* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: Platformer game  (Read 12177 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ben_g

  • Featured Project Author
  • Full User
  • Safe-haven access
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 163
  • Post Rating Ratio: +11/-0
Platformer game
« on: July 07, 2015, 10:27:24 pm »
As you may have already seen or heard on IRC, I'm working on a platformer game.

At first, this game was meant as an exercise to learn javascript, but I liked it, so I continued working on it.
The point of the game is to get to the green square at the end of the level, while everything that's red is out there to kill you. It's a simple concept, but the game can be quite challenging in some areas.
Here's a screenshot:


You can play it here: http://velocitygames.be/platformer.html The server we host it on doens't have a very good uptime though, so if it's down, just try again later.

To give you guys a challenge: here are my scores from when I was testing the score displaying code:

These aren't my best scores, but I did get a lot of practice while testing, so they probably aren't that bad either. Feel free to post your scores below.

Currently, there are 4 levels (including the tutorial), but more will be added later.

This topic is also posted on Omnimaga.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2016, 02:07:06 pm by ben_g »



Offline CKH4

  • Extravagant Sushi
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 872
  • Post Rating Ratio: +3/-2
  • Gender: Male
Re: Platformer game
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2015, 11:40:20 pm »
Looks cool, I'll try to play it when I get some free time.
  • Calculators owned: TI-83+, TI-84+


Offline Unicorn

  • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Super User
  • CW Contest II - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Posts: 2807
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-2
  • make :PICKACHUP: a thing!
    • Unicorn808
    • 114/11432
    • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Gender: Male
Re: Platformer game
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2015, 02:05:23 am »
Sounds cool! Im gonna mimic CKH4 and try it when I can (might be a while)
  • Calculators owned: I own all of them: PICKACHUP TI 84+ CSE TI 83+ SE TI something something ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: PICKACHUP ??? ??? ??? ??? ???



??? ??? ??? ??? ???

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18420
  • Post Rating Ratio: +93/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Platformer game
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2015, 06:29:37 am »
I remember seeing this a while ago and it was pretty fun (but hard)! I'm glad that you are still working on it. :)

As for the host, I think the issue is that you use a dot.tk domain name. Those have terrible (and sporadic) uptime, so if you have an alternate URL available for your site, it might be good to link to it as an alternative.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Unicorn

  • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Super User
  • CW Contest II - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Posts: 2807
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-2
  • make :PICKACHUP: a thing!
    • Unicorn808
    • 114/11432
    • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Gender: Male
Re: Platformer game
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2015, 12:55:14 pm »
I couldn't get it to work... The green ball seemed to follow my mouse...
  • Calculators owned: I own all of them: PICKACHUP TI 84+ CSE TI 83+ SE TI something something ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: PICKACHUP ??? ??? ??? ??? ???



??? ??? ??? ??? ???

Offline ben_g

  • Featured Project Author
  • Full User
  • Safe-haven access
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 163
  • Post Rating Ratio: +11/-0
Re: Platformer game
« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2015, 02:46:17 pm »
I remember seeing this a while ago and it was pretty fun (but hard)! I'm glad that you are still working on it. :)

As for the host, I think the issue is that you use a dot.tk domain name. Those have terrible (and sporadic) uptime, so if you have an alternate URL available for your site, it might be good to link to it as an alternative.
The uptime is because our server doesn't have a static ip, and because it's internet cable is sometimes unplugged and used to watch netflix. If the domain name causes any additional problems, then we do have an alternate domain name (http://gamecommandosquad.tk/platformer.html), but it's a dot.tk one as well. It's our old domain name, but we keep it updated to avoid having to reconfigure some clients for some other service hosted on the server.
EDIT: I just set up cloudflare. The domain name is still the same, but dns updates are now done automatically, and if something happens to the server (like an unplugged internet cable), a cached version should still be available.

I couldn't get it to work... The green ball seemed to follow my mouse...
That's strange, especially since I never check for the mouse. Could you tell me on which platform and with which browser that happened? Also try tapping all the arrow keys, since they can get stuck. I'll look into it though.
« Last Edit: July 08, 2015, 04:49:12 pm by ben_g »

Offline Unicorn

  • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Super User
  • CW Contest II - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Posts: 2807
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-2
  • make :PICKACHUP: a thing!
    • Unicorn808
    • 114/11432
    • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Gender: Male
Re: Platformer game
« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2015, 03:35:10 pm »
Windows XP on firefox, and I'm not sure what version. It seemed to follow my mouse for some reason, then stop and not respond at all. I also repetadly tapped the arrow keys.
  • Calculators owned: I own all of them: PICKACHUP TI 84+ CSE TI 83+ SE TI something something ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: PICKACHUP ??? ??? ??? ??? ???



