* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: Having win7 and win10 on the same PC ???  (Read 5157 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline alexgt

  • Just your friendly neighborhood Ninja Stach Fancy Iron Man
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Behind you
  • Posts: 2611
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-1
  • Something should go here...
    • /u/alexgt9123
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Having win7 and win10 on the same PC ???
« on: July 20, 2015, 12:06:57 am »
I have no idea how to do it but I want to keep windows 7 when windows 10 comes out but still have windows 10 on my PC, so I would choose between win7 and 10 when my PC boots. How would I do that?
« Last Edit: December 31, 2015, 09:17:27 am by DJ Omnimaga »


  • Calculators owned: Ti-84+, Ti-Nspire, Hp Prime, Broken HP Prime, HP 48SX

Offline allynfolksjr

  • New User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 18
  • Post Rating Ratio: +0/-0
  • General Systems Vehicle
    • View Profile
Re: Having win7 and win10 on the same PC ???
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2015, 12:08:44 am »
Why would you do this? It may be worth considering the reasons and then deciding to stick with one OS or another rather than wrangling with booting multiple OSes.

If you need it for compatibility reasons, a VM may be a better choice.

Offline Juju

  • aka Yuki Kagayaki aka J̵̭͕͇ù̞̭̝̯̦j̴̭̙̗͖͡ù͏͓̲̕
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Server Maintenance
  • Moderator
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Inside a walrus
  • Posts: 2834
  • Post Rating Ratio: +18/-1
  • Couch potato
    • jul.savard
    • juju2143
    • @juju2143
    • juju2143
    • @julosoft
    • juju-kun
    • /u/juju2143
    • juju2143
    • View Profile
    • Juju's shed
  • Gender: Female
  • WalriiPoints: 99999
Re: Having win7 and win10 on the same PC ???
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2015, 01:21:15 am »
It's doable, you'd have to install Windows twice on 2 partitions and Windows' bootmgr would do the job, but as Nikky said, I'm not sure why you would do that other than compatibility reasons.
  • Calculators owned: TI-83+ (dead?), Casio Prizm (also dead???)
YUKI-CHAAAANNNN
In the beginning there was walrii. In the end there will be walrii. All hail our supreme leader :walrii: --Snektron

????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????:trollface:???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Offline Unicorn

  • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Super User
  • CW Contest II - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Posts: 2764
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-2
  • make :PICKACHUP: a thing!
    • Unicorn808
    • 114/11432
    • View Profile
    • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Gender: Male
Re: Having win7 and win10 on the same PC ???
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2015, 01:52:06 am »
Yeah, use a VM like virtualbox to simulate windows ten to check it out.
  • Calculators owned: I own all of them: PICKACHUP TI 84+ CSE TI 83+ SE TI something something ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: PICKACHUP ??? ??? ??? ??? ???



??? ??? ??? ??? ???

Offline alexgt

  • Just your friendly neighborhood Ninja Stach Fancy Iron Man
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Behind you
  • Posts: 2611
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-1
  • Something should go here...
    • /u/alexgt9123
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: Having win7 and win10 on the same PC ???
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2015, 01:55:59 pm »
Well I say this because my sister (@chelsey_dagger) did this for our old computer, it had winXP and linux mint and when you booted the computer up you could choose the OS you wanted (linux for my mom and windows for me)

I want to do this because I don't want to have any compatibility issues as you said, also a VM would be slower instead of having it installed right (sorry my knowledge is limited about this :P)
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84+, Ti-Nspire, Hp Prime, Broken HP Prime, HP 48SX

Offline Unicorn

  • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Super User
  • CW Contest II - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Posts: 2764
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-2
  • make :PICKACHUP: a thing!
    • Unicorn808
    • 114/11432
    • View Profile
    • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Gender: Male
Re: Having win7 and win10 on the same PC ???
« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2015, 03:02:43 pm »
Well I say this because my sister (@chelsey_dagger) did this for our old computer, it had winXP and linux mint and when you booted the computer up you could choose the OS you wanted (linux for my mom and windows for me)
Your mom uses Linux? O.O
Quote
I want to do this because I don't want to have any compatibility issues as you said, also a VM would be slower instead of having it installed right (sorry my knowledge is limited about this :P)
True, a VM would be a bit slower, depending on how much RAM and storage you give it, and how many CPU's you give it.
 
  • Calculators owned: I own all of them: PICKACHUP TI 84+ CSE TI 83+ SE TI something something ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: PICKACHUP ??? ??? ??? ??? ???



??? ??? ??? ??? ???

