* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: Any word on a GBA Emulator for Ti-84 Plus CE?  (Read 3689 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline xMarminq_

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Sep 2016
  • Location: Generic Location
  • Posts: 461
  • Post Rating Ratio: +3/-0
  • Generic Personal Text
    • @UCUWQR30oIW2fRqCNI2IDGIA
  • Gender: Male
Any word on a GBA Emulator for Ti-84 Plus CE?
« on: September 30, 2016, 01:12:50 am »
Any word on a program that can do such magic?  :w00t:


  • Calculators owned: Ti-84 Plus CE, Ti-84 Plus (can be borrowed from my school)
I don't associate with associations

Offline jacobly

  • New User
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Safe-haven access
  • Join Date: Sep 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 7
  • Post Rating Ratio: +0/-0
Re: Any word on a GBA Emulator for Ti-84 Plus CE?
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2016, 02:04:13 am »
Not in the near future as calc84 hasn't even finished GB emulation and GBA would be significantly harder.

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18878
  • Post Rating Ratio: +99/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Any word on a GBA Emulator for Ti-84 Plus CE?
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2016, 03:31:38 am »
Heya and welcome to the forums. :) There is no GBA emulator for the CE yet and such emulator would probably run much slower and I think RAM might be a problem, but it would surely be easier than on the TI-84 Plus C Silver Edition if it was feasible. For the time being, I think GB emulation is more likely and calc84maniac is working on TI-Boy CE. I wonder, though, if he will also add GBC emulation?
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline gameblabla

  • Super User
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 745
  • Post Rating Ratio: +15/-7
  • TI-nspire porter
Re: Any word on a GBA Emulator for Ti-84 Plus CE?
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2016, 09:57:18 am »
It's not possible because a GBA is more powerful than a TI-84 Plus CE :
its CPU is capable of making 3D games like Duke Nukem 3D and Doom, something the CE barely capable of doing, if at all.
But the biggest issue is the RAM and the Flash memory.
The RAM available is simply way too small for any but the simpliest emulator and only the smallest GBA roms could fit inside the flash memory.

Why does everyone think their CE is as capable as an Nspire ?
« Last Edit: September 30, 2016, 10:01:58 am by gameblabla »
  • Calculators owned: TI Nspire CX, TI-89

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18878
  • Post Rating Ratio: +99/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Any word on a GBA Emulator for Ti-84 Plus CE?
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2016, 04:02:11 pm »
How much RAM does the GBA have? Also wasn't the processor around 15-25 MHz?

I don't think anyone claimed the CE is as capable as the Nspire. However the Nspire CX is notorious for having a much slower screen than its grayscale counterpart, while the CE screen is memory-mapped with little to no bottleneck. And the CE can run at  48 MHz. While I have doubts that the CE could run GBA ROMs properly, I think GBC and NES emulation would be possible.

Also the CE is more than capable to run a 3D raycaster. While it would not be full resolution and probably scaled up, it would definitively rival Gemini 3D.
« Last Edit: September 30, 2016, 04:10:51 pm by DJ Omnimaga »
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline TheMachine02

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 356
  • Post Rating Ratio: +14/-0
Re: Any word on a GBA Emulator for Ti-84 Plus CE?
« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2016, 04:12:21 pm »
It as 256Kb+32Kb of RAM and 96Kb of VRAM.

And it as a 17MHz processor, but it is an ARM7, so it quite different than the ez80 we have. ARM7 at 16MHz have more power than the ez80 we have here.

EDIT :

its CPU is capable of making 3D games like Duke Nukem 3D and Doom, something the CE barely capable of doing, if at all.

My 3d engine and I disagree  :P
« Last Edit: September 30, 2016, 04:15:37 pm by TheMachine02 »

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18878
  • Post Rating Ratio: +99/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Any word on a GBA Emulator for Ti-84 Plus CE?
« Reply #6 on: September 30, 2016, 04:14:38 pm »
Oh I see. I think the CE only has 256 KB of RAM and I don't know how much LCD RAM. X.x
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline TheMachine02

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 356
  • Post Rating Ratio: +14/-0
Re: Any word on a GBA Emulator for Ti-84 Plus CE?
« Reply #7 on: September 30, 2016, 04:16:54 pm »
CE has 156Kb of VRAM and yeah, about 256Kb of RAM (150Kb of user, about 70Kb of saferam)

