* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: Is This Possible?  (Read 534 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline xMarminq_

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Sep 2016
  • Location: Generic Location
  • Posts: 341
  • Post Rating Ratio: +2/-0
  • Generic Personal Text
    • @UCUWQR30oIW2fRqCNI2IDGIA
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Is This Possible?
« on: November 08, 2016, 04:56:54 pm »
I been busy with making this game, with some dialogue. Every line I make I put a Wait command, and can make it REALLY long. What I am trying to do is make a setting that sets a variable to the wait time to increase or decrease delay on some parts. Heres the thing I basically want to implement, but the calc isnt reading the Y= , and making the Y 0 so it has no delay



 
« Last Edit: November 08, 2016, 05:02:17 pm by xMarminq_ »


  • Calculators owned: Ti-84 Plus CE, Ti-84 Plus (can be borrowed from my school)
???????????????

Offline p2

  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Moderator
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 2196
  • Post Rating Ratio: +8/-0
  • *Wubba lubba dub dub*
    • KaliPhobos
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: Is This Possible?
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2016, 05:26:30 pm »
could you add the source as a text for all those that dont have a calc around right now? ^^ :)
  • Calculators owned: ti-83+, ti-84+, ti-84+, ti-84+se, ti-84+se(te), ti-nsphire, ti-nsphire CX-CAS, ti-voyage, ti-voyage, Who reads this list anyways...?
Anyway war sucks. Just bring us your food instead of missiles  :P ~ DJ Omnimaga (11.10.2016 20:21:48)
if you cant get a jframe set up, draw stuff to it, and receive input, i can only imagine how horrible your game code is _._   ~ c4ooo (14.11.2016 22:44:07)
If they pull a Harambe on me tell my family I love them ~ u/Pwntear37d (AssangeWatch /r/)
make Walrii great again ~ DJ Omnimaga (28.11.2016 23:01:31)
God invented the pc, satan the smartphone I guess ~ p4nix (16.02.2017 22:51:49)

Online DJ Omnimaga

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Topic Management
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18179
  • Post Rating Ratio: +91/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Is This Possible?
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2016, 05:32:45 pm »
Here is the source for those without a calc or TI-Connect. Thanks for providing a download link as well for those who do, though:

Code: [Select]
ClrHome
Output(6,1,"NOTICE:THIS WILL DETERMINE YOUR SPEED. DO 1. THIS IS FOR ME TO MAKE DIALOUGE FASTER"
Prompt Z
If Z=1
1=Y
If Z=2
0.1=Y
If Z>2
Return
If Y=0.1
If Y=1
ClrHome
Wait 3
Output(1,1,"1"
Wait 1Y
Output(1,2,"2"
Wait 1Y
Output(1,3,"3"
Wait 1Y
Output(1,4,"4"
Wait 1Y
Output(1,5,"5"
Wait 1Y
Output(1,6,"6"
Wait 1Y
Output(1,7,"7"
Wait 9

Anyway, the issue is you need to use the STO character to store stuff into variablees. The standard PC-like language syntax will not work on TI calculators. Basically, do 1->Y instead of 1=Y

Also unrelated, but if you have an extra variable to spare, the the last part of the code should be changed to this:

Code: [Select]
For(A,1,7
Wait 1Y
Output(1,A,A
End
Wait 9
Which is slightly slower (since you use Wait the speed drop is negligible compared to without Wait) but takes much less space.
« Last Edit: November 08, 2016, 05:36:18 pm by DJ Omnimaga »
  • Calculators owned: TI-73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)
??? ??? ??? ???

Offline p2

  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Moderator
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 2196
  • Post Rating Ratio: +8/-0
  • *Wubba lubba dub dub*
    • KaliPhobos
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: Is This Possible?
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2016, 05:53:47 pm »
As DJ Already said, Use 1->X instead of X=1 ;)
Also you need to memorize this:
Code: [Select]
If X=1
  1->A
2->B
3->C
ONLY line 2 is executed depending on the condition (an IF without a THEN only affects the first command coming afterwards.
So it's handled as if it would be like this:
Code: [Select]
If X=1 Then
  1->A
End
2->B
3->C
which means line 3 and 4 are ALWAYS executed as the IF doesn't touch them.
To execute all of them only if  the condition is met, do this:
Code: [Select]
If X=1 Then
  1->A
  2->B
  3->C
End
But if you really only want the first command (in this case 1->A) to be affected by the condition, use the first code instead of the second :)
  • Calculators owned: ti-83+, ti-84+, ti-84+, ti-84+se, ti-84+se(te), ti-nsphire, ti-nsphire CX-CAS, ti-voyage, ti-voyage, Who reads this list anyways...?
Anyway war sucks. Just bring us your food instead of missiles  :P ~ DJ Omnimaga (11.10.2016 20:21:48)
if you cant get a jframe set up, draw stuff to it, and receive input, i can only imagine how horrible your game code is _._   ~ c4ooo (14.11.2016 22:44:07)
If they pull a Harambe on me tell my family I love them ~ u/Pwntear37d (AssangeWatch /r/)
make Walrii great again ~ DJ Omnimaga (28.11.2016 23:01:31)
God invented the pc, satan the smartphone I guess ~ p4nix (16.02.2017 22:51:49)