Offline alexgt

  • Just your friendly neighborhood Ninja Stach Fancy Iron Man
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Behind you
  • Posts: 2611
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-1
  • Something should go here...
    • /u/alexgt9123
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: Having win7 and win10 on the same PC ???
« Reply #6 on: July 20, 2015, 03:30:26 pm »
My mom used to but she has no prefrence now she uses win7 and mostly here tablet :P

Also I want to run Minecraft win10 https://mojang.com/
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84+, Ti-Nspire, Hp Prime, Broken HP Prime, HP 48SX

Offline Unicorn

  • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Super User
  • CW Contest II - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Posts: 2764
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-2
  • make :PICKACHUP: a thing!
    • Unicorn808
    • 114/11432
    • View Profile
    • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Gender: Male
Re: Having win7 and win10 on the same PC ???
« Reply #7 on: July 20, 2015, 03:39:43 pm »
My mom used to but she has no prefrence now she uses win7 and mostly here tablet :P

Also I want to run Minecraft win10 https://mojang.com/
Welll, if you own a reg version, you get it. I should actually talk to my friend about getting his account so I don't have to share with another.
  • Calculators owned: I own all of them: PICKACHUP TI 84+ CSE TI 83+ SE TI something something ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: PICKACHUP ??? ??? ??? ??? ???



??? ??? ??? ??? ???

Offline alexgt

  • Just your friendly neighborhood Ninja Stach Fancy Iron Man
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Behind you
  • Posts: 2611
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-1
  • Something should go here...
    • /u/alexgt9123
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: Having win7 and win10 on the same PC ???
« Reply #8 on: July 20, 2015, 04:00:27 pm »
Yeah I already have an account so I can get it for free but I don't think a VM will handle it
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84+, Ti-Nspire, Hp Prime, Broken HP Prime, HP 48SX

Offline Unicorn

  • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Super User
  • CW Contest II - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Posts: 2764
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-2
  • make :PICKACHUP: a thing!
    • Unicorn808
    • 114/11432
    • View Profile
    • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Gender: Male
Re: Having win7 and win10 on the same PC ???
« Reply #9 on: July 20, 2015, 04:02:48 pm »
Yeah I already have an account so I can get it for free but I don't think a VM will handle it
Probably not, but I expect W10 will work pretty well for a while when it comes out.
  • Calculators owned: I own all of them: PICKACHUP TI 84+ CSE TI 83+ SE TI something something ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: PICKACHUP ??? ??? ??? ??? ???



??? ??? ??? ??? ???

Offline alexgt

  • Just your friendly neighborhood Ninja Stach Fancy Iron Man
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Behind you
  • Posts: 2611
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-1
  • Something should go here...
    • /u/alexgt9123
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: Having win7 and win10 on the same PC ???
« Reply #10 on: July 20, 2015, 04:03:40 pm »
Yeah I think I will just download it to a thumb drive and save it for later :P
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84+, Ti-Nspire, Hp Prime, Broken HP Prime, HP 48SX

Offline Unicorn

  • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Super User
  • CW Contest II - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Posts: 2764
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-2
  • make :PICKACHUP: a thing!
    • Unicorn808
    • 114/11432
    • View Profile
    • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Gender: Male
Re: Having win7 and win10 on the same PC ???
« Reply #11 on: July 20, 2015, 04:05:42 pm »
Yeah I think I will just download it to a thumb drive and save it for later :P
I might do that as well, or just use W10 regularly with W8 on a VM.
  • Calculators owned: I own all of them: PICKACHUP TI 84+ CSE TI 83+ SE TI something something ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: PICKACHUP ??? ??? ??? ??? ???



??? ??? ??? ??? ???

Offline alexgt

  • Just your friendly neighborhood Ninja Stach Fancy Iron Man
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Behind you
  • Posts: 2611
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-1
  • Something should go here...
    • /u/alexgt9123
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: Having win7 and win10 on the same PC ???
« Reply #12 on: July 20, 2015, 04:06:43 pm »
I will see if my sister knows what to do :)
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84+, Ti-Nspire, Hp Prime, Broken HP Prime, HP 48SX

Offline Unicorn

  • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Super User
  • CW Contest II - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Posts: 2764
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-2
  • make :PICKACHUP: a thing!
    • Unicorn808
    • 114/11432
    • View Profile
    • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Gender: Male
Re: Having win7 and win10 on the same PC ???
« Reply #13 on: July 20, 2015, 04:07:21 pm »
I will see if my sister knows what to do :)
That could work :P
  • Calculators owned: I own all of them: PICKACHUP TI 84+ CSE TI 83+ SE TI something something ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: PICKACHUP ??? ??? ??? ??? ???



??? ??? ??? ??? ???

Offline alexgt

  • Just your friendly neighborhood Ninja Stach Fancy Iron Man
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Behind you
  • Posts: 2611
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-1
  • Something should go here...
    • /u/alexgt9123
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: Having win7 and win10 on the same PC ???
« Reply #14 on: July 20, 2015, 04:08:58 pm »
She lives kinda close so it might work for her to come over so I don't break my PC :P
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84+, Ti-Nspire, Hp Prime, Broken HP Prime, HP 48SX

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games