* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: TI-OS 84+ Bugs  (Read 3010 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DarkestEx

  • Super User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 1324
  • Post Rating Ratio: +10/-2
    • @0xbmuessig
    • @muessigb
    • My homepage
  • Gender: Male
TI-OS 84+ Bugs
« on: October 13, 2015, 07:36:06 pm »
I discovered another bug in TIOS some time ago. It shifts the screen up (I assume the display gets out of sync) until the calculator is turned off and on again.

This simple Basic program is enough to trigger it:
Code: [Select]
CLASSIC
Degree
Seq
-47//10->Xmin
47//10->Xmax
1->Xscl
-31//0->Ymin
31//10->Ymax
1->Yscl
1->Xres
{100}->u(nMin)
"u(n-1)+.15*(80-u(n-1))"->u
DispGraph
The // is the thick /.

« Last Edit: October 13, 2015, 07:44:08 pm by DarkestEx »


  • Calculators owned: TI-84+, Casio 101-S, RPN-Calc, Hewlett-Packard 100LX, Hewlett-Packard 95LX
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Hewlett-Packard 100LX, Hewlett-Packard 95LX, Original Commodore 64C, Tektronix AWG2021, IBM X60s, IBM X60t, Nintendo DS Lite, Nintendo GameBoy Color, Nintendo GameCube, Xbox 360, Palm m5


Avatar drewn for me by Tabbes.

Offline Adriweb

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: France & Canada
  • Posts: 421
  • Post Rating Ratio: +7/-1
    • Adriweb
    • @Adriweb
    • Adriweb
    • @UC-UIrbk5SuaUCvnV6SQvt-Q
    • /u/Adriweb
    • Adriweb
    • TI-Planet.org
  • Gender: Male
Re: TI-OS 84+ Bugs
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2015, 07:55:27 pm »
Interesting but, hmm you have a "π" in the program name... ?
  • Calculators owned: TI-Nspire CX CAS, TI-Nspire CX, TI-Nspire CAS (x3), TI-Nspire (x2), TI-Nspire CM-C CAS, TI-Nspire CAS+, TI-80, TI-82 Stats.fr, TI-82 Plus, TI-83 Plus, TI-83 Plus.fr USB, TI-84+, TI-84+ Pocket SE, TI-84+ C Silver Edition, TI-84 Plus CE, TI-89 Titanium, TI-86, TI-Voyage 200, TI-Collège Plus, TI-Collège Plus Solaire, 3 HP, some Casios
Co-founder & co-administrator of TI-Planet and Inspired-Lua

Offline CVSoft

  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Full User
  • Server Maintenance
  • Safe-haven access
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 104
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-0
    • calcvids
    • 100007522540514
    • @CVSoft_
    • notipa
    • @UCj2udNPPnu58d4EgWs6gjhA
    • /u/notipa
    • 10819
    • BosaikNet
  • Gender: Male
Re: TI-OS 84+ Bugs
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2015, 07:59:07 pm »
Code: [Select]
{100}->u(nMin)

This is the line that is at fault. TI-OS doesn't properly clean up the floating point stack when storing to u(nMin), v(nMin), or w(nMin). With the FPS corrupted, calculator behavior becomes undefined during program execution. Here's a safe example:
Code: [Select]
:{0}->u(nMin)
:Disp {1}+Ans
The bug affects the TI-83, TI-83 Plus, TI-84 Plus series. I am not sure if the TI-84 Plus CE / TI-83 Premium CE is affected.
  • Calculators owned: TI-73, TI-81, TI-81, TI-81, TI-81, TI-81, TI-81, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83, TI-83 Plus, TI-84 Plus, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89 Titanium

Offline DarkestEx

  • Super User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 1324
  • Post Rating Ratio: +10/-2
    • @0xbmuessig
    • @muessigb
    • My homepage
  • Gender: Male
Re: TI-OS 84+ Bugs
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2015, 07:59:30 pm »
Interesting but, hmm you have a "π" in the program name... ?
Thats just zStart unarchiving the program. It has no effect on this glitch as I tested earlier. Even without zstart does this glitch happen.

