Dear visitors and members, with the staff having moved on to other life interests and as a result of changes in people's internet usage habits, the CodeWalrus community have migrated almost entirely to Discord, IRC and WalrusIRC and is now essentially a place where to hang out, chat about gaming, programming, music, anime, and chill. As a result, even though the CW forums will remain open for posting, for faster TI, Casio or HP calculator help and news we recommend using the bilingual TI-Planet forums instead.

We encourage everyone to join our Discord server now.

* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: About the buttons on the navbar...  (Read 1422 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline aeTIos

  • Dabbler in C
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Ede, NL
  • Posts: 1049
  • Post Rating Ratio: +12/-0
  • hi
    • r_vdijk
    • /u/aetios
    • aetios
  • Gender: Male
About the buttons on the navbar...
« on: February 08, 2016, 10:14:56 am »
..yes, the [Home] [Forum][IRC][Downloads][About], etc buttons. Why are most of them not clickable and only spawn a drop-down menu? What I'd like is that they lead to a default option, e.g. the top option, or one that many users use a lot. Saves a lot of precise mousing :)


ceci n'est pas une signature

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
Re: About the buttons on the navbar...
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2016, 10:16:36 am »
Because otherwise the menus are unusable on the mobile site. This isn't gonna change until css4 or someone points me to a solution in js. :P

Offline aeTIos

  • Dabbler in C
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Ede, NL
  • Posts: 1049
  • Post Rating Ratio: +12/-0
  • hi
    • r_vdijk
    • /u/aetios
    • aetios
  • Gender: Male
Re: About the buttons on the navbar...
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2016, 10:17:25 am »
Oh wow. Can't you make this option desktop only or so?
ceci n'est pas une signature

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
Re: About the buttons on the navbar...
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2016, 10:18:37 am »
By "solution in js" I meant a way to detect touch screens. I don't want to tie that to the window size, it would be inconsistent.

Offline aeTIos

  • Dabbler in C
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Ede, NL
  • Posts: 1049
  • Post Rating Ratio: +12/-0
  • hi
    • r_vdijk
    • /u/aetios
    • aetios
  • Gender: Male
Re: About the buttons on the navbar...
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2016, 10:20:10 am »
I see. Is it an option to detect the browser the user uses as a crude detection method? I think they all identify as a mobile browser.
ceci n'est pas une signature

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
Re: About the buttons on the navbar...
« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2016, 10:20:47 am »
God please no, I don't wanna touch the php code.

@Juju, if you wanna take a look the ideal solution would be to undo this with js:
Code: [Select]
#menu_nav > li > a
{
        pointer-events: none;
}
Then add a touch event handler that does a preventDefault. This way it remains functional for those who have js off and it also works nicer for those who do have it on. Take a look at the CSS to see which ones should be whitelisted.
« Last Edit: February 08, 2016, 11:13:45 am by Streetwalrus »

Offline c4ooo

  • Pedanticity prevents ambiguity
  • Super User
  • CW Contest II Winner
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: 127.0.0.1
  • Posts: 1028
  • Post Rating Ratio: +13/-4
  • Advanced forumer
  • Gender: Male
Re: About the buttons on the navbar...
« Reply #6 on: February 08, 2016, 11:56:22 am »
Half these buttons dont do sh** on iOS >_>
But suprisigly only on theme=3 and not 1.

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games