* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: Pixels permanently on -- TI-Nspire  (Read 1319 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 123outerme

  • Super User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: In spaaace! Well, the Earth is anyhow.
  • Posts: 610
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-0
  • Professional Unpaid Intern
    • 113/11355
  • Gender: Male
Pixels permanently on -- TI-Nspire
« on: January 23, 2017, 08:27:48 pm »
I recently recieved a monochrome Nspire through the mail (although the package was wrapped up decently), and it arrived to me with some pixels already on, and strangely blue when the screen is on, yes black when off. I'll post a picture here:

Full album here: http://imgur.com/a/GTPU2
I'll try taking a screenshot in the Student Software later, and see what that does.

Edit: Intersestingly enough, the Student Software screenshot doesn't show anything. Maybe that means the pixels are dead?
« Last Edit: January 23, 2017, 09:06:08 pm by 123outerme »


  • Calculators owned: TI-84+CSE, TI-nspire Clickpad, TI-84+SE

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18520
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Pixels permanently on -- TI-Nspire
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2017, 06:27:51 am »
At first, I was scared that you meant actual pixels are shown up as squares even when batteries are not in or are in, which could have implied a bricked calcs, but now that I see this I am happy that the calc works. It still sucks, though, since the seller stated something about some scratches rather than damaged pixels.

Sadly I doubt much can be done about it unless you are tech-savy enough to replace the LCD. It can still be used fine as is, since you will most likely test your softwares on the student software or via Firebird Emu. Otherwise, if you program directly on the calculator, then if you need to test if your HUD/UI works (eg Sorcery of Uvutu location/HP) then just offset it by a few pixels so it's away from the damaged area, then move it back in the damaged area once you are sure it displays properly.


I wonder if the seller could be contacted to see if you could get a bit of a discount, though? :P (even if not a lot)
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Professional slacker
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Israel
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
  • ƎW∀⅁ ƎH⊥
  • Gender: Male
Re: Pixels permanently on -- TI-Nspire
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2017, 02:33:38 pm »
It could be that the LCD cells broke, the most likely way for that to happen is an impact though. Have you asked the seller about it yet?
  • Calculators owned: TI-80, HP 40G, TI-84 Plus rev G (yay 128k RAM), TI-83 Plus Silver Edition (broken LCD), TI-82 Stats.fr (black), TI-Nspire CX rev C (yay Nlaunchy), TI-83+ SE ViewScreen



Offline kotu

  • fast hard => french
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: UK - facing deportation to Russia - I am French
  • Posts: 1038
  • Post Rating Ratio: +7/-7
  • I read bytecode for cash
    • dj_kotu
    • @UCAy2ZF4hbc08iStnTn6jgxQ
    • rowanmedhurst
    • @romanov-psyco
    • futurerave.uk
  • Gender: Male
Re: Pixels permanently on -- TI-Nspire
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2017, 02:36:50 pm »
i'd be amazed if you can't get a refund for this... dont know too much about ebay though

dead (or always on) aren't that uncommon, because LCD screens aren't actually that easy to make, so with laptops etc, it is ok to supply them with 1 or 2 dead pixels, and that is within spec

never seen anything as bad as this though
  • Calculators owned: TI 84+CE-T
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Sega Master System, Sony PS3
MY CV (RESUME)
designed mateo patio joke name.
invited to mateo's house by matio patio himself.
mateo swore me in as his best friend.
MATEO PATIO TO CHANGE HIS NAME TO MATEO PATIO BY DEED POLL.

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Professional slacker
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Israel
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
  • ƎW∀⅁ ƎH⊥
  • Gender: Male
Re: Pixels permanently on -- TI-Nspire
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2017, 03:09:21 pm »
I'm not talking about a refund, it's just to know whether it was sent that way.
  • Calculators owned: TI-80, HP 40G, TI-84 Plus rev G (yay 128k RAM), TI-83 Plus Silver Edition (broken LCD), TI-82 Stats.fr (black), TI-Nspire CX rev C (yay Nlaunchy), TI-83+ SE ViewScreen



