* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: Forced https? ???  (Read 7399 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18739
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Forced https? ???
« on: July 24, 2015, 08:33:25 pm »
I noticed in Opera 30 and Chrome mobile that CodeWalrus now redirects to https when using http, despite staff not planning to force https. Is that normal? Because that could cause issues with some  public computer or older mobile device users.


  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Unicorn

  • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Super User
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • CW Contest II - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Posts: 2820
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-2
  • make :PICKACHUP: a thing!
    • Unicorn808
    • 114/11432
    • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Gender: Male
Re: Forced https? ???
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2015, 08:35:42 pm »
http://codewalr.us/index.php?topic=629.msg19271#msg19271

Well, that is the url I get when using an old version of chrome that doesn't support omnimaga's form of https. And my kindle still works. Its not a problem for me!
  • Calculators owned: I own all of them: PICKACHUP TI 84+ CSE TI 83+ SE TI something something ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: PICKACHUP ??? ??? ??? ??? ???



??? ??? ??? ??? ???

Offline Snektron

  • Lvl 69 Russian Snake
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Topic Management
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Posts: 3165
  • Post Rating Ratio: +32/-0
  • SSSssssss.....
    • RobinDeWalvis
    • Kzyrox
    • RobinDeWalvis
    • quantuminfinity
  • Gender: Male
Re: Forced https? ???
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2015, 08:36:37 pm »
Maybe its your browser checking if https is avaiable, and if so uses it since its safer?
  • Calculators owned: TI-84+
Legends say if you spam more than DJ Omnimaga, you will become a walrus...


Offline gbl08ma

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Jul 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 118
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-1
    • gbl08ma
    • @gbl08ma
    • gbl08ma
    • My personal website
  • Gender: Male
Re: Forced https? ???
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2015, 09:00:31 pm »
Two ideas:
1. You aren't using HTTPS Everywhere or anything of that kind, are you? (Kinda hard since you talk about Chrome mobile and AFAIK that doesn't support extensions)
2. Could it have something to do with https://ma.ttias.be/chrome-44-sending-https-header-by-mistake-breaking-web-applications-everywhere/ ? Recent versions of Opera are Chromium-based but I'm finding it strange for the bug to have found its way to Opera so fast...
  • Calculators owned: Prizm CG-20

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18739
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Forced https? ???
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2015, 10:02:04 pm »
Interesting. I am curious if  it could be the latter issue.  I'll have to investigate further I guess.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline utz

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Location: Absurdistan
  • Posts: 150
  • Post Rating Ratio: +11/-0
  • 01000101110
    • utz82
    • utz's hp
  • WalriiPoints: 50
Re: Forced https? ???
« Reply #5 on: July 24, 2015, 10:47:31 pm »
Afaik enforcing https will become default behaviour in most major browsers in the not-too-distant future. So maybe these two already started implementing that?

HTTPS Everywhere is unlikely to be the issue as it doesn't know about codewalrus' https alt (unless you implicitly tell it).
« Last Edit: July 24, 2015, 10:51:29 pm by utz »
  • Calculators owned: TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+, TI-85, TI-86, TI-92+, Sharp PC-1403

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18739
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Forced https? ???
« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2015, 01:53:13 am »
Ok, so it looks like newer browsers are using HTTPS by default on CW and some other sites now. I just checked the following websites when typing http instead of https and got the following:


-CodeWalrus: IE6 shows the website (obviously with many display issues, but at least it displays at all)
-Omnimaga: IE6 shows error (Page can't be displayed)
-Cemetech: IE6 shows error
-TI-Planet: IE6 shows error

So CW doesn't force the use of HTTPS. Of course IE6 is pretty much useless now but I was more worried about older mobile devices or stuff like Kindles from 2008.


However, I restarted after removing CW from my Opera settings and stuff and now it shows HTTP. Mobile still shows HTTPS by default.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Unicorn

  • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Super User
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • CW Contest II - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Posts: 2820
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-2
  • make :PICKACHUP: a thing!
    • Unicorn808
    • 114/11432
    • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Gender: Male
Re: Forced https? ???
« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2015, 01:59:54 am »
Older kindles are fine until there's a 360 redirect force HTTPS thing. :P
  • Calculators owned: I own all of them: PICKACHUP TI 84+ CSE TI 83+ SE TI something something ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: PICKACHUP ??? ??? ??? ??? ???



??? ??? ??? ??? ???