Code: [Select]
{100}->u(nMin)

This is the line that is at fault. TI-OS doesn't properly clean up the floating point stack when storing to u(nMin), v(nMin), or w(nMin). With the FPS corrupted, calculator behavior becomes undefined during program execution. Here's a safe example:
Code: [Select]
:{0}->u(nMin)
:Disp {1}+Ans
The bug affects the TI-83, TI-83 Plus, TI-84 Plus series. I am not sure if the TI-84 Plus CE / TI-83 Premium CE is affected.
Thats interesting. I wasn't aware of that.
  • Calculators owned: TI-84+, Casio 101-S, RPN-Calc, Hewlett-Packard 100LX, Hewlett-Packard 95LX
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Hewlett-Packard 100LX, Hewlett-Packard 95LX, Original Commodore 64C, Tektronix AWG2021, IBM X60s, IBM X60t, Nintendo DS Lite, Nintendo GameBoy Color, Nintendo GameCube, Xbox 360, Palm m5


Avatar drewn for me by Tabbes.

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18739
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: TI-OS 84+ Bugs
« Reply #4 on: October 14, 2015, 02:33:05 am »
Question, how do you access the thick / character in the program editor? I forgot


Interesting bug, though. I tried Adriweb's example on a TI-84+CSE and what happened is that some horizontal pixel garbage showed up on the graph screen. Nothing out of the ordinary on the 84+CE, though.


Could @CVSoft try this on a TI-82 (assuming it has those commands)?
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline CVSoft

  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Full User
  • Server Maintenance
  • Safe-haven access
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 104
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-0
    • calcvids
    • 100007522540514
    • @CVSoft_
    • notipa
    • @UCj2udNPPnu58d4EgWs6gjhA
    • /u/notipa
    • 10819
    • BosaikNet
  • Gender: Male
Re: TI-OS 84+ Bugs
« Reply #5 on: October 14, 2015, 02:43:39 am »
Question, how do you access the thick / character in the program editor? I forgot
I remember it being a graph style, not sure if it's accessible directly.

Could @CVSoft try this on a TI-82 (assuming it has those commands)?
As TI-82 is best calc, it does not have these tokens.
  • Calculators owned: TI-73, TI-81, TI-81, TI-81, TI-81, TI-81, TI-81, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83, TI-83 Plus, TI-84 Plus, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89 Titanium

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18739
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: TI-OS 84+ Bugs
« Reply #6 on: October 14, 2015, 02:45:40 am »
Lol :P, but yeah I am curious about how long have some bugs been around. One nasty bug that is not likely to be triggered, but still quite bad, is the 2-byte token recall bug when you're too low in RAM. That bug was introduced on the TI-83 (now TI-82 Stats) and was still present on the 84+CSE.


EDIT: Lol it's still intact on the 84+CE. I should try with mathprint on O.O

EDIT: HA! The bug isn't present in MathPrint (tried OS 2.53MP).
« Last Edit: October 14, 2015, 02:58:23 am by DJ Omnimaga »
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline CVSoft

  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Full User
  • Server Maintenance
  • Safe-haven access
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 104
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-0
    • calcvids
    • 100007522540514
    • @CVSoft_
    • notipa
    • @UCj2udNPPnu58d4EgWs6gjhA
    • /u/notipa
    • 10819
    • BosaikNet
  • Gender: Male
Re: TI-OS 84+ Bugs
« Reply #7 on: October 14, 2015, 06:24:46 am »
I checked this on the TI-82 by filling up the RAM, leaving three bytes free, and recalling Y1 which contained "nn". The calculator refused to recall the equation, and just did nothing when I attempted the recall.

