* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: OS 5.2 released for the TI-84 Plus CE and the TI-83 Premium CE  (Read 3696 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18522
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Texas Instruments have finally released the new TI-84 Plus CE and TI-83 Premium CE OS, version 5.2, on their website. This new OS brings several major improvements to those two color ez80 calculator models, including what might be one of the largest TI-BASIC enhancements ever since 2010:

-Sending strings to the TI-Innovator via the Send() and Get() commands
-Many more TI-Innovator-related commands
-expr(): You can now solve math calculations that are stored in a string.
-eval(): Converts a calculation result into a string. @grosged 's sprite v3.3 library users might find this very handy.
-toString(): Same as above, but also handles the format in which the result was returned
-Wait: Pauses program execution for a specific amount of time. No more need for For(Z,0,999:End
-Pause command now has Wait abilities if you use the command to display text and specify an amount of time at the end.

However, that's not all, because if you program TI-BASIC directly on the calculator, the on-calc editor now shows the program line number inside the status bar! Some commands previously available exclusively in the CATALOG are now available via the PRGM key as well.

There are many more improvements, such as the ALPHA shortcuts on the TI-84 Plus CE, bringing this calculator closer to its French counterpart, and the release of a new application called Hub, which adds extra menus to the PRGM key during editing. Remember that for all commands, pressing the + key next to the name will bring up help on how to use it, with the syntax and required arguments.

And finally, new versions of Vernier EasyData, SmartPad, TI-SmartView CE and TI-Connect CE were released.



-TI-Connect CE 5.2: Windows and Mac
-OS 5.2: TI-84 Plus CE and TI-83 Premium CE
-Flash APPS: Vernier EasyData, SmartPad CE and Hub


News and images source, with more info in French: https://tiplanet.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=41&t=18957
« Last Edit: August 31, 2016, 05:44:57 am by DJ Omnimaga »


  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Unicorn

  • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Super User
  • CW Contest II - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Posts: 2812
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-2
  • make :PICKACHUP: a thing!
    • Unicorn808
    • 114/11432
    • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Gender: Male
wow! That is a ton of improvements! I wonder how much the innovator will be...

Also, how does Hub work? It's not on Ti's website?
  • Calculators owned: I own all of them: PICKACHUP TI 84+ CSE TI 83+ SE TI something something ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: PICKACHUP ??? ??? ??? ??? ???



??? ??? ??? ??? ???

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18522
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Yeah I wonder about the price as well. I'm probably not getting it unless it's really really popular, though. As for Hub I am not sure why it's not on TI website.

What I am even more curious about, though, is if this OS breaks compatibility with current ASM/C games and libraries. I will have to try my CE games to check if they still run fine.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Unicorn

  • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Super User
  • CW Contest II - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Posts: 2812
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-2
  • make :PICKACHUP: a thing!
    • Unicorn808
    • 114/11432
    • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Gender: Male
Maybe the TI-Innovator is getting released in France first?

@critor or @Adriweb

Why is Hub hosted on ti planet only?
  • Calculators owned: I own all of them: PICKACHUP TI 84+ CSE TI 83+ SE TI something something ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: PICKACHUP ??? ??? ??? ??? ???



??? ??? ??? ??? ???

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18522
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
I have just tried GalagACE, First Fantasy, Wal-Rush! CE, Desert Bus II and Calcuzap and all of them works without any problem.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline critor

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 184
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-0
Why is Hub hosted on ti planet only?
It cannot be directly downloaded from TI web site, but they did still release it another way.

It comes preloaded in the new TI-SmartView CE 5.2 ROM :

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18522
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Ah I see now. It's weird that they chose to release it as part of Smartview and not standalone. Maybe they were planning to release it much later? Either way, we can already download it now :), so thanks Critor.


Also I am not sure if I will get the TI-Innovator thing, since my budget for gadgets is more limited nowadays.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Adriweb

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: France & Canada
  • Posts: 409
  • Post Rating Ratio: +7/-1
    • Adriweb
    • @Adriweb
    • Adriweb
    • @UC-UIrbk5SuaUCvnV6SQvt-Q
    • /u/Adriweb
    • Adriweb
    • TI-Planet.org
  • Gender: Male
Yeah maybe they simply forgot, and will make it be a direct download when the Innovator is actually available.

Anyway, it's launched first in the US, then Europe at some point later.
It seems it's already available through some deals, for instance https://www.bachcompany.com/product.aspx?ProductID=594 , for around $60.