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18739
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Forced https? ???
« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2015, 02:31:31 am »
Can you access Cemetech and Omnimaga from yours, though?
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Unicorn

  • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Super User
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • CW Contest II - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Posts: 2820
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-2
  • make :PICKACHUP: a thing!
    • Unicorn808
    • 114/11432
    • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Gender: Male
Re: Forced https? ???
« Reply #9 on: July 25, 2015, 02:53:24 am »
Not omnimaga, but cemetech works fine, as well as ti planet. ;)
  • Calculators owned: I own all of them: PICKACHUP TI 84+ CSE TI 83+ SE TI something something ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: PICKACHUP ??? ??? ??? ??? ???



??? ??? ??? ??? ???

Offline Snektron

  • Lvl 69 Russian Snake
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Topic Management
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Posts: 3165
  • Post Rating Ratio: +32/-0
  • SSSssssss.....
    • RobinDeWalvis
    • Kzyrox
    • RobinDeWalvis
    • quantuminfinity
  • Gender: Male
Re: Forced https? ???
« Reply #10 on: July 25, 2015, 11:27:40 am »
Afaik enforcing https will become default behaviour in most major browsers in the not-too-distant future. So maybe these two already started implementing that?

HTTPS Everywhere is unlikely to be the issue as it doesn't know about codewalrus' https alt (unless you implicitly tell it).
Since chrome quite up-to-date i'd guess they've already implemented it. Also, theres probably a check to see if a server supports https.
  • Calculators owned: TI-84+
Legends say if you spam more than DJ Omnimaga, you will become a walrus...


Offline Streetwalrus

  • Professional slacker
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Israel
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
  • ƎW∀⅁ ƎH⊥
  • Gender: Male
Re: Forced https? ???
« Reply #11 on: July 25, 2015, 12:32:09 pm »
Juju perfected the https config and enabled HSTS (https enforcing). That means if your browser supports https then it will use it. Only ancient browsers should dislike it. HSTS was introduced in 2012 so browsers older than that will most likely ignore it so nothing to worry about. :)
  • Calculators owned: TI-80, HP 40G, TI-84 Plus rev G (yay 128k RAM), TI-83 Plus Silver Edition (broken LCD), TI-82 Stats.fr (black), TI-Nspire CX rev C (yay Nlaunchy), TI-83+ SE ViewScreen



Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18739
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Forced https? ???
« Reply #12 on: July 25, 2015, 05:23:40 pm »
Not omnimaga, but cemetech works fine, as well as ti planet. ;)
I just checked those three sites on my Samsung i5510 actually (which runs Android 2.2.2) and this is what I got:

-Omnimaga: Doesn't work at all
-Cemetech: Works fine
-TI-Planet: Throws a warning, but works fine

When I still went to Omnimaga, all I had as mobile device was the Samsung i5510, which only supported Android 2.2.2. If the forced HTTPS would have happened back then and that Tapatalk would not have existed, I would have been in a bit of trouble. >.<
« Last Edit: July 25, 2015, 05:25:21 pm by DJ Omnimaga »
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Adriweb

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: France & Canada
  • Posts: 421
  • Post Rating Ratio: +7/-1
    • Adriweb
    • @Adriweb
    • Adriweb
    • @UC-UIrbk5SuaUCvnV6SQvt-Q
    • /u/Adriweb
    • Adriweb
    • TI-Planet.org
  • Gender: Male
Re: Forced https? ???
« Reply #13 on: July 25, 2015, 05:54:12 pm »
-TI-Planet: Throws a warning, but works fine
Do you know what warning it was?
  • Calculators owned: TI-Nspire CX CAS, TI-Nspire CX, TI-Nspire CAS (x3), TI-Nspire (x2), TI-Nspire CM-C CAS, TI-Nspire CAS+, TI-80, TI-82 Stats.fr, TI-82 Plus, TI-83 Plus, TI-83 Plus.fr USB, TI-84+, TI-84+ Pocket SE, TI-84+ C Silver Edition, TI-84 Plus CE, TI-89 Titanium, TI-86, TI-Voyage 200, TI-Collège Plus, TI-Collège Plus Solaire, 3 HP, some Casios
Co-founder & co-administrator of TI-Planet and Inspired-Lua

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18739
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Forced https? ???
« Reply #14 on: July 25, 2015, 05:55:34 pm »
I don't exactly remember what it was, but it was about untrusted certificate and it asked me to accept it. I have the same problem on many other HTTPS website (eg TVA Nouvelles).
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games