* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: TI-92 cable  (Read 276 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jemons

  • New User
  • Join Date: Aug 2017
  • Location: In my house
  • Posts: 6
  • Post Rating Ratio: +0/-0
    • Gallifrey05
    • @@joshiekt
    • @UC5gUC6RVTobExIzDIKRartQ
TI-92 cable
« on: August 25, 2017, 12:48:54 am »
Does anyone know how to make a TI-92 USB cable or know where to get one for cheap? I want one to update the firmware on my TI-92.  :)


  • Calculators owned: TI-92, TI-82, PS-3960i, PS-6700, HP 48G+, TI-30X IIS, SHARP ELSI MATE EL-1611, SHARP ELSI MATE EL-310M, CASIO FX-300MS, Valentina the Bear...Wait,
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: iPhone 3GS (Broken), iPhone 4S, iPhone 5, iPhone 5Sx2, iPhone 6, iPhone 6S, SNES, NES Classic Edition, PS3, New 2DS XL, New 3DS XL, New 3DS, 3DS XL, 2DS, DSx2, DS Litex4, DSix4, DSi XL, PSPx3, PSVita, Xbox 360x2, Wii U, Wii, Gameboy, Gameboy Pocketx2, Gameboy Colourx2, Gameboy Advance, Gameboy Advance SPx2, Gameboy Micro, Nexus 7 (Broken), iPod Nano (4th, 5th, 6th and 7th generation), iPod Touch (1st and 4th generation), iPod Video (Broken), iPod Shuffle (2nd and 4thx2 generation),
Why are you reading this? Ohhh, right... This is my signature.

Sent from my iPhone

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18878
  • Post Rating Ratio: +99/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: TI-92 cable
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2017, 03:56:11 am »
You will have to buy a Silverlink USB cable from Texas Instruments, preferably on Ebay or something if it's cheaper there.

You cannot upgrade your TI-92, though, unless you got the very rare Plus module attached to your calculator, which basically turns your TI-92 into an hardware revision 1 of the upgradeable TI-92 Plus. All you can do is transfer TI-92 files.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Jemons

  • New User
  • Join Date: Aug 2017
  • Location: In my house
  • Posts: 6
  • Post Rating Ratio: +0/-0
    • Gallifrey05
    • @@joshiekt
    • @UC5gUC6RVTobExIzDIKRartQ
Re: TI-92 cable
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2017, 03:26:58 pm »
You will have to buy a Silverlink USB cable from Texas Instruments, preferably on Ebay or something if it's cheaper there.

You cannot upgrade your TI-92, though, unless you got the very rare Plus module attached to your calculator, which basically turns your TI-92 into an hardware revision 1 of the upgradeable TI-92 Plus. All you can do is transfer TI-92 files.
How do I know if I have the Plus module attached to my calculator?
  • Calculators owned: TI-92, TI-82, PS-3960i, PS-6700, HP 48G+, TI-30X IIS, SHARP ELSI MATE EL-1611, SHARP ELSI MATE EL-310M, CASIO FX-300MS, Valentina the Bear...Wait,
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: iPhone 3GS (Broken), iPhone 4S, iPhone 5, iPhone 5Sx2, iPhone 6, iPhone 6S, SNES, NES Classic Edition, PS3, New 2DS XL, New 3DS XL, New 3DS, 3DS XL, 2DS, DSx2, DS Litex4, DSix4, DSi XL, PSPx3, PSVita, Xbox 360x2, Wii U, Wii, Gameboy, Gameboy Pocketx2, Gameboy Colourx2, Gameboy Advance, Gameboy Advance SPx2, Gameboy Micro, Nexus 7 (Broken), iPod Nano (4th, 5th, 6th and 7th generation), iPod Touch (1st and 4th generation), iPod Video (Broken), iPod Shuffle (2nd and 4thx2 generation),
Why are you reading this? Ohhh, right... This is my signature.

Sent from my iPhone

Offline Lionel Debroux

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 230
  • Post Rating Ratio: +11/-0
    • debrouxl
    • 58/5891
Re: TI-92 cable
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2017, 03:48:06 pm »
You need to open the back of the calculator as if you wanted to, say, change the batteries, which requires moving a piece of plastic on the top (or bottom ?) side to unlock the back. You might then see one of the modules listed at e.g. http://www.datamath.org/Graphing/TI-92_Expansion.htm .

One of the software ways to check whether you have a Plus module should be the availability of "Archive" / "Unarchive" entries in Home -> 2nd -> Var-Link -> F1. If they're missing, then the calculator doesn't seem to provide user-accessible Flash memory.
Member of the TI-Chess Team.
Co-maintainer of GCC4TI (GCC4TI online documentation), TIEmu and TILP.
Co-admin of TI-Planet.

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games