Offline p2

  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Moderator
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 2261
  • Post Rating Ratio: +8/-0
  • *Wubba lubba dub dub*
    • KaliPhobos
  • Gender: Male
Re: Pixels permanently on -- TI-Nspire
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2017, 03:14:34 pm »
I got a baaad baad feeling about this...
when the pixels shuld be white (0 power), they're black (power=1)
when they should be black, they're blue (power=2 == too much)
and blue is a sign youre frying the pixel and it's actually dying

to me it looks like there is a power line where there should be none... like these pixels get extra energy they're not ment ot get...
try NEVER to run a program that will cause blue pixels fullscreen, I'm certain this would finish your pixels instantly..
  • Calculators owned: ti-83+, ti-84+, ti-84+, ti-84+se, ti-84+se(te), ti-nsphire, ti-nsphire CX-CAS, ti-voyage, ti-voyage, Who reads this list anyways...?
Anyway war sucks. Just bring us your food instead of missiles  :P ~ DJ Omnimaga (11.10.2016 20:21:48)
if you cant get a jframe set up, draw stuff to it, and receive input, i can only imagine how horrible your game code is _._   ~ c4ooo (14.11.2016 22:44:07)
If they pull a Harambe on me tell my family I love them ~ u/Pwntear37d (AssangeWatch /r/)
make Walrii great again ~ DJ Omnimaga (28.11.2016 23:01:31)
God invented the pc, satan the smartphone I guess ~ p4nix (16.02.2017 22:51:49)

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18520
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Pixels permanently on -- TI-Nspire
« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2017, 07:49:57 pm »
Yeah, personally I doubt a refund is possible since it mentioned something about scratches, but a partial refund could be possible since it did not mention anything about pixel damage, unless it's the shipping carrier's fault.

Also I think his blue pixels show up even when the calc is turned OFF with all batteries removed @p2


By the way @123outerme did your calc come with a  student software license? If not then you'll have to rely on Firebird Emu.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline 123outerme

  • Super User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: In spaaace! Well, the Earth is anyhow.
  • Posts: 610
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-0
  • Professional Unpaid Intern
    • 113/11355
  • Gender: Male
Re: Pixels permanently on -- TI-Nspire
« Reply #7 on: January 24, 2017, 07:56:45 pm »
I got a baaad baad feeling about this...
when the pixels shuld be white (0 power), they're black (power=1)
when they should be black, they're blue (power=2 == too much)
and blue is a sign youre frying the pixel and it's actually dying

to me it looks like there is a power line where there should be none... like these pixels get extra energy they're not ment ot get...
try NEVER to run a program that will cause blue pixels fullscreen, I'm certain this would finish your pixels instantly..
What do you mean a program that will cause blue pixels? As far as I'm aware that might be impossible (unless someone uses ASM, but I don't think oversupplying power is a common monochrome ASM practice)
Also yeah, I think that either the pixels are burned into the screen, something, likely during shipping (even though the slide cover was over the screen), burst the LCD cells (although I wasn't sure of the terminology until Street said it), or there's a short somewhere which supplies power from something that's always on to the LCD. That + the LCD being turned on would likely produce a blue pixel.

i'd be amazed if you can't get a refund for this... dont know too much about ebay though

dead (or always on) aren't that uncommon, because LCD screens aren't actually that easy to make, so with laptops etc, it is ok to supply them with 1 or 2 dead pixels, and that is within spec

never seen anything as bad as this though
I can actually ask for an exchange, so I will likely do that soon. I can also purchase another refurbished Nspire and send it back to them when I get it in, then they'll refund the purchase, so I can still be programming with it while it's being shipped.

At first, I was scared that you meant actual pixels are shown up as squares even when batteries are not in or are in, which could have implied a bricked calcs, but now that I see this I am happy that the calc works. It still sucks, though, since the seller stated something about some scratches rather than damaged pixels.

Sadly I doubt much can be done about it unless you are tech-savy enough to replace the LCD. It can still be used fine as is, since you will most likely test your softwares on the student software or via Firebird Emu. Otherwise, if you program directly on the calculator, then if you need to test if your HUD/UI works (eg Sorcery of Uvutu location/HP) then just offset it by a few pixels so it's away from the damaged area, then move it back in the damaged area once you are sure it displays properly.


I wonder if the seller could be contacted to see if you could get a bit of a discount, though? :P (even if not a lot)
Yeah, the seller mentioned that there were MINOR scratches of some sort (the actual quote is " Used Item's may have scratches on body, missing feet, small marks on screen." from here)

Yeah, personally I doubt a refund is possible since it mentioned something about scratches, but a partial refund could be possible since it did not mention anything about pixel damage, unless it's the shipping carrier's fault.