As said, you can also simply buy a TI-Launchpad MSP-EXP432P401R from TI's website directly https://store.ti.com/msp-exp432p401r.aspx , since it's the same board that powers the Innovator, and it will be $13.
However, there won't be as many sensors, same I/O to calc, etc. But still, the base functionalities will work just as well (once you flash the Innovator firmware on it)
  • Calculators owned: TI-Nspire CX CAS, TI-Nspire CX, TI-Nspire CAS (x3), TI-Nspire (x2), TI-Nspire CM-C CAS, TI-Nspire CAS+, TI-80, TI-82 Stats.fr, TI-82 Plus, TI-83 Plus, TI-83 Plus.fr USB, TI-84+, TI-84+ Pocket SE, TI-84+ C Silver Edition, TI-84 Plus CE, TI-89 Titanium, TI-86, TI-Voyage 200, TI-Collège Plus, TI-Collège Plus Solaire, 3 HP, some Casios
Co-founder & co-administrator of TI-Planet and Inspired-Lua

Offline critor

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 184
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-0
As said, you can also simply buy a TI-Launchpad MSP-EXP432P401R from TI's website directly https://store.ti.com/msp-exp432p401r.aspx , since it's the same board that powers the Innovator, and it will be $13.
However, there won't be as many sensors, same I/O to calc, etc. But still, the base functionalities will work just as well (once you flash the Innovator firmware on it)
For information, the TI-Innovator firmware flashable on TI-Launchpad MSP-EXP432P401R boards, is available publicly : :)
https://tiplanet.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=18947&p=206650#p206650

You need to flash it to have the board properly react to the new TI-Innovator Basic string-commands.

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18522
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Yeah maybe they simply forgot, and will make it be a direct download when the Innovator is actually available.

Anyway, it's launched first in the US, then Europe at some point later.
It seems it's already available through some deals, for instance https://www.bachcompany.com/product.aspx?ProductID=594 , for around $60.

As said, you can also simply buy a TI-Launchpad MSP-EXP432P401R from TI's website directly https://store.ti.com/msp-exp432p401r.aspx , since it's the same board that powers the Innovator, and it will be $13.
However, there won't be as many sensors, same I/O to calc, etc. But still, the base functionalities will work just as well (once you flash the Innovator firmware on it)
$60 isn't too bad if it's the retail price and not a 90% off rebate or something. Thanks for the TI-Launchpad MSP-EXP432P401R info, though. Will every BASIC command work with it?
As said, you can also simply buy a TI-Launchpad MSP-EXP432P401R from TI's website directly https://store.ti.com/msp-exp432p401r.aspx , since it's the same board that powers the Innovator, and it will be $13.
However, there won't be as many sensors, same I/O to calc, etc. But still, the base functionalities will work just as well (once you flash the Innovator firmware on it)
For information, the TI-Innovator firmware flashable on TI-Launchpad MSP-EXP432P401R boards, is available publicly : :)
https://tiplanet.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=18947&p=206650#p206650

You need to flash it to have the board properly react to the new TI-Innovator Basic string-commands.
Thanks for the link. :)
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Adriweb

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: France & Canada
  • Posts: 409
  • Post Rating Ratio: +7/-1
    • Adriweb
    • @Adriweb
    • Adriweb
    • @UC-UIrbk5SuaUCvnV6SQvt-Q
    • /u/Adriweb
    • Adriweb
    • TI-Planet.org
  • Gender: Male
All the commands will work, but if you try to address some inexistant device on the board, it won't do much :P
  • Calculators owned: TI-Nspire CX CAS, TI-Nspire CX, TI-Nspire CAS (x3), TI-Nspire (x2), TI-Nspire CM-C CAS, TI-Nspire CAS+, TI-80, TI-82 Stats.fr, TI-82 Plus, TI-83 Plus, TI-83 Plus.fr USB, TI-84+, TI-84+ Pocket SE, TI-84+ C Silver Edition, TI-84 Plus CE, TI-89 Titanium, TI-86, TI-Voyage 200, TI-Collège Plus, TI-Collège Plus Solaire, 3 HP, some Casios
Co-founder & co-administrator of TI-Planet and Inspired-Lua

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18522
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Ok thanks for the info. I am personally more interested into TI-84+CE<>TI-Innovator communications. Another thing is I hope Send()/Get() commands work while the calculator busy indicator is active, unlike the GetCalc() command on older models, which required the sending calculator to be paused or inactive.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline critor

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 184
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-0
No need to pause the calculator to send. :)
Check on the video :

Source and infos on the program : https://tiplanet.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=18944&p=206629#p206629
« Last Edit: August 31, 2016, 08:08:41 pm by critor »

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18522
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
I'm happy about that :D. The fact GetCalc() required paused/stopped mode prevented any decent multiplayer BASIC game from being made, same for programs with custom menus.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline MateoConLechuga

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 219
  • Post Rating Ratio: +19/-1
It's always been this way for Get( and Send(.

Fun fact: You can use Get( between calcs too. No need for GetCalc(

Just thought that might be helpful in case you weren't aware ;)

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games