CodeWalrus

Development => Hardware => Topic started by: Juju on May 15, 2017, 06:52:59 pm

Title: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: Juju on May 15, 2017, 06:52:59 pm


This is a little project I'm building with my brother, some sort of arcade thing which should be pretty fun to do. On the hardware side, I'm using one of my VGA 1440x900 LCD panels, this one has DVI-I with a simple $5 HDMI converter attached, I have a bunch of arcade sticks, my brother already built this one on the bottom, from spare wood and a kit bought on Amazon, there a Raspberry Pi 3 I'm going to install RetroPie, I have an USB sound card, a mini bluetooth keyboard from some $10 iPhone case, the whole thing should work, only thing left is to probably build a frame out of wood and a bunch of decals would be welcome, that would be awesome.

Now I'm going to install and configure the OS, any ideas are welcome and I'll keep you updated ^_^
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: aeTIos on May 15, 2017, 06:53:42 pm
cool. like, really cool. gonna be following this
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: kotu on May 15, 2017, 06:55:53 pm
 8)

so will we be allowed to come round to your house and try it??
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: p2 on May 15, 2017, 09:14:00 pm
uuuh I love this project, xan't wait for updates ^.^

will u try to put all the hardware in a hibe wooden thingy like the real arcade machines? :)
glad ur doing a project together with ur bro, didnt have the impression u were such a great team until now ^^
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: Juju on May 15, 2017, 11:03:43 pm
Quote from: p2 on May 15, 2017, 09:14:00 pm
will u try to put all the hardware in a hibe wooden thingy like the real arcade machines? :)
glad ur doing a project together with ur bro, didnt have the impression u were such a great team until now ^^
If my brother gets around to make one, yes. Been a while I wanted to do things with him. That or a webcomic, that would be nice too.

Anyway, the nice thing is that the whole thing is pretty inexpensive, the big thing in the budget is the Raspberry Pi and even then it's not really expensive for a computer. The rest are either scraps, things I already have or things that are less than $5 at the hobby shop /hardware store down the street.

Also trying to fit the RetroPie-provided disk image on a SD card that is slightly smaller. it's going to be a pain. Not that much, actually, so far.

EDIT: It's a GODDAMN PAIN IN THE you know where

EDIT2: The SD card is suddenly uncooperative for some reason? Well then. Project on hold until I find another that works.
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on May 16, 2017, 09:56:21 pm
That seems like an awesome project. I always wanted to build an arcade cabinet one day but I would probably want it to look very nice before I even get to the hardware part lol. I would probably also mostly use NES/SNES arcade gamepads and an actual console+TV too. I can't wait to see how yours will turn out.
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: Juju on May 17, 2017, 02:13:14 am
Quote from: Juju on May 15, 2017, 11:03:43 pm
EDIT2: The SD card is suddenly uncooperative for some reason? Well then. Project on hold until I find another that works.
I tried it again and it worked. The SD reader must probably be dead. Huh. Also I realized I messed up during the copy and it put all the boot files in a folder instead of in the root. No wonder it didn't worked on the Pi. Oh well, it works now, gotta configure it and load it up with games.
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: p2 on May 17, 2017, 05:31:33 am
yay that's great.
btw will u only use premade games or also add a selfmade walrii game?
This could be the first arcade machine coming with walrii games tho O.O
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: Juju on May 17, 2017, 07:40:07 pm
Planning to add quite a bunch of emulators, but also a few of the games featured in our CW arcade, provided they work with a joystick.

And yet another roadblock, the thing ain't connecting to Internet via WiFi. Could it be the power supply?
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on May 17, 2017, 07:52:49 pm
Lol if there's a NES emulator then you should add @JWinslow23 game when it's finished (I haven't checked in a while so maybe it already is?)
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: Juju on May 17, 2017, 07:53:27 pm
For sure.

EDIT:
Quote from: Juju on May 17, 2017, 07:40:07 pm
And yet another roadblock, the thing ain't connecting to Internet via WiFi. Could it be the power supply?
Screw that, I ran an Ethernet cable.
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: p2 on May 18, 2017, 09:11:27 am
Can you maybe give us photos of the current progress? :)
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: JWinslow23 on May 18, 2017, 04:01:15 pm
Quote from: DJ Omnimaga on May 17, 2017, 07:52:49 pm
Lol if there's a NES emulator then you should add @JWinslow23 game when it's finished (I haven't checked in a while so maybe it already is?)

