • Calculators owned: TI-89, TI-84 Plus, TI-92, TI-84 Plus C SE, and TI-Nspire CAS with Touchpad
I'm just trying to grab some inspiration. :P

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18522
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Illusiat Domain Error
« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2015, 11:57:51 pm »
Were you just lost or did you just lose the game?

The dungeons are kinda like mazes and in Illusiat 6 they are particularly large, because each dungeon takes an entire picture, unlike later Illusiat games where there are 3-4 dungeons per picture.

The exit from that part of the forest is located to the Southwest, if that helps.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline SiphonicSugar

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Location: Tennessee, United States
  • Posts: 249
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-1
  • Inspiration
    • siphonicsugar
    • @SiphonicSugar
    • SiphonicS
  • Gender: Male
Re: Illusiat Domain Error
« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2015, 11:59:29 pm »
I was just lost, and too lazy to figure out where to go.  :-|
  • Calculators owned: TI-89, TI-84 Plus, TI-92, TI-84 Plus C SE, and TI-Nspire CAS with Touchpad
I'm just trying to grab some inspiration. :P

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18522
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Illusiat Domain Error
« Reply #7 on: December 08, 2015, 12:01:49 am »
Oh I see. I guess I should post some large maps at one point, like I did with Illusiat 13. But it might take ages since dungeons are so huge.

The game is pretty self-explanatory, though, because in each dungeon there is no switch, no treasure chest nor any NPC. ALl you have to do is reach the end and find the boss. It's just a matter of not getting lost (although getting lost is more common in Illusiat 11 and First Fantasy than anything else)
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games