More reasons why TI-82 calc is best calc.
  • Calculators owned: TI-73, TI-81, TI-81, TI-81, TI-81, TI-81, TI-81, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83, TI-83 Plus, TI-84 Plus, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89 Titanium

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18739
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: TI-OS 84+ Bugs
« Reply #8 on: October 14, 2015, 07:47:30 am »
But was the token 2-bytes? On the 83 and 83+ the bug only happens with 2-byte tokens
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline CVSoft

  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Full User
  • Server Maintenance
  • Safe-haven access
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 104
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-0
    • calcvids
    • 100007522540514
    • @CVSoft_
    • notipa
    • @UCj2udNPPnu58d4EgWs6gjhA
    • /u/notipa
    • 10819
    • BosaikNet
  • Gender: Male
Re: TI-OS 84+ Bugs
« Reply #9 on: October 14, 2015, 05:10:24 pm »
But was the token 2-bytes? On the 83 and 83+ the bug only happens with 2-byte tokens

Yes; the lowercase Stats vars are two bytes.
  • Calculators owned: TI-73, TI-81, TI-81, TI-81, TI-81, TI-81, TI-81, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83, TI-83 Plus, TI-84 Plus, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89 Titanium

Offline utz

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Location: Absurdistan
  • Posts: 150
  • Post Rating Ratio: +11/-0
  • 01000101110
    • utz82
    • utz's hp
  • WalriiPoints: 50
Re: TI-OS 84+ Bugs
« Reply #10 on: October 15, 2015, 09:45:43 am »
As TI-82 is best calc,

Hell yes!  Hi5 bro >:D
  • Calculators owned: TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+, TI-85, TI-86, TI-92+, Sharp PC-1403

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18739
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: TI-OS 84+ Bugs
« Reply #11 on: October 18, 2015, 01:13:41 am »
But was the token 2-bytes? On the 83 and 83+ the bug only happens with 2-byte tokens

Yes; the lowercase Stats vars are two bytes.
I see. Funny how newer calcs sometimes seems to have less beta-testing done on them and that new bugs on such features get introduced.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18739
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: TI-OS 84+ Bugs
« Reply #12 on: September 30, 2016, 03:48:06 am »
Wow, according to a Cemetech post, the u(nMin) bug can be used to enable archiving programs from inside programs O.O: https://www.cemetech.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=238083#238083 (I think it only works from the program you launch, not sub-programs)

I am unsure if this is safe and if the behavior is predictable, but for people with large games, that can be handy if they want to stick to pure BASIC. But of course it depends if TI fixes the bug or not.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline E37

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Jul 2016
  • Location: Lihilzard Empire
  • Posts: 231
  • Post Rating Ratio: +10/-0
  • I own 2 game consoles, a ti-83 and a ti-84!
    • E37
Re: TI-OS 84+ Bugs
« Reply #13 on: September 30, 2016, 03:09:35 pm »
Wow, according to a Cemetech post, the u(nMin) bug can be used to enable archiving programs from inside programs O.O: https://www.cemetech.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=238083#238083 (I think it only works from the program you launch, not sub-programs)

I am unsure if this is safe and if the behavior is predictable, but for people with large games, that can be handy if they want to stick to pure BASIC. But of course it depends if TI fixes the bug or not.
I doubt it. It's been a long time since they released a new os for the 84+
It seems they are spending all of their time on the color calcs. If it really does work, that would be nice! (perhaps some really cool basic games coming up?)
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Ti83,Ti84!
I've never finished a project, there is always a way to improve!
What's my calc's name? Convert $37 to decimal. Look up that element in the periodic table. Then take the abbreviation of that element and you have it!
Look! A slime!    <(^.^)>

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18739
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: TI-OS 84+ Bugs
« Reply #14 on: September 30, 2016, 04:25:38 pm »
I actually tried the archive/unarchive trick on a CE and it doesn't appear to work anymore.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games