CodeWalrus

Multimedia => Music => Music Showcase & Production with other softwares => Topic started by: unknownloner on February 02, 2015, 02:25:44 am

Title: How do I even synth
Post by: unknownloner on February 02, 2015, 02:25:44 am
I've started to try and learn what FL Studio can do recently, and learn how to music too.

Here's my first shot at something more than 5 seconds
http://z80.ukl.me/idk.mp3

Oh also this too for lols
http://z80.ukl.me/axelf.mp3
Title: Re: How do I even synth
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on February 02, 2015, 03:43:03 am
I am confused at the topic title. Are you asking how does one synth or do you mean you are showcasing how you actually do it?

Anyway nice sound. Does it use a VST plugin or presets?
Title: Re: How do I even synth
Post by: unknownloner on February 02, 2015, 03:55:55 am
To answer your first question: yes
To answer your second, combination of presets and combining filters and whatnot.
Title: Re: How do I even synth
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on February 02, 2015, 04:42:02 am
Aah ok. I myself use VST plugins for more freedom, although when I do it's not in FL Studios and I usually only use free ones (most are expensive). One I liked a lot was the one that came with Magix Music Maker 2008 and was called Revolta 2 or something. I used it to do my song Everest.

There was a thread somewhere on Omni with full of free VST plugins, but they were much more limited and I don't know if the links still work.

EDIT: https://www.omnimaga.org/general-music-discussion/some-good-free-vsts/msg56919/#msg56919 They don't, but they're still available elsewhere on the site: http://www.dskmusic.com/category/vsti-all . If I recall correctly, Euro Blast from the Past used some of those, while both Everest and STHUMFSOB used Revolta 2+some crappy drum VST. The rest of my discography used softwares from Jester Interactive and CodeMasters.
Title: Re: How do I even synth
Post by: unknownloner on February 02, 2015, 06:34:06 am
Well tonight was a fun night!
http://z80.ukl.me/idk2.mp3

Still have no idea what I'm doing but I think I like it :D
Title: Re: How do I even synth
Post by: Keoni29 on February 02, 2015, 10:20:58 am
I didnt even realize that those vsti's from music maker are compatible with other software. I should try using them with fl-studio.
Title: Re: How do I even synth
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on February 02, 2015, 12:12:13 pm
Keoni29 it depends. If you meant Revolta 2, it's possible that it isn't and I'm unsure if it even works in any version besides MM14/2008, since it was not included in any other. It won't hurt to try, though, but good luck finding the VST online >.<

The stuff I linked above is not necessarily for MM, because Necro was using FL Studios IIRC and I used Sony ACID Music Studios by then.
Title: Re: How do I even synth
Post by: Juju on February 03, 2015, 05:22:32 am
VSTs by design should be compatible with everything that support VSTs.
Title: Re: How do I even synth
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on February 03, 2015, 04:12:17 pm
There can sometimes be some issues, though. For example, if your music development environment lacks some features required by the VST plugin, then it probably won't even play a sound. Same if that music software doesn't run properly on your system (for example, Reaper had no sound at all on my XP machine)