* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: (porting suggestion) Super Smash Bros & Pokémon for the CE  (Read 5598 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Hayleia

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 324
  • Post Rating Ratio: +12/-0
(porting suggestion) Super Smash Bros & Pokémon for the CE
« on: February 10, 2016, 02:48:21 pm »
BTW, are you ever going to finish SSBO? If you win TI-C 2016, you could finish it for the CE series.
Lol, suddenly off-topic :P
Well I didn't enter the TI-Concours. First because of its placement (I basically only had one week to do anything between two periods of work, so instead of entering, I chose to have some rest, but if the TI-Concours had been announced earlier (but way earlier, even the unofficial announcements on TI-Planet's chat weren't enough), I could have got two weeks there instead of one) but also because of its categories. I didn't expect Axe to be there, but why not Nspire C when there is Nspire Lua and ez80 C in the same category ? And the argument "because Ndless isn't always there and stuff" isn't valid in my opinion when you know that Ndless 4.0 came out before usable ("offline" and "all-in-one" (no "download this here and that there then link them somehow") are requirements for "usable") tools for ez80 C (02/01 and 28/01), which was allowed in the TI-Concours... Anyway, I can't win the TI-Concours if I didn't enter :P

And I have no idea if I'll finish SSBO on monochrome z80. It's written in a dead language (won't be ported to ez80 it seems) on a platform that no one uses anymore in France due to new laws... And I'd have to start it all over to "finish" it for the CE series. The good point with that is that at least it would be in C, so easily portable to other platforms.



Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18622
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
I hope it gets revived tho, even if for the CE. D:
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Jkolade936

  • All Around Coolio
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location: Horseheads, NY
  • Posts: 1515
  • Post Rating Ratio: +9/-1
  • I'm an unknown loner. I try to change that.
    • Jkolade936
    • My Sprites and Walrii Collection
  • Gender: Male
Quote

It's written in a dead language (won't be ported to ez80 it seems) on a platform that no one uses anymore in France due to new laws... And I'd have to start it all over to "finish" it for the CE series.
I can't use the insert quote button, text editor, or smiley button in Edge.  :P
@Hayleia , can you explain this? I'm #Confuzzled(I started using this on WIRC, but it hasn't caught on yet :P). ???
  • Calculators owned: None of them. :'(
Does this qualify as a signature? 
The answer is "Sure."


Offline Hayleia

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 324
  • Post Rating Ratio: +12/-0
Quote

It's written in a dead language (won't be ported to ez80 it seems) on a platform that no one uses anymore in France due to new laws... And I'd have to start it all over to "finish" it for the CE series.
I can't use the insert quote button, text editor, or smiley button in Edge.  :P
@Hayleia , can you explain this? I'm #Confuzzled(I started using this on WIRC, but it hasn't caught on yet :P). ???
Well, SSBO is written in Axe (except some characters that I "wrote in Asm" (it's only data so you can do it with whatever you want)). That language is only available on monochrome z80 calcs. And the only monochrome z80 calc that is still sold in France is the 82A, which doesn't support Asm at all (no programs, no app, nothing) so it obviously doesn't support programs written in Axe.
And since that language won't be ported to CE, if SSBO comes out on CE calcs, it has to be rewritten from scratch in another language.

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18622
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
@Dudeman313 he is refering to how in France, the only calcs allowed in exams will soon be calcs that got a small light that blinks when the calc is in exam mode, and the only monochrome model that features such thing in France is the TI-82 Advanced. But the problem is that the only way to run ASM programs on a TI-82 Advanced is like on the TI-73, TI-82 and TI-85 and it lacks APPS support. And outside France, monochrome Z80 games are less and less popular (Zelda DLQ, for example, got like 10 downloads a week during the school rush last September, yet the crappy Zelda Atari parody I made for the CSE/CE got over 200.

Quote

It's written in a dead language (won't be ported to ez80 it seems) on a platform that no one uses anymore in France due to new laws... And I'd have to start it all over to "finish" it for the CE series.
I can't use the insert quote button, text editor, or smiley button in Edge.  :P
@Hayleia , can you explain this? I'm #Confuzzled(I started using this on WIRC, but it hasn't caught on yet :P). ???
Well, SSBO is written in Axe (except some characters that I "wrote in Asm" (it's only data so you can do it with whatever you want)). That language is only available on monochrome z80 calcs. And the only monochrome z80 calc that is still sold in France is the 82A, which doesn't support Asm at all (no programs, no app, nothing) so it obviously doesn't support programs written in Axe.
And since that language won't be ported to CE, if SSBO comes out on CE calcs, it has to be rewritten from scratch in another language.
Brandon Wilson made an hack that allows you to run ASM on the TI-82 Advanced. But he never released it. You would need to ask him for it.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline SiphonicSugar

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Location: Tennessee, United States
  • Posts: 249
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-1
  • Inspiration
    • siphonicsugar
    • @SiphonicSugar
    • SiphonicS
  • Gender: Male
People need to release their projects...  :P So our community can thrive...