On indefinite halt. Game logic is easy enough, but apparently, having everything running with proper timing and nothing misdrawn is challenging.
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: Juju on May 18, 2017, 07:50:19 pm
Update! Got everything working now.



Cave Story, that's a classic.



My brother playing some Battletoads (SNES) or something.

The thing mounts a SMB share full of roms and games on startup, should add some more stuff and emulators. So I'm pretty much calling it done on the software side other than getting some games to work, next is getting the hardware side pretty.
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on May 18, 2017, 10:02:13 pm
Quote from: JWinslow23 on May 18, 2017, 04:01:15 pm
Quote from: DJ Omnimaga on May 17, 2017, 07:52:49 pm
Lol if there's a NES emulator then you should add @JWinslow23 game when it's finished (I haven't checked in a while so maybe it already is?)

On indefinite halt. Game logic is easy enough, but apparently, having everything running with proper timing and nothing misdrawn is challenging.
Sorry to hear D:
Quote from: Juju on May 18, 2017, 07:50:19 pm
Update! Got everything working now.



Cave Story, that's a classic.



My brother playing some Battletoads (SNES) or something.

The thing mounts a SMB share full of roms and games on startup, should add some more stuff and emulators. So I'm pretty much calling it done on the software side other than getting some games to work, next is getting the hardware side pretty.
Neither of those are Battletoads but this still looks nice
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: Juju on May 21, 2017, 04:56:27 pm


Fits on a smaller table now. Takes too much place. Oh, and it runs 7 Grand Dad.
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: p2 on May 21, 2017, 06:48:25 pm
Me wants battletoads  :thumbsup:
any progress on the outer appearence yet? ;)
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: Unicorn on May 21, 2017, 09:32:26 pm
Quote from: p2 on May 21, 2017, 06:48:25 pm
any progress on the outer appearence yet? ;)

That ductape does add an interesting look.. :P
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: p2 on May 22, 2017, 10:20:53 am
I was more focused on changes AFTER he applied this truely beautiful duct tape ;)
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: Juju on May 22, 2017, 07:19:35 pm
Update!



I'm not good at this so this is where my brother is helping.

EDIT: It's done! My brother came back home with it and it's pretty awesome. He said it took about 5 hours making it with his dad. Will post pics later.
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: p2 on May 22, 2017, 08:48:56 pm
woow this thingy looks really AMAZING Juju, great work both u and ur bro did there!  :thumbsup:
Really love it  :love:

how will u paint it? :D
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: Juju on May 22, 2017, 08:54:51 pm
Dunno yet, we have some Mac-Tac we can apply, maybe we can print some sort of motif to apply on the side, the top and the controller. We'll also wire some LEDs at the top as there's some plexiglas.
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on May 23, 2017, 01:29:36 am
This is looking closer and closer to an arcade cabinet :D
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: Juju on May 26, 2017, 10:52:09 pm
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on May 27, 2017, 04:36:53 pm
Woah this totally looks professionally made :O
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: kotu on May 27, 2017, 11:56:04 pm
Awesome  :D
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: Unicorn on May 27, 2017, 11:59:04 pm
looks amazing :D
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: p2 on May 28, 2017, 05:14:22 pm
omg this looks soooo awesome Juju seriously!! :D :D

Really nice work you did there, it's absolutely perfect!  :love:
How about the bottom half, usually these arcade cabinets are a lot higher ^^

Maybe an empty box to stpre a box of beer inside?  ;)
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on May 28, 2017, 08:31:47 pm
I actually don't mind it being smaller because this means it can be put anywhere.
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: Juju on May 28, 2017, 08:47:00 pm
Thanks! Yeah, that's the point actually, I don't really have a lot of space home and it should be easily transportable, so no bottom half if we don't need it.
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: Unicorn on May 30, 2017, 07:37:28 am
mmm smart
this project has got me thinking about my lattepanda and the lakka os that is currently on it... I kinda want to make it more portable now, maybr buy a 12" screen or something :P
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: p2 on May 30, 2017, 08:13:19 am
how about the power supply? If you added a mobile one like a car battery you could pwalk through the streets with it, sit down in the park, and start playing ;D
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: Juju on May 31, 2017, 05:36:36 am
Quote from: Unicorn on May 30, 2017, 07:37:28 am
mmm smart
this project has got me thinking about my lattepanda and the lakka os that is currently on it... I kinda want to make it more portable now, maybr buy a 12" screen or something :P
Isn't that thing like the Raspberry Pi but with a x86? You might want to do some sort of portable Steam Machine if it's powerful enough to run some games on it.

