* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: Age of Empires 2 HD remake  (Read 690 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline p2

  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Moderator
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 2266
  • Post Rating Ratio: +8/-0
  • *Wubba lubba dub dub*
    • KaliPhobos
  • Gender: Male
Age of Empires 2 HD remake
« on: December 14, 2016, 12:05:07 am »
Microsoft has announced an HD remake of the good old "Age of Empires 2".
It's already listed on Steam: http://store.steampowered.com/app/488060?beta=0
The release date should be next monday (19.12.2016) but you can already preorder now.
A little article about it: https://www.ageofempires.com/news/2016/12/13/announcing-age-of-empires-ii-hd-rise-of-the-rajas-dlc/

I really LOVE AoE2 and still regulary play it on lan partys with friends. If you haven't played it yet: do so!
COlectors editions with AoE2 + all extensions are available for <5$ :)

Will any of you buy the HD remake of AoE2 ? If so, PLEEEASE tell us if it's worth the money :D


  • Calculators owned: ti-83+, ti-84+, ti-84+, ti-84+se, ti-84+se(te), ti-nsphire, ti-nsphire CX-CAS, ti-voyage, ti-voyage, Who reads this list anyways...?
Anyway war sucks. Just bring us your food instead of missiles  :P ~ DJ Omnimaga (11.10.2016 20:21:48)
if you cant get a jframe set up, draw stuff to it, and receive input, i can only imagine how horrible your game code is _._   ~ c4ooo (14.11.2016 22:44:07)
If they pull a Harambe on me tell my family I love them ~ u/Pwntear37d (AssangeWatch /r/)
make Walrii great again ~ DJ Omnimaga (28.11.2016 23:01:31)
God invented the pc, satan the smartphone I guess ~ p4nix (16.02.2017 22:51:49)

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18622
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Age of Empires 2 HD remake
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2016, 07:40:27 am »
Nice. I got a copy of AoEII that I never used (I considered playing back then then got sidetracked by other games). I always wondered if the original servers were still up. Glad to see a remake at the horizon. That said, I am limited in my gaming budget nowadays so I'll probably wait to see if an HD remake of Starcraft: Brood War gets done before buying this.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline p2

  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Moderator
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 2266
  • Post Rating Ratio: +8/-0
  • *Wubba lubba dub dub*
    • KaliPhobos
  • Gender: Male
Re: Age of Empires 2 HD remake
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2016, 08:23:10 am »
If you never played the original AoE2 you should definitely give it a little try the next time you are bored, it' totalyl worth it. One of the best strategy games ever :D
  • Calculators owned: ti-83+, ti-84+, ti-84+, ti-84+se, ti-84+se(te), ti-nsphire, ti-nsphire CX-CAS, ti-voyage, ti-voyage, Who reads this list anyways...?
Anyway war sucks. Just bring us your food instead of missiles  :P ~ DJ Omnimaga (11.10.2016 20:21:48)
if you cant get a jframe set up, draw stuff to it, and receive input, i can only imagine how horrible your game code is _._   ~ c4ooo (14.11.2016 22:44:07)
If they pull a Harambe on me tell my family I love them ~ u/Pwntear37d (AssangeWatch /r/)
make Walrii great again ~ DJ Omnimaga (28.11.2016 23:01:31)
God invented the pc, satan the smartphone I guess ~ p4nix (16.02.2017 22:51:49)

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18622
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Age of Empires 2 HD remake
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2017, 01:43:35 am »
If you never played the original AoE2 you should definitely give it a little try the next time you are bored, it' totalyl worth it. One of the best strategy games ever :D
I'm willing to bet that my original CD won't even run on Windows 10 tho. Many old game installers do that. :P (eg Starcraft Battlechest didn't work on Vista or newer so you had to register it on Bnet, get a new serial and download a new client)
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline p2

  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Moderator
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 2266
  • Post Rating Ratio: +8/-0
  • *Wubba lubba dub dub*
    • KaliPhobos
  • Gender: Male
Re: Age of Empires 2 HD remake
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2017, 09:33:08 am »
AoE2 runs surprisingly stable on Windows7
on Linux (ubuntu) using wine it works as well, even the local multiplayer works, it's just that chat fields are terrible flickering in wine xD

so it whould work on your windows10 as well :)
  • Calculators owned: ti-83+, ti-84+, ti-84+, ti-84+se, ti-84+se(te), ti-nsphire, ti-nsphire CX-CAS, ti-voyage, ti-voyage, Who reads this list anyways...?
Anyway war sucks. Just bring us your food instead of missiles  :P ~ DJ Omnimaga (11.10.2016 20:21:48)
if you cant get a jframe set up, draw stuff to it, and receive input, i can only imagine how horrible your game code is _._   ~ c4ooo (14.11.2016 22:44:07)
If they pull a Harambe on me tell my family I love them ~ u/Pwntear37d (AssangeWatch /r/)
make Walrii great again ~ DJ Omnimaga (28.11.2016 23:01:31)
God invented the pc, satan the smartphone I guess ~ p4nix (16.02.2017 22:51:49)

Offline Sorunome

  • Full User
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Safe-haven access
  • 2016 Yearly CW Project Winner
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Location: Equestria
  • Posts: 156
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-0
  • Keep calm and fox on
    • @sorunome
    • @sorunome
    • /u/sorunome
    • Sorunome
    • 110/11005
    • My Website
  • Gender: Female
Re: Age of Empires 2 HD remake
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2017, 01:42:37 pm »
I wonder if it'll have native linux support. Because of steam more and more games do

2017 will be the year of the linux desktop!
  • Calculators owned: Too many (why are you even reading this?)
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Gamebuino!
This is a signature.
And now......give me an internet!

To be or not to be.........is that even a question? Who gets to decide this anyways?

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18622
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Age of Empires 2 HD remake
« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2017, 05:44:46 pm »
AoE2 runs surprisingly stable on Windows7
on Linux (ubuntu) using wine it works as well, even the local multiplayer works, it's just that chat fields are terrible flickering in wine xD

so it whould work on your windows10 as well :)
I read somewhere that it won't , though, but maybe it's a case by case basis or some bogus report

edit by p2: removed that SENT BY ... text

« Last Edit: January 31, 2017, 11:25:15 pm by p2 »
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline p2

  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Moderator
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 2266
  • Post Rating Ratio: +8/-0
  • *Wubba lubba dub dub*
    • KaliPhobos
  • Gender: Male
Re: Age of Empires 2 HD remake
« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2017, 11:26:28 pm »
well I got those informations from first hand, we tried it ourselves for little lan parties ^^but we were actually using pretty much every (even non-microsoft) extension pack available, not the original version xD
  • Calculators owned: ti-83+, ti-84+, ti-84+, ti-84+se, ti-84+se(te), ti-nsphire, ti-nsphire CX-CAS, ti-voyage, ti-voyage, Who reads this list anyways...?
Anyway war sucks. Just bring us your food instead of missiles  :P ~ DJ Omnimaga (11.10.2016 20:21:48)
if you cant get a jframe set up, draw stuff to it, and receive input, i can only imagine how horrible your game code is _._   ~ c4ooo (14.11.2016 22:44:07)
If they pull a Harambe on me tell my family I love them ~ u/Pwntear37d (AssangeWatch /r/)
make Walrii great again ~ DJ Omnimaga (28.11.2016 23:01:31)
God invented the pc, satan the smartphone I guess ~ p4nix (16.02.2017 22:51:49)

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games