Also I think his blue pixels show up even when the calc is turned OFF with all batteries removed @p2


By the way @123outerme did your calc come with a  student software license? If not then you'll have to rely on Firebird Emu.
I believe I can do an exchange, I'll contact them as soon ebay fixes the Contact Us pages not working <_<
And They appear black when the calc is off, blue when its on, regardless of whether or not that area of the screen's pixels are any color of gray/black.
It also appear to have not come with a student software license, but that's okay, I've already downloaded Firebird. I just have to dump the ROM.
« Last Edit: January 24, 2017, 08:00:20 pm by 123outerme »
  • Calculators owned: TI-84+CSE, TI-nspire Clickpad, TI-84+SE

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18520
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Pixels permanently on -- TI-Nspire
« Reply #8 on: January 24, 2017, 08:24:29 pm »
I think by overpowering the LCD with code he was refering to test mode on the TI-83 Plus series, which causes the entire screen (or horizontal lines) to literally turn blue.

Also if the calc cover was on, I doubt the damage was caused during shipping. It probably happened before while the cover wasn't on.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline 123outerme

  • Super User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: In spaaace! Well, the Earth is anyhow.
  • Posts: 610
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-0
  • Professional Unpaid Intern
    • 113/11355
  • Gender: Male
Re: Pixels permanently on -- TI-Nspire
« Reply #9 on: January 24, 2017, 08:25:23 pm »
I think by overpowering the LCD with code he was refering to test mode on the TI-83 Plus series, which causes the entire screen (or horizontal lines) to literally turn blue.

Also if the calc cover was on, I doubt the damage was caused during shipping. It probably happened before while the cover wasn't on.
Ok, thanks DJ. Also yep, will definitely avoid test mode.
  • Calculators owned: TI-84+CSE, TI-nspire Clickpad, TI-84+SE

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Professional slacker
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Israel
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
  • ƎW∀⅁ ƎH⊥
  • Gender: Male
Re: Pixels permanently on -- TI-Nspire
« Reply #10 on: January 25, 2017, 04:39:20 pm »
It's a special mode that you can only trigger intentionally and it's specific to the 83+ series LCD controller. Nothing to worry about on the Nspire.
  • Calculators owned: TI-80, HP 40G, TI-84 Plus rev G (yay 128k RAM), TI-83 Plus Silver Edition (broken LCD), TI-82 Stats.fr (black), TI-Nspire CX rev C (yay Nlaunchy), TI-83+ SE ViewScreen



Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18520
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Pixels permanently on -- TI-Nspire
« Reply #11 on: January 25, 2017, 06:02:56 pm »
On a side note, I once had a broken dot matrix display basic calculator and broke the screen, and I recall one half of the broken screen became black with the display being lighter. That was kinda weird. Juju also got a TI-83+ with a broken screen like above but the broken part isn't blue (it definitively shows that an impact occured, though)
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline 123outerme

  • Super User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: In spaaace! Well, the Earth is anyhow.
  • Posts: 610
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-0
  • Professional Unpaid Intern
    • 113/11355
  • Gender: Male
Re: Pixels permanently on -- TI-Nspire
« Reply #12 on: February 11, 2017, 08:43:08 pm »
Update: It seems to have been temporary damage, fortunately! Look at the two side-by-side:'



It, very clearly, is nearly gone now!
« Last Edit: February 11, 2017, 09:21:16 pm by 123outerme »
  • Calculators owned: TI-84+CSE, TI-nspire Clickpad, TI-84+SE

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18520
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Pixels permanently on -- TI-Nspire
« Reply #13 on: February 12, 2017, 06:44:51 pm »
I suspect that the calc suffered an impact during shipping
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline 123outerme

  • Super User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: In spaaace! Well, the Earth is anyhow.
  • Posts: 610
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-0
  • Professional Unpaid Intern
    • 113/11355
  • Gender: Male
Re: Pixels permanently on -- TI-Nspire
« Reply #14 on: February 12, 2017, 06:47:21 pm »
I suspect that the calc suffered an impact during shipping
It likely did. And thankfully, the pixels aren't dead, I can see pixels on where the damage used to be, although you can't see that in the newer photo (since the cursor was off in its blinking phase)
  • Calculators owned: TI-84+CSE, TI-nspire Clickpad, TI-84+SE

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games