Quote from: p2 on May 30, 2017, 08:13:19 am
how about the power supply? If you added a mobile one like a car battery you could pwalk through the streets with it, sit down in the park, and start playing ;D
That might work. The screen runs on a standard 120V, but the Raspberry Pi, while being sufficiant on 5V, might need at least 2.5A to run at least correctly. Anything less and some components like Wi-Fi and Bluetooth might stop working. On that note, I should check for a proper 2.5A power supply, I only have a 2.1A one and I had to run an Ethernet cable so it could access my ROM collection over the network.
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: Unicorn on May 31, 2017, 06:27:04 am
Quote from: Juju on May 31, 2017, 05:36:36 am
Quote from: Unicorn on May 30, 2017, 07:37:28 am
mmm smart
this project has got me thinking about my lattepanda and the lakka os that is currently on it... I kinda want to make it more portable now, maybr buy a 12" screen or something :P
Isn't that thing like the Raspberry Pi but with a x86? You might want to do some sort of portable Steam Machine if it's powerful enough to run some games on it.
Woah that soudns amazing... cool idea :P

But yeah a 64 bit 4gb pi sized computer
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: c4ooo on June 10, 2017, 04:49:53 pm
Voted for this in the poll cause i appreciate the effort of making the wooden box to hold the raspberry-pi  :thumbsup:
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: Juju on December 13, 2017, 10:54:48 pm
Necroupdate: It now fits snuggly on a corner of my desk, I upgraded the CPU to some 64-bit Pentium dualcore 1.8 GHz I found in the trash one time and it runs directly on RetroArch. Next, should probably change the buttons to better ones (with lights?) and add/print some decals so it looks prettier. Also, optimize the software, of course.
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on December 13, 2017, 11:46:14 pm
And repair it since you said it's broken now? :P
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: Juju on December 14, 2017, 12:24:27 am
That's what I say, I gotta buy new buttons.
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: Juju on April 30, 2018, 09:45:14 pm


Update: Upgraded to slightly better computer that used to run Windows Vista, installed Arch Linux instead with EmulationStation (kinda looks like a RetroPie, I didn't use their setup script but for all intents and purpose it's pretty much more or less the same as RetroPie but with custom scripts), a bunch of libretro cores, other goodies and a ton of games that runs well at 60 fps. It can also run Steam, but the Big Picture mode is insanely laggy, probably need a better graphics card. Oh, and the buttons are gone for the time being, so I'm just using a SNES controller instead.
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: gameblabla on May 11, 2018, 08:38:00 pm
Good thing you switched to Arch Linux. (i would have preferred something like devuan/void linux but it's still better than Vista)
I heard that Lakka runs faster due to it running in KMS mode instead, you might want to give it a try.
Perhaps that could solve your issue with the big screen mode.

At some point, i was attempting to make an arcade thing using Big Attract as the frontend instead but the dude (who built the arcade) never came towards me again....
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: Juju on May 11, 2018, 10:17:24 pm
Yeah, I installed and configured each thing separately and manually (EmulationStation, RetroArch, I even installed Plymouth for a swell startup screen :P), everything runs in KMS mode, early KMS is enabled and it runs as fast as it can. I tried Void at one point, RetroArch isn't running well in x64-musl for some reason but eh, I still prefer Arch.

Additionally, @xlibman bought a new graphic card and we put the old one in the arcade (an NVIDIA GT 710), even if it's a low-end card it really makes a big difference with the Intel integrated graphics, everything runs at 60 FPS and everyone is happy. Only problem is that the proprietary NVIDIA driver doesn't play well with KMS, but the open-source nouveau driver does the job well.
Title: Re: Building an arcade cabinet
Post by: Juju on July 22, 2018, 06:20:02 am
Bit of an update: bought a wireless adapter for Xbox 360 controllers, now I have enough buttons to run Nintendo 64 games (also any other thing that requires more buttons than a SNES controller have) at native resolution, which is way higher resolution than the N64 hardware allowed for. Which is pretty cool. Also improved how I can launch Steam games individually from EmulationStation, cause it somehow hated the SNES controller, but it plays totally fine now that I have a Xbox 360 controller plugged in.