* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: TilEm2 sound enabling: Either crashes or has no sound (Windows 7)  (Read 2468 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18798
  • Post Rating Ratio: +98/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
So I have Windows 7 64 bits and just downloaded the latest beta of TilEm that had sound on Windows, but I am unable to get sound to work.

When I go to Link cable then connect to speaker, I have the option of choosing between default, dsound and waveout. Neither of the last two options work and waveout actually produces weird static sounds or clicks instead. Sometimes, it will even crash, with Windows saying tha tthe program encountered a problem and must close and TilEm saying that it is unable to play sound.

Massive lag also occurs in emulation when sound is enabled.

Am I missing drivers or something?
« Last Edit: December 31, 2015, 09:17:08 am by DJ Omnimaga »


  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline garvalf

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 109
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-0
    • Garvalf's lair
  • Gender: Male
hello,

I launched the tilem binary on a windows 7 system, and so far everything is working fine for me, the sound is OK. I only used the automatic driver and the default settings. I also tried wabbitemu, and while tilem is more accurate (especially for lower sounds), I find wabbitemu good enough but I have only tried on my tune.
  • Calculators owned: TI-83+ fr, TI-82

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18798
  • Post Rating Ratio: +98/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Could it be something related to my sound card being outdated or using a 64-bit system?
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline garvalf

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 109
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-0
    • Garvalf's lair
  • Gender: Male
I don't know. I also have a 64-bit system. It's quite powerful though, core i5 with 8 Gb ram. My soundcard is an external one: presonus audiobox usb.
Is wabbitemu working for you?

I've tested further the differences, in comparison to the real TI. On my tune, which is 1'45", the tilem version is 1 second shorter, while wabbitemu is 3-4 seconds shorter. I think it does affect the tuning as well. When played together (real + tilem or real + wabbitemu) there is a quite strong phasing effect.
  • Calculators owned: TI-83+ fr, TI-82

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18798
  • Post Rating Ratio: +98/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Yeah I have no issues with WabbitEmu. It's only TilEm that has no sound.

I can't use Virtual PC to check if it works in VTI, because the fact that most sites became HTTPS have rendered Virtual PC nearly unusable (even Firefox can't be downloaded anymore) and it's impossible to copy/paste stuff from Windows 7 to Virtual PC (CTRL+V/C doesn't work). EDIT: Actually Opera works but now I remembered that VTI lacks archive support.
« Last Edit: October 18, 2015, 09:12:02 pm by DJ Omnimaga »
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline garvalf

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 109
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-0
    • Garvalf's lair
  • Gender: Male
for virtualisation, I'm using Virtualbox, it's free software and works OK I think.
  • Calculators owned: TI-83+ fr, TI-82

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18798
  • Post Rating Ratio: +98/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Yeah now it's a moot point though because HoustonTracker 83+ is 100% unuseable in VTI (archiving doesn't work, so no DCS7). There might be an alternative, though, because I think WabbitEmu can actually create ROMs with apps in them, so perhaps I could instead use VTI 3.0 Alpha (which won't let you send files, but will actually support Flash)

It doesn't solve my TilEm sound issues, though.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline garvalf

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 109
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-0
    • Garvalf's lair
  • Gender: Male
I thought you could try to launch tilem2 from virtualbox or virtualpc... (they have their own sound driver)
  • Calculators owned: TI-83+ fr, TI-82

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18798
  • Post Rating Ratio: +98/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
I could always try that, but I'm not too confident that this will make much of a difference. Maybe @utz or @Lionel Debroux might know some tricks?
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline garvalf

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 109
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-0
    • Garvalf's lair
  • Gender: Male
It's difficult to know what could be the problem because there are so many possible issues. For instance on the same windows system I never managed to make the Arkos tracker works: http://www.julien-nevo.com/arkos/ (the same with arkos in virtualbox). Probably because of the .net thing in arkos. For tilem it's using gtk. When trying to launch tilem from my linux system, it required several external .dll and I couldn't use it.

I guess you can just stick to wabbitemu which will be similar for "monitoring" your Houston tracker 2 tunes before recording them from your real TI.
  • Calculators owned: TI-83+ fr, TI-82

Offline utz

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Location: Absurdistan
  • Posts: 150
  • Post Rating Ratio: +11/-0
  • 01000101110
    • utz82
    • utz's hp
  • WalriiPoints: 50
I can't help with this unfortunately, as I don't have access to anything newer than WinXP on a 32bit machine. I'm actually only using tilem2 on Linux.
But well, if wabbitemu does the job for you guys, then you might as well do that. It never did for me, audio was always skippy and/or garbled.
  • Calculators owned: TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+, TI-85, TI-86, TI-92+, Sharp PC-1403

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18798
  • Post Rating Ratio: +98/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
It's difficult to know what could be the problem because there are so many possible issues. For instance on the same windows system I never managed to make the Arkos tracker works: http://www.julien-nevo.com/arkos/ (the same with arkos in virtualbox). Probably because of the .net thing in arkos. For tilem it's using gtk. When trying to launch tilem from my linux system, it required several external .dll and I couldn't use it.

I guess you can just stick to wabbitemu which will be similar for "monitoring" your Houston tracker 2 tunes before recording them from your real TI.
Do you mean you had no sound at all? With my previous computer, most trackers I tried, along with Reaper, had no sound coming out.

I can't help with this unfortunately, as I don't have access to anything newer than WinXP on a 32bit machine. I'm actually only using tilem2 on Linux.
But well, if wabbitemu does the job for you guys, then you might as well do that. It never did for me, audio was always skippy and/or garbled.
I do have some skipping issues, but that's pretty much it. I usually fix them in Audacity since they are rare. But yeah if the sound is similar in Wabbit then I guess I'll save myself the hassle of getting sound to work in TilEm.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline garvalf

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 109
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-0
    • Garvalf's lair
  • Gender: Male
> Do you mean you had no sound at all?

no, for arkos tracker it completely crashes at startup. Other trackers are working fine (but I don't use much this windows partition).

> I do have some skipping issues, but that's pretty much it.

I guess the tilem2 emulator might be less ressource intensive than wabbitemu. So far I didn't notice skipping in wabbitemu but the computer I'm using is quite powerful so it doesn't show.

  • Calculators owned: TI-83+ fr, TI-82

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18798
  • Post Rating Ratio: +98/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
I see. I should try TilEm in XP mode to see if I get any sound. But i am pretty fine with Wabbit if TilEm doesn't work for me.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games