* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: (Solved) Axe Parser - NOT ENOUGH ROM error  (Read 2656 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online JWinslow23

  • Pi is the coolest number in the history of math. :\
  • Super User
  • CW 4x3 challenge - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location: Somewhere between 13 and Graham's Number
  • Posts: 749
  • Post Rating Ratio: +10/-1
  • Use pi! Pi is the absolute greatest! :(
    • @UCu_9qD95nADzc-W6RN-3Z8A
    • 113/11328
  • Gender: Male
(Solved) Axe Parser - NOT ENOUGH ROM error
« on: March 16, 2016, 07:04:13 am »
I'm trying to compile a program into an application with Axe Parser. It works fine in program mode, but when I try to compile it, it errors out after the 1st and 2nd pass with a "NOT ENOUGH ROM" error. I have 24KB of RAM and 52KB of archive available, so I don't know where this error is coming from. Any help?
« Last Edit: March 16, 2016, 11:49:39 am by JWinslow23 »


  • Calculators owned: TI-84+, TI-84+ CSE, TI-84+ CE

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18622
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Axe Parser - NOT ENOUGH ROM error
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2016, 08:35:24 am »
What calc is that by the way? I know that TI-Connect sometimes told me I don't have enough ROM when sending a program, even if I had like 100 KB free, and garbage collecting fixed it. Other times it didn't, though, such as with TI-Boy SE ROMs, and I had to delete then resend stuff.

The best thing would be that you make sure to have over 200 KB of flash left. But if that also fails then someone with Axe experience would have to help you. *pokes @Hayleia since he made apps before*
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Online JWinslow23

  • Pi is the coolest number in the history of math. :\
  • Super User
  • CW 4x3 challenge - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location: Somewhere between 13 and Graham's Number
  • Posts: 749
  • Post Rating Ratio: +10/-1
  • Use pi! Pi is the absolute greatest! :(
    • @UCu_9qD95nADzc-W6RN-3Z8A
    • 113/11328
  • Gender: Male
Re: Axe Parser - NOT ENOUGH ROM error
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2016, 08:38:14 am »
What calc is that by the way? I know that TI-Connect sometimes told me I don't have enough ROM when sending a program, even if I had like 100 KB free, and garbage collecting fixed it. Other times it didn't, though, such as with TI-Boy SE ROMs, and I had to delete then resend stuff.

The best thing would be that you make sure to have over 200 KB of flash left. But if that also fails then someone with Axe experience would have to help you. *pokes @Hayleia since he made apps before*
Garbage collecting does not help.

By the way, this is with any Axe program I try to compile as an application. Even something as simple as
Code: [Select]
.HELLO
Disp "HELLO",i

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18622
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Axe Parser - NOT ENOUGH ROM error
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2016, 08:48:53 am »
Could it be a calculator defect, corrupted flash or something? My 83+ never could compile any app for some reasons, regardless of the OS and even after a full reset, and back then someone else had that issue with his 84+. But back then, our calc would freeze during compiling or not generate any app instead of throwing an error. Have you tried on an emulator?
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Online JWinslow23

  • Pi is the coolest number in the history of math. :\
  • Super User
  • CW 4x3 challenge - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location: Somewhere between 13 and Graham's Number
  • Posts: 749
  • Post Rating Ratio: +10/-1
  • Use pi! Pi is the absolute greatest! :(
    • @UCu_9qD95nADzc-W6RN-3Z8A
    • 113/11328
  • Gender: Male
Re: Axe Parser - NOT ENOUGH ROM error
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2016, 08:57:00 am »
It just throws an error for me. And on an emulator, it also throws a "NOT ENOUGH ROM" error with all the files on my calc transferred onto it. I know I used to be able to compile apps no problem (look at Cookie Clicker Axe :P ).

Online JWinslow23

  • Pi is the coolest number in the history of math. :\
  • Super User
  • CW 4x3 challenge - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location: Somewhere between 13 and Graham's Number
  • Posts: 749
  • Post Rating Ratio: +10/-1
  • Use pi! Pi is the absolute greatest! :(
    • @UCu_9qD95nADzc-W6RN-3Z8A
    • 113/11328
  • Gender: Male
Re: Axe Parser - NOT ENOUGH ROM error
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2016, 11:49:03 am »
Bump.