Offline xMarminq_

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Sep 2016
  • Location: Generic Location
  • Posts: 341
  • Post Rating Ratio: +2/-0
  • Generic Personal Text
    • @UCUWQR30oIW2fRqCNI2IDGIA
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: Is This Possible?
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2016, 06:01:17 pm »
Thanks! It works!
You will see what I am making soon...
On my basic progress topic
« Last Edit: November 08, 2016, 06:02:50 pm by xMarminq_ »
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84 Plus CE, Ti-84 Plus (can be borrowed from my school)
???????????????

Online DJ Omnimaga

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Topic Management
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18179
  • Post Rating Ratio: +91/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Is This Possible?
« Reply #5 on: November 08, 2016, 06:06:28 pm »
I can't wait. :)

On a side note, the Wait command is very new. It was only added a few months ago on the TI-84 Plus CE. Beforehand we had to use For(Z,0,999:End or stuff like RandRandRandRandRandRand for delays
  • Calculators owned: TI-73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)
??? ??? ??? ???

Offline xMarminq_

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Sep 2016
  • Location: Generic Location
  • Posts: 341
  • Post Rating Ratio: +2/-0
  • Generic Personal Text
    • @UCUWQR30oIW2fRqCNI2IDGIA
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: Is This Possible?
« Reply #6 on: November 08, 2016, 11:14:21 pm »
Glad I came after the update
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84 Plus CE, Ti-84 Plus (can be borrowed from my school)
???????????????

Online DJ Omnimaga

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Topic Management
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18179
  • Post Rating Ratio: +91/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Is This Possible?
« Reply #7 on: November 08, 2016, 11:31:44 pm »
Well, to be fair, programs that don't use Wait can at least run on more OSes due to better compatibility and can even be ported to older calcs more easily, but they're larger.
  • Calculators owned: TI-73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)
??? ??? ??? ???

Offline p2

  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Moderator
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 2196
  • Post Rating Ratio: +8/-0
  • *Wubba lubba dub dub*
    • KaliPhobos
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: Is This Possible?
« Reply #8 on: November 09, 2016, 12:54:36 am »
True but as its only that single command, with one single input parameter...
I bet someone could create a tool to replace the wait command in any .8xp source file with our old  FOR method ^^
  • Calculators owned: ti-83+, ti-84+, ti-84+, ti-84+se, ti-84+se(te), ti-nsphire, ti-nsphire CX-CAS, ti-voyage, ti-voyage, Who reads this list anyways...?
Anyway war sucks. Just bring us your food instead of missiles  :P ~ DJ Omnimaga (11.10.2016 20:21:48)
if you cant get a jframe set up, draw stuff to it, and receive input, i can only imagine how horrible your game code is _._   ~ c4ooo (14.11.2016 22:44:07)
If they pull a Harambe on me tell my family I love them ~ u/Pwntear37d (AssangeWatch /r/)
make Walrii great again ~ DJ Omnimaga (28.11.2016 23:01:31)
God invented the pc, satan the smartphone I guess ~ p4nix (16.02.2017 22:51:49)

Offline xMarminq_

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Sep 2016
  • Location: Generic Location
  • Posts: 341
  • Post Rating Ratio: +2/-0
  • Generic Personal Text
    • @UCUWQR30oIW2fRqCNI2IDGIA
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: Is This Possible?
« Reply #9 on: November 09, 2016, 03:05:05 am »
If there is a menu with a lbl A and a variable A, do they cause interference?
1k already for the project
« Last Edit: November 09, 2016, 03:46:54 am by xMarminq_ »
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84 Plus CE, Ti-84 Plus (can be borrowed from my school)
???????????????

Online DJ Omnimaga

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Topic Management
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18179
  • Post Rating Ratio: +91/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Is This Possible?
« Reply #10 on: November 09, 2016, 05:09:59 am »
Lbl names are totally independent from variable names. Also lbl names can be up to 2 characters. You can use A variable without any issue.
  • Calculators owned: TI-73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)
??? ??? ??? ???

Offline xMarminq_

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Sep 2016
  • Location: Generic Location
  • Posts: 341
  • Post Rating Ratio: +2/-0
  • Generic Personal Text
    • @UCUWQR30oIW2fRqCNI2IDGIA
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: Is This Possible?
« Reply #11 on: November 11, 2016, 01:35:35 am »
Cool. 3k now...
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84 Plus CE, Ti-84 Plus (can be borrowed from my school)
???????????????

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games