* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: Dwarf Fortress : Meatboy, logs of a not-so-clever managerdwarf  (Read 1800 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Duke "Tape" Eiyeron

  • Urist McEiyolobster
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: (V)(-_(//));(V)
  • Posts: 1636
  • Post Rating Ratio: +11/-2
  • Fanciest Walrus of the oceans.
    • @@Eiyeron
    • Eiyeron
    • /u/Eiyeron
    • Eiyeron
    • Rétro-Actif : Rétro/Prog/Blog
  • Gender: Male
Dwarf Fortress : Meatboy, logs of a not-so-clever managerdwarf
« on: December 03, 2014, 07:22:45 pm »
Igrilärged, "Meatboy"
Hello everyone! I've been playin Dwarf Fortress for months, and I started making a let's play log, embdying the expedition leader. Follow us into the wonderful history of "Igrilärged", the "Meatboy" fortress! (Igrilärged means Meatboy in dwarfish)


Storyline
Part I
Part II


Screenshots (section WIP)
(click to show/hide)


  • Calculators owned: A lot.

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18782
  • Post Rating Ratio: +97/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Would this game be feasible on a calculator?
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline unknownloner

  • Full User
  • CW 4x3 challenge winner!
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Yesterday
  • Posts: 221
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-0
  • WHY CAN'T I CLICK ALL THESE CIRCLES?!
    • Code Blog
  • Gender: Male
Awesome! I love dwarf fortress stories. Haven't gotten to actually reading it yet, but what thing I noticed is the imgur album works much better in the 'horizontal' layout (screenshots easier to see). May want to switch that to the default layout if you agree.

Would this game be feasible on a calculator?
I don't think it would be feasible to recreate it with the level of detail it has. I know that it takes it's toll on all but the beefiest of computers once you've been playing for a bit and have a lot of dwarves running around. Honestly how detailed the game is is sort-of insane. Wars happen and some goblin's lower leg might get separated from the upper leg, and then both pieces end up scattered about the place.
A stripped down version of the game though I think would be doable.

Edit by Streetwalrus : merge double post
« Last Edit: December 04, 2014, 12:33:54 pm by Streetwalrus »

  
/)

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18782
  • Post Rating Ratio: +97/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Wait an ASCII art game that makes high-end computers lag? O.O (but again I know one 58 MHz platform that takes 1 minute to render 200 pixels).

Anyway I see now >.<
« Last Edit: December 04, 2014, 02:35:50 am by DJ Omnimaga »
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline unknownloner

  • Full User
  • CW 4x3 challenge winner!
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Yesterday
  • Posts: 221
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-0
  • WHY CAN'T I CLICK ALL THESE CIRCLES?!
    • Code Blog
  • Gender: Male
Yeah, it even renders the text with OpenGL these days (which is why it's so easy now to replace the ASCII tileset with custom tilesets). Needless to say, most of the time is not spent rendering the screen these days.

  
/)

Offline Duke "Tape" Eiyeron

  • Urist McEiyolobster
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: (V)(-_(//));(V)
  • Posts: 1636
  • Post Rating Ratio: +11/-2
  • Fanciest Walrus of the oceans.
    • @@Eiyeron
    • Eiyeron
    • /u/Eiyeron
    • Eiyeron
    • Rétro-Actif : Rétro/Prog/Blog
  • Gender: Male
Quote from: DJ Omnimaga link topic=72.msg1213#msg1213 date=1417659693
Wait an ASCII art game that makes high-end computers lag? O.O (but again I know one 58 MHz platform that takes 1 minute to render 200 pixels).

Anyway I see now >.<

Actually there a ncurses output for Linux but that's nitnthenreason for the lag. This game simulate a lot of things when playing, like dwarves's status, current job, their path, and so on... It also updates the whole world (you can just see a micro part when playing a Fortress) with its mass of entities or civilizations.

So no, you can't put this game on calc. It's freaking too heavy.
  • Calculators owned: A lot.

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Professional slacker
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Israel
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
  • ƎW∀⅁ ƎH⊥
  • Gender: Male
Hmmm nice that you're doing this, I should check out DF. :P

On a side note Loner, please avoid double posting unless it's a project update. I merged your posts.
  • Calculators owned: TI-80, HP 40G, TI-84 Plus rev G (yay 128k RAM), TI-83 Plus Silver Edition (broken LCD), TI-82 Stats.fr (black), TI-Nspire CX rev C (yay Nlaunchy), TI-83+ SE ViewScreen



 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games