* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: I need help with Axe Parser  (Read 8996 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline CKH4

  • Extravagant Sushi
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 872
  • Post Rating Ratio: +3/-2
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
I need help with Axe Parser
« on: January 06, 2015, 09:49:36 pm »
So I'm trying to learn buffers for 8lvl grayscale. I got 4 level working with the main buffer, L1 and L3.

If anyone knows about buffers and stuff I would really appreciate your help.

Edit.
I got laggy 6lvl working on L1 thru L4. Then the calc crashed when I went to exit. (it was wabbitemu so it's all good)
« Last Edit: April 19, 2015, 10:39:28 pm by CKH4 »


  • Calculators owned: TI-83+, TI-84+


Offline pimathbrainiac

  • Full User
  • Original 5
  • News Editor
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 416
  • Post Rating Ratio: +2/-1
  • Formerly Banned CW Co-Founder Turned News Editor
    • pimathbrainiac
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Other
Re: I need help with Axe Parser
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2015, 11:55:07 pm »

As for buffers, they're basically like malloc() in c.
Well, I'm bach here too!

Offline CKH4

  • Extravagant Sushi
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 872
  • Post Rating Ratio: +3/-2
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: I need help with Axe Parser
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2015, 01:44:47 am »
Ok thanks. I'd use that but I'm looking for a solution not based for pictures. I'm just using rect( right now.

Edit.
Is there a reason why it crashes?
« Last Edit: January 07, 2015, 01:48:41 am by CKH4 »
  • Calculators owned: TI-83+, TI-84+


Offline CKH4

  • Extravagant Sushi
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 872
  • Post Rating Ratio: +3/-2
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: I need help with Axe Parser
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2015, 03:28:53 pm »
Does anyone know how to loop the edges of the screen so that stuff drawn off the screen is shown on the other side?
  • Calculators owned: TI-83+, TI-84+


Offline aeTIos

  • Dabbler in C
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Server Maintenance
  • Moderator
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Ede, NL
  • Posts: 992
  • Post Rating Ratio: +12/-0
  • hi
    • r_vdijk
    • /u/aetios
    • aetios
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: I need help with Axe Parser
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2015, 03:44:00 pm »
That's not supported in Axe. You'll need to write your own routine for this,
Something like this might work:
Code: [Select]
pt-on(x,y,[sprite])
if x>88
  pt-on(x-96,y,[sprite])
end
Modify the code as needed for the other side of the screen.
ceci n'est pas une signature

Offline CKH4

  • Extravagant Sushi
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 872
  • Post Rating Ratio: +3/-2
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: I need help with Axe Parser
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2015, 03:45:15 pm »
Thanks, that's exactly what I'm looking for.
  • Calculators owned: TI-83+, TI-84+


Offline aeTIos

  • Dabbler in C
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Server Maintenance
  • Moderator
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Ede, NL
  • Posts: 992
  • Post Rating Ratio: +12/-0
  • hi
    • r_vdijk
    • /u/aetios
    • aetios
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: I need help with Axe Parser
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2015, 03:51:34 pm »
No problem, glad I could help :D Note that this will slow down slightly when you are drawing on the sides. If you want constant (and precise) performance, you should remove the if condition and draw the extra sprite regardless of whether or not it is on screen, but generally this shouldn't be needed.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2015, 03:53:24 pm by aeTIos »
ceci n'est pas une signature

Offline CKH4

  • Extravagant Sushi
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 872
  • Post Rating Ratio: +3/-2
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: I need help with Axe Parser
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2015, 05:06:54 pm »
I've also noticed that I need a line somewhere else to reset the coordinate.

Edit.
Ugh. I'm doing 4-lvl grayscale as well, so much typing to do.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2015, 05:24:40 pm by CKH4 »
  • Calculators owned: TI-83+, TI-84+


Offline Snektron

  • Lvl 69 Russian Snake
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Topic Management
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Posts: 3147
  • Post Rating Ratio: +31/-0
  • SSSssssss.....
    • RobinDeWalvis
    • Kzyrox
    • RobinDeWalvis
    • View Profile
    • quantuminfinity
  • Gender: Male
Re: I need help with Axe Parser
« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2015, 05:26:35 pm »
Ugh. I'm doing 4-lvl grayscale as well, so much typing to do.
why not use the default 4-lvl grayscale?
  • Calculators owned: TI-84+
Legends say if you spam more than DJ Omnimaga, you will become a walrus...


Offline CKH4

  • Extravagant Sushi
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 872
  • Post Rating Ratio: +3/-2
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: I need help with Axe Parser
« Reply #9 on: January 08, 2015, 05:27:15 pm »
How do I do that?
  • Calculators owned: TI-83+, TI-84+


Offline Duke "Tape" Eiyeron

  • Urist McEiyolobster
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: (V)(-_(//));(V)
  • Posts: 1636
  • Post Rating Ratio: +11/-2
  • Fanciest Walrus of the oceans.
    • @@Eiyeron
    • Eiyeron
    • /u/Eiyeron
    • Eiyeron
    • View Profile
    • Rétro-Actif : Rétro/Prog/Blog
  • Gender: Male
Re: I need help with Axe Parser
« Reply #10 on: January 08, 2015, 05:28:46 pm »
DispGrah^r^r (^r is the radian r)
  • Calculators owned: A lot.

Offline CKH4

  • Extravagant Sushi
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 872
  • Post Rating Ratio: +3/-2
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: I need help with Axe Parser
« Reply #11 on: January 08, 2015, 05:31:12 pm »
Ok, but how does that affect screen looping? Also isn't that also only 3lvl? I'm going to try to use for( loops to simplify it for now instead of typing 12 pt-off(.
  • Calculators owned: TI-83+, TI-84+


Offline Snektron

  • Lvl 69 Russian Snake
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Topic Management
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Posts: 3147
  • Post Rating Ratio: +31/-0
  • SSSssssss.....
    • RobinDeWalvis
    • Kzyrox
    • RobinDeWalvis
    • View Profile
    • quantuminfinity
  • Gender: Male
Re: I need help with Axe Parser
« Reply #12 on: January 08, 2015, 05:35:28 pm »
Code: [Select]
:ClrDraw^rr .clear both buffers
:Pxl-On(x,y) .dark gray
:Pxl-On(x,y)^r .light gray, use both for black
:DispGraph^rr .draw buffers in 4 level grayscale
  • Calculators owned: TI-84+
Legends say if you spam more than DJ Omnimaga, you will become a walrus...


Offline Duke "Tape" Eiyeron

  • Urist McEiyolobster
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: (V)(-_(//));(V)
  • Posts: 1636
  • Post Rating Ratio: +11/-2
  • Fanciest Walrus of the oceans.
    • @@Eiyeron
    • Eiyeron
    • /u/Eiyeron
    • Eiyeron
    • View Profile
    • Rétro-Actif : Rétro/Prog/Blog
  • Gender: Male
Re: I need help with Axe Parser
« Reply #13 on: January 08, 2015, 05:36:02 pm »
You have to refresh fastly enough the screen to make the grauscale correct. DisppGraph^r yields a 3-gray render and ^r^r 5)4.
  • Calculators owned: A lot.

Offline CKH4

  • Extravagant Sushi
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 872
  • Post Rating Ratio: +3/-2
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: I need help with Axe Parser
« Reply #14 on: January 08, 2015, 05:45:47 pm »
Yeah, I'm using the main buffer, L1 and L2. When I used dispgraph^r^r it was only 3lvl and when I used dispgraph^r it just overlaid them.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2015, 05:59:57 pm by CKH4 »
  • Calculators owned: TI-83+, TI-84+


 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games