Do you think it would be possible to run Axe on a TI-82 Advanced?
  • Calculators owned: TI-89, TI-84 Plus, TI-92, TI-84 Plus C SE, and TI-Nspire CAS with Touchpad
I'm just trying to grab some inspiration. :P

Offline Jkolade936

  • All Around Coolio
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location: Horseheads, NY
  • Posts: 1515
  • Post Rating Ratio: +9/-1
  • I'm an unknown loner. I try to change that.
    • Jkolade936
    • My Sprites and Walrii Collection
  • Gender: Male
I agree. There are so many good things that were never released or completed...*cough, cough* Spencer's Zelda *cough, cough*
  • Calculators owned: None of them. :'(
Does this qualify as a signature? 
The answer is "Sure."


Offline SiphonicSugar

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Location: Tennessee, United States
  • Posts: 249
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-1
  • Inspiration
    • siphonicsugar
    • @SiphonicSugar
    • SiphonicS
  • Gender: Male
COUGH COUGH *Super Mario 84* COUGH COUGH
  • Calculators owned: TI-89, TI-84 Plus, TI-92, TI-84 Plus C SE, and TI-Nspire CAS with Touchpad
I'm just trying to grab some inspiration. :P

Offline Jkolade936

  • All Around Coolio
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location: Horseheads, NY
  • Posts: 1515
  • Post Rating Ratio: +9/-1
  • I'm an unknown loner. I try to change that.
    • Jkolade936
    • My Sprites and Walrii Collection
  • Gender: Male
*Wheeze, wheeze* Tankies *wheeze, wheeze*

*wretch, wretch* Ash: Phoenix *wretch, wretch*

*gasp, gasp* Blast Labs, Slime, SSB(MaxCoderz)*gasp, gasp*
  • Calculators owned: None of them. :'(
Does this qualify as a signature? 
The answer is "Sure."


Offline Hayleia

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 324
  • Post Rating Ratio: +12/-0
Well I did release SSBO even if not completed, and I released the source with it if someone wants to do things :P

Brandon Wilson made an hack that allows you to run ASM on the TI-82 Advanced. But he never released it. You would need to ask him for it.
If he didn't release it, he probably has reasons that I can't balance with just "but but SSBO" :P
Moreover, SSBO needs to run as an app (not a program) since it eats RAM. Except if we have more RAM on the 82A (but I don't have one so I don't know).

Offline pimathbrainiac

  • Full User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 420
  • Post Rating Ratio: +2/-1
  • Formerly Banned CW Co-Founder Turned News Editor
    • pimathbrainiac
  • Gender: Other
And I have no idea if I'll finish SSBO on monochrome z80. It's written in a dead language (won't be ported to ez80 it seems) on a platform that no one uses anymore in France due to new laws... And I'd have to start it all over to "finish" it for the CE series. The good point with that is that at least it would be in C, so easily portable to other platforms.
Last I checked Runer is still working on Axe :P That said, since you don't live in the US (where the monochrome z80s are still sold and still pretty much standard), I see why you wouldn't see the need to continue work on the monochrome version. As for Axe and ez80, we may see something in the future. Last I checked, Runer only said he wasn't porting to the CSE. I don't recall him saying anything about the CE, however :P
Well, I'm bach here too!

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18622
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
IIRC he once said via logs that he wouldn't port it to the CE either because people can just use C instead.

We even started a topic on CW a few months ago as a result to convince someone else to take over the idea and "force" Axe into the 84+CE.

https://codewalr.us/index.php?topic=159.msg23648#msg23648

But it never went anywhere because nobody on CW was interested in programming for the 84+CE back then.


Also monochrome models are no longer the standard @pimathbrainiac . Proof: Super Mario 1.2 wasn't even in the top 25 weekly downloads when school started last September.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2016, 11:36:46 am by DJ Omnimaga »
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline pimathbrainiac

  • Full User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 420
  • Post Rating Ratio: +2/-1
  • Formerly Banned CW Co-Founder Turned News Editor
    • pimathbrainiac
  • Gender: Other
Just looking at which calculators people have at school, it would seem otherwise.

Still, people are switching to the CE over here, however slowly. I didn't think to look at the ticalc stats :P
Well, I'm bach here too!

Offline Hayleia

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 324
  • Post Rating Ratio: +12/-0
Now that I think of it, there is something else that "prevents" me from doing SSB on CE. How do I link two calcs to share inputs ? Did someone already make something like that ?

Offline Jkolade936

  • All Around Coolio
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location: Horseheads, NY
  • Posts: 1515
  • Post Rating Ratio: +9/-1
  • I'm an unknown loner. I try to change that.
    • Jkolade936
    • My Sprites and Walrii Collection
  • Gender: Male
I never thought of that when I suggested it. Hmm.....  :-\
  • Calculators owned: None of them. :'(
Does this qualify as a signature? 
The answer is "Sure."


 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games