Offline xMarminq_

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Sep 2016
  • Location: Generic Location
  • Posts: 461
  • Post Rating Ratio: +3/-0
  • Generic Personal Text
    • @UCUWQR30oIW2fRqCNI2IDGIA
  • Gender: Male
Re: Any word on a GBA Emulator for Ti-84 Plus CE?
« Reply #8 on: October 01, 2016, 01:21:00 pm »
Maybe i could add a external ram device or try only to get basic games. IDK. I don't know anything about this.
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84 Plus CE, Ti-84 Plus (can be borrowed from my school)
I don't associate with associations

Offline Snektron

  • Lvl 69 Russian Snake
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Posts: 3165
  • Post Rating Ratio: +32/-0
  • SSSssssss.....
    • RobinDeWalvis
    • Kzyrox
    • RobinDeWalvis
    • quantuminfinity
  • Gender: Male
Re: Any word on a GBA Emulator for Ti-84 Plus CE?
« Reply #9 on: October 01, 2016, 01:45:05 pm »
you should just get a GBA then :P
  • Calculators owned: TI-84+
Legends say if you spam more than DJ Omnimaga, you will become a walrus...


Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18878
  • Post Rating Ratio: +99/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Any word on a GBA Emulator for Ti-84 Plus CE?
« Reply #10 on: October 01, 2016, 04:00:24 pm »
Ideally if a calculator coder decides to attempt a GBA emu or anything else, he will prefer that his emu runs on unmodded calcs too anyway.

A Wii U emulator should be possible on the CE though, @gameblabla (*pokes @Streetwalrus and @STV *) , since its hardware specs are similar to the SNES :trollface:
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Professional slacker
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Israel
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
  • ƎW∀⅁ ƎH⊥
  • Gender: Male
Re: Any word on a GBA Emulator for Ti-84 Plus CE?
« Reply #11 on: October 01, 2016, 04:19:59 pm »
Why does everyone think their CE is as capable as an Nspire ?
Because muh color screen. I mean, obviously, that instantly gives it quantum processing power, right ?
  • Calculators owned: TI-80, HP 40G, TI-84 Plus rev G (yay 128k RAM), TI-83 Plus Silver Edition (broken LCD), TI-82 Stats.fr (black), TI-Nspire CX rev C (yay Nlaunchy), TI-83+ SE ViewScreen



Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18878
  • Post Rating Ratio: +99/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Any word on a GBA Emulator for Ti-84 Plus CE?
« Reply #12 on: October 01, 2016, 04:31:52 pm »
Well there is the fact that its performances are drastically better than the CSE and the screen is also improved a lot.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline E37

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Jul 2016
  • Location: Lihilzard Empire
  • Posts: 232
  • Post Rating Ratio: +10/-0
  • I own 2 game consoles, a ti-83 and a ti-84!
    • E37
Re: Any word on a GBA Emulator for Ti-84 Plus CE?
« Reply #13 on: October 01, 2016, 04:36:48 pm »
I don't think anyone claimed the CE is as capable as the Nspire. However the Nspire CX is notorious for having a much slower screen than its grayscale counterpart, while the CE screen is memory-mapped with little to no bottleneck.
A little off topic, but is there a version of ndless for the b/w nspire? If so, that would seem the most feasible (assuming they have the same amount of memory).
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Ti83,Ti84!
I've never finished a project, there is always a way to improve!
What's my calc's name? Convert $37 to decimal. Look up that element in the periodic table. Then take the abbreviation of that element and you have it!
Look! A slime!    <(^.^)>

Offline aeTIos

  • Dabbler in C
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Ede, NL
  • Posts: 1049
  • Post Rating Ratio: +12/-0
  • hi
    • r_vdijk
    • /u/aetios
    • aetios
  • Gender: Male
Re: Any word on a GBA Emulator for Ti-84 Plus CE?
« Reply #14 on: October 01, 2016, 06:42:03 pm »

A little off topic, but is there a version of ndless for the b/w nspire? If so, that would seem the most feasible (assuming they have the same amount of memory).
Yes, there is. You should be able to find it via the official Ndless channels.
ceci n'est pas une signature

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games