??? ??? ??? ??? ???

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18420
  • Post Rating Ratio: +93/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Platformer game
« Reply #7 on: July 10, 2015, 03:21:52 am »
Ben_g ah I see now. Maybe at one point someone could provide you some hosting.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Unicorn

  • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Super User
  • CW Contest II - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Posts: 2807
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-2
  • make :PICKACHUP: a thing!
    • Unicorn808
    • 114/11432
    • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Gender: Male
Re: Platformer game
« Reply #8 on: July 10, 2015, 05:01:28 pm »
I got it to work, and it sure is addicting! ;D

Will there be a level editor?
  • Calculators owned: I own all of them: PICKACHUP TI 84+ CSE TI 83+ SE TI something something ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: PICKACHUP ??? ??? ??? ??? ???



??? ??? ??? ??? ???

Offline ben_g

  • Featured Project Author
  • Full User
  • Safe-haven access
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 163
  • Post Rating Ratio: +11/-0
Re: Platformer game
« Reply #9 on: July 11, 2015, 09:24:10 am »
Currently, this is my level editor, which isn't really release-worthy.

Including a level editor is a good idea though, and it shouldn't be that hard to make a system to load levels from something like a copy-pasted string.

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18420
  • Post Rating Ratio: +93/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Platformer game
« Reply #10 on: July 11, 2015, 03:06:02 pm »
This reminds me how the data in my first Visual Basic tilemapper looked like O.O
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Unicorn

  • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Super User
  • CW Contest II - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Posts: 2807
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-2
  • make :PICKACHUP: a thing!
    • Unicorn808
    • 114/11432
    • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Gender: Male
Re: Platformer game
« Reply #11 on: July 11, 2015, 04:43:11 pm »
That looks like the block dude level data. o.o
  • Calculators owned: I own all of them: PICKACHUP TI 84+ CSE TI 83+ SE TI something something ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: PICKACHUP ??? ??? ??? ??? ???



??? ??? ??? ??? ???

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18420
  • Post Rating Ratio: +93/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Platformer game
« Reply #12 on: July 11, 2015, 05:14:50 pm »
Block Dude used strings for map data too?
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Unicorn

  • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Super User
  • CW Contest II - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Posts: 2807
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-2
  • make :PICKACHUP: a thing!
    • Unicorn808
    • 114/11432
    • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Gender: Male
Re: Platformer game
« Reply #13 on: July 12, 2015, 01:10:17 am »
We'll merth had a display on a cmd that was 0,1,2 making up the map for the original monochrome game.
  • Calculators owned: I own all of them: PICKACHUP TI 84+ CSE TI 83+ SE TI something something ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: PICKACHUP ??? ??? ??? ??? ???



??? ??? ??? ??? ???

Offline Juju

  • aka Yuki Kagayaki aka J̵̭͕͇ù̞̭̝̯̦j̴̭̙̗͖͡ù͏͓̲̕
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Server Maintenance
  • Moderator
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Inside a walrus
  • Posts: 2907
  • Post Rating Ratio: +22/-1
  • Couch potato
    • jul.savard
    • juju2143
    • @juju2143
    • juju2143
    • @julosoft
    • juju-kun
    • /u/juju2143
    • juju2143
    • Juju's shed
  • Gender: Female
  • WalriiPoints: 99999
Re: Platformer game
« Reply #14 on: July 12, 2015, 06:14:09 am »
I tried that yesterday, it's quite hard.

And yeah, you can change the name servers on dottk now, I got one as well and I made it use Cloudflare, it should definitely be way better.

Also, if you want hosting, here at CodeWalrus we probably can arrange you something.
« Last Edit: July 12, 2015, 06:17:43 am by Juju »
  • Calculators owned: TI-83+ (dead?), Casio Prizm (also dead???)
YUKI-CHAAAANNNN
In the beginning there was walrii. In the end there will be walrii. All hail our supreme leader :walrii: --Snektron

subscribe to my patreon for updates you'll probably get here anyway

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games