* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: .exe to ASM?  (Read 3062 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline xMarminq_

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Sep 2016
  • Location: Generic Location
  • Posts: 446
  • Post Rating Ratio: +3/-0
  • Generic Personal Text
    • @UCUWQR30oIW2fRqCNI2IDGIA
  • Gender: Male
.exe to ASM?
« on: December 28, 2016, 06:40:00 pm »
Is there anything out there that can do dis?  :D


  • Calculators owned: Ti-84 Plus CE, Ti-84 Plus (can be borrowed from my school)
I don't associate with associations

Offline kotu

  • -< \'V/,,,
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: don't panic
  • Posts: 1160
  • Post Rating Ratio: +7/-11
  • woah
    • dj_kotu
    • @UCAy2ZF4hbc08iStnTn6jgxQ
    • rowanmedhurst
    • @romanov-psyco
    • futurerave.uk
  • Gender: Male
Re: .exe to ASM?
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2016, 06:45:23 pm »
you don't want to do this
  • Calculators owned: TI 84+CE-T
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Sega Master System, Sony PlayStation 3
SUBSCRIBE TO THE FUTURERAVE.UK MAILING LIST
http://futurerave.uk

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18730
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: .exe to ASM?
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2016, 06:59:08 pm »
I am sure it exists, but you would need to ask the exe author's permission to re-use the disassembled code, and the code won't be of any practical use since it won't have any label names nor comments.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline kotu

  • -< \'V/,,,
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: don't panic
  • Posts: 1160
  • Post Rating Ratio: +7/-11
  • woah
    • dj_kotu
    • @UCAy2ZF4hbc08iStnTn6jgxQ
    • rowanmedhurst
    • @romanov-psyco
    • futurerave.uk
  • Gender: Male
Re: .exe to ASM?
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2016, 07:02:26 pm »
i am sure it would be incompatible if only for screen sizes
  • Calculators owned: TI 84+CE-T
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Sega Master System, Sony PlayStation 3
SUBSCRIBE TO THE FUTURERAVE.UK MAILING LIST
http://futurerave.uk

Offline xMarminq_

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Sep 2016
  • Location: Generic Location
  • Posts: 446
  • Post Rating Ratio: +3/-0
  • Generic Personal Text
    • @UCUWQR30oIW2fRqCNI2IDGIA
  • Gender: Male
Re: .exe to ASM?
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2016, 07:02:37 pm »
Its legal don't worry. Its a SCRATCH project
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84 Plus CE, Ti-84 Plus (can be borrowed from my school)
I don't associate with associations

Offline p4nix

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 430
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-1
  • Don't catch the ball.
    • p4nix
  • Gender: Male
Re: .exe to ASM?
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2016, 08:55:07 pm »
You probably search for a disassembler. However, you still don't want to do this. (for the reasons @DJ Omnimaga already told)...
  • Calculators owned: fx9860GII (SH4)

Offline xMarminq_

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Sep 2016
  • Location: Generic Location
  • Posts: 446
  • Post Rating Ratio: +3/-0
  • Generic Personal Text
    • @UCUWQR30oIW2fRqCNI2IDGIA
  • Gender: Male
Re: .exe to ASM?
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2016, 09:16:54 pm »
It was converted from SCRATCH, the coding website. I don't think I would need permission
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84 Plus CE, Ti-84 Plus (can be borrowed from my school)
I don't associate with associations

Offline p4nix

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 430
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-1
  • Don't catch the ball.
    • p4nix
  • Gender: Male
Re: .exe to ASM?
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2016, 09:20:56 pm »
You probably DO need permission if you want to do anything which gets public with it.
  • Calculators owned: fx9860GII (SH4)

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18730
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: .exe to ASM?
« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2016, 09:23:35 pm »
Ah ok, it's fine if it's your own exe file. The reason why such disassembling should be avoided though is that the disassembled code will be so hard to decipher that you won't be able to do anything with it, especially if you are not an ASM expert. However it probably also depends what do you plan to do with the code. If you just want to convert scratch code to assembly and expect a speed increase, then you can forget about it, as the resulting ASM code will be so horrible that it will run as slow as its scratch counterpart. I remember for the TI-83 Plus there was a BASIC to ASM converter and the ASM result was even larger in size actually.

So in order to help you (if that is possible), we need to know what do you plan to do with the disassembled exe file.

You probably DO need permission if you want to do anything which gets public with it.
Scratch is an online development tool which lets you make games. If he made the game himself then he doesn't need permission, unless Scratch website disallows people from sharing their projects outside their website, which I doubt.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline p4nix

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 430
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-1
  • Don't catch the ball.
    • p4nix
  • Gender: Male
Re: .exe to ASM?
« Reply #9 on: December 28, 2016, 09:24:52 pm »
You probably DO need permission if you want to do anything which gets public with it.
Scratch is an online development tool which lets you make games. If he made the game himself then he doesn't need permission, unless Scratch website disallows people from sharing their projects outside their website, which I doubt.

I thought it was a scratch project from someone else.
  • Calculators owned: fx9860GII (SH4)

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Professional slacker
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Israel
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
  • ƎW∀⅁ ƎH⊥
  • Gender: Male
Re: .exe to ASM?
« Reply #10 on: December 28, 2016, 10:50:12 pm »
There are plenty of disassemblers out there, but I'd recommend you avoid it due to the complexity of it, which I strongly doubt you can handle.
That said, at least under US law, disassembling someone else's binaries is perfectly legal for reverse engineering. What is not legal is to break DRM (cracking) or to redistribute material without the license to do so.
  • Calculators owned: TI-80, HP 40G, TI-84 Plus rev G (yay 128k RAM), TI-83 Plus Silver Edition (broken LCD), TI-82 Stats.fr (black), TI-Nspire CX rev C (yay Nlaunchy), TI-83+ SE ViewScreen



Offline xMarminq_

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Sep 2016
  • Location: Generic Location
  • Posts: 446
  • Post Rating Ratio: +3/-0
  • Generic Personal Text
    • @UCUWQR30oIW2fRqCNI2IDGIA
  • Gender: Male
Re: .exe to ASM?
« Reply #11 on: December 28, 2016, 11:00:58 pm »
You probably DO need permission if you want to do anything which gets public with it.
It's my project tho, based off of a other scratch project
« Last Edit: December 28, 2016, 11:13:04 pm by xMarminq_ »
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84 Plus CE, Ti-84 Plus (can be borrowed from my school)
I don't associate with associations

Offline xMarminq_

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Sep 2016
  • Location: Generic Location
  • Posts: 446
  • Post Rating Ratio: +3/-0
  • Generic Personal Text
    • @UCUWQR30oIW2fRqCNI2IDGIA
  • Gender: Male
Re: .exe to ASM?
« Reply #12 on: December 28, 2016, 11:17:11 pm »
What now?
(sry for double post)
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84 Plus CE, Ti-84 Plus (can be borrowed from my school)
I don't associate with associations

Offline aeTIos

  • Dabbler in C
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Ede, NL
  • Posts: 1049
  • Post Rating Ratio: +12/-0
  • hi
    • r_vdijk
    • /u/aetios
    • aetios
  • Gender: Male
Re: .exe to ASM?
« Reply #13 on: December 28, 2016, 11:50:32 pm »
you'll have to translate every opcode into z80 asm.

Good Luck
ceci n'est pas une signature

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18730
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: .exe to ASM?
« Reply #14 on: December 29, 2016, 12:15:16 am »
It depends for which platform he's developing for. If he's developing for PC, then I assume he needs to learn X86 ASM, right?
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games