So, I cleared up some extra ROM, and it turns out 100KB is sufficient for building applications. How generous of TI/Axe Parser :P

Offline Ivoah

  • Super User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 523
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-0
    • @NoahRosamilia
    • Ivoah
    • @UCmgDyh_AeaHALohvR7PKXIw
    • /u/Ivoah
    • Ivoah
    • 114/11421
    • Codinghobbit
  • Gender: Male
  • WalriiPoints: 100
Re: (Solved) Axe Parser - NOT ENOUGH ROM error
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2016, 12:11:37 pm »
*pokes @Hayleia since he made apps before*
Um, isn't @Hayleia a girl?
  • Calculators owned: TI-86 (now broken), TI SR-56, TI-Nspire CX CAS, TI-84+ SE, TI-84+ SE, TI-85, TI-73 Explorer VS, ViewScreen, TI-84+ CSE, TI-83+ SE


Offline Snektron

  • Lvl 69 Russian Snake
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Topic Management
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Posts: 3165
  • Post Rating Ratio: +32/-0
  • SSSssssss.....
    • RobinDeWalvis
    • Kzyrox
    • RobinDeWalvis
    • quantuminfinity
  • Gender: Male
Re: (Solved) Axe Parser - NOT ENOUGH ROM error
« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2016, 04:11:26 pm »
Have you tried to Garbage Collect?
  • Calculators owned: TI-84+
Legends say if you spam more than DJ Omnimaga, you will become a walrus...


Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18622
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: (Solved) Axe Parser - NOT ENOUGH ROM error
« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2016, 05:14:35 pm »
Glad tgat this was solved. It seems that Axe is picky about how much ROM you need to build apps.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Hayleia

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 324
  • Post Rating Ratio: +12/-0
Re: (Solved) Axe Parser - NOT ENOUGH ROM error
« Reply #10 on: March 17, 2016, 01:33:17 pm »
*pokes @Hayleia since he made apps before*
Um, isn't @Hayleia a girl?
*pokes @Hayleia since he made apps before*
Um, isn't @Hayleia a girl?
I actually used to think that. But no.
Some people think they know, some others admit that they don't :P

Anyway, I think the problem was that you had enough ROM... in total, but not enough consecutive ROM. Since apps take full pages, they need full pages to be empty. If you have 50KB but all your pages have one byte used, you can't put an app anywhere :P
Or something like that.

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18622
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: (Solved) Axe Parser - NOT ENOUGH ROM error
« Reply #11 on: March 17, 2016, 04:50:42 pm »
Aren't you a :walrii: @Hayleia ? :P

And yeah I wasn't sure how to explain it, but I meant consecutive ROm indeed, which GC didn't always solve. I assume that all of @JWinslow23 flash pages had something in it and that this caused the issue?
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Online JWinslow23

  • Pi is the coolest number in the history of math. :\
  • Super User
  • CW 4x3 challenge - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location: Somewhere between 13 and Graham's Number
  • Posts: 749
  • Post Rating Ratio: +10/-1
  • Use pi! Pi is the absolute greatest! :(
    • @UCu_9qD95nADzc-W6RN-3Z8A
    • 113/11328
  • Gender: Male
Re: (Solved) Axe Parser - NOT ENOUGH ROM error
« Reply #12 on: March 17, 2016, 08:52:31 pm »
Oh? How do I clean that up, then?

Offline Hayleia

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 324
  • Post Rating Ratio: +12/-0
Re: (Solved) Axe Parser - NOT ENOUGH ROM error
« Reply #13 on: March 18, 2016, 08:55:25 am »
Aren't you a :walrii: @Hayleia ? :P
Nope, see my sig, I'm a :P

Oh? How do I clean that up, then?
Not entirely sure about that or about the fact it fixes the current problem, but I think deleting an app and coming back to the homescreen triggers defragmenting (not garbage collecting, defragmenting). Then yeah, you'd have to transfer the app again.

Online JWinslow23

  • Pi is the coolest number in the history of math. :\
  • Super User
  • CW 4x3 challenge - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location: Somewhere between 13 and Graham's Number
  • Posts: 749
  • Post Rating Ratio: +10/-1
  • Use pi! Pi is the absolute greatest! :(
    • @UCu_9qD95nADzc-W6RN-3Z8A
    • 113/11328
  • Gender: Male
Re: (Solved) Axe Parser - NOT ENOUGH ROM error
« Reply #14 on: March 18, 2016, 01:36:55 pm »
Thank you for that. Triggering the defragmentation process makes sense, because from what I understand, it would take out-of-sequence memory and put them all together, leaving free space at the end.

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games