* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Poll

So.... what OS do you use??

Windows 10
Windows 8
Windows 7
Windows XP, Vista or older
Linux
Mac OS
Other

Author Topic: What OS do you use?? (poll)  (Read 2300 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18539
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: What OS do you use?? (poll)
« Reply #45 on: June 07, 2017, 01:43:30 pm »
Would it run well on a first gen i7 PC with 8 GB of RAM?
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Switchblade

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Mar 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 38
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-0
Re: What OS do you use?? (poll)
« Reply #46 on: June 08, 2017, 01:01:22 am »
RemixOS would work best if you booted it from a usb stick on the computer.  I don't know that much about it, but I have found over time that OSs always run slower in virtual box.

Offline gameblabla

  • Super User
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 693
  • Post Rating Ratio: +14/-6
  • TI-nspire porter
Re: What OS do you use?? (poll)
« Reply #47 on: June 08, 2017, 06:15:32 am »
Quote
RemixOS would work best if you booted it from a usb stick on the compute
I can confirm. In fact, i would recommend you install it on a partition.
I was never able to run any virtualisation solutions at decent speed.
The only one that worked, QEMU, has slow graphics and Android-x86/RemixOS still do not support Virgil3D.
Anbox requires systemd and it's still is a proof-of-concept.

Android-x86 when installed on a real PC, is really smooth.
Even using the Intel integrated graphics, it will mostly likely run over a lot of phones in terms of power.
AMD GPUs work best with Android-x86 as the Mesa drivers are supported.

Would it run well on a first gen i7 PC with 8 GB of RAM?
Absolutely, but not through a VM.

« Last Edit: June 08, 2017, 06:18:14 am by gameblabla »
  • Calculators owned: TI Nspire CX, TI-89

Offline Juju

  • aka Yuki Kagayaki aka J̵̭͕͇ù̞̭̝̯̦j̴̭̙̗͖͡ù͏͓̲̕
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Server Maintenance
  • Moderator
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Inside a walrus
  • Posts: 2968
  • Post Rating Ratio: +27/-2
  • Couch potato
    • jul.savard
    • juju2143
    • @juju2143
    • juju2143
    • @julosoft
    • juju-kun
    • /u/juju2143
    • juju2143
    • Juju's shed
  • Gender: Female
  • WalriiPoints: 99999
Re: What OS do you use?? (poll)
« Reply #48 on: June 08, 2017, 06:27:53 am »
I guess it's because VMs emulates a s***-tier graphics card, isn't it? I know you can boost the VRAM in VirtualBox and tick things like 2D acceleration on, have you tried that? I think the VRAM is 16 MB by default, no way Android would work with that.
  • Calculators owned: TI-83+ (dead?), Casio Prizm (also dead???)
YUKI-CHAAAANNNN
In the beginning there was walrii. In the end there will be walrii. All hail our supreme leader :walrii: --Snektron


if you wanna throw money at me and/or CodeWalrus monthly it's here

Offline gameblabla

  • Super User
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 693
  • Post Rating Ratio: +14/-6
  • TI-nspire porter
Re: What OS do you use?? (poll)
« Reply #49 on: June 08, 2017, 06:56:35 am »
I guess it's because VMs emulates a s***-tier graphics card, isn't it?
Yup, and Android-x86/RemixOS do not support Virgil3D so 3D host gpu so you're stuck with crappy graphics.

Quote
I know you can boost the VRAM in VirtualBox and tick things like 2D acceleration on, have you tried that? I think the VRAM is 16 MB by default, no way Android would work with that.
Well, i could not get it to work properly (not with Virtualbox anway). When it did, it was very slow, even with 3D acceleration and increased VRAM.
  • Calculators owned: TI Nspire CX, TI-89

Offline Unicorn

  • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Super User
  • CW Contest II - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Posts: 2813
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-2
  • make :PICKACHUP: a thing!
    • Unicorn808
    • 114/11432
    • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Gender: Male
Re: What OS do you use?? (poll)
« Reply #50 on: June 08, 2017, 08:32:44 am »
I know remix runs really well on a partition, but was wondering if a vm is the right way to go. (vms are to slow in my experience.) Just that sswitching from windows to remix is annoying.
  • Calculators owned: I own all of them: PICKACHUP TI 84+ CSE TI 83+ SE TI something something ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: PICKACHUP ??? ??? ??? ??? ???



??? ??? ??? ??? ???

Offline Juju

  • aka Yuki Kagayaki aka J̵̭͕͇ù̞̭̝̯̦j̴̭̙̗͖͡ù͏͓̲̕
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Server Maintenance
  • Moderator
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Inside a walrus
  • Posts: 2968
  • Post Rating Ratio: +27/-2
  • Couch potato
    • jul.savard
    • juju2143
    • @juju2143
    • juju2143
    • @julosoft
    • juju-kun
    • /u/juju2143
    • juju2143
    • Juju's shed
  • Gender: Female
  • WalriiPoints: 99999
Re: What OS do you use?? (poll)
« Reply #51 on: June 08, 2017, 08:42:55 am »
By experience, most Androids based on Android-x86 don't even need a folder. IIRC you just dump the folder in the root of your Windows partition, then you make the necessary changes in your bootloader.
  • Calculators owned: TI-83+ (dead?), Casio Prizm (also dead???)
YUKI-CHAAAANNNN
In the beginning there was walrii. In the end there will be walrii. All hail our supreme leader :walrii: --Snektron


if you wanna throw money at me and/or CodeWalrus monthly it's here

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games