* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Poll

Do you have x86 or x64 hardware as your main machine?

x86
0 (0%)
x64
20 (100%)

Total Members Voted: 20

Voting closed: July 12, 2017, 06:10:12 pm

Author Topic: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?  (Read 1864 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kotu

  • -< \'V/,,,
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: don't panic
  • Posts: 1160
  • Post Rating Ratio: +7/-11
  • woah
    • dj_kotu
    • @UCAy2ZF4hbc08iStnTn6jgxQ
    • rowanmedhurst
    • @romanov-psyco
    • futurerave.uk
  • Gender: Male
Re: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?
« Reply #15 on: June 28, 2017, 06:29:55 am »
Ok I have changed my vote as the processor which I previously thought was 32-bit, is apparently classed, now, by Windows 10, as 64-bit

A brief look round the web reveals I should indeed be able to install Windows 10 x64..../.
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_10-windows_install/can-my-system-support-64-bit-os/35d0684b-cdd6-40a1-b8eb-26386bcfc902

Also that my motherborard supports 64Gb of RAM.

I am sorely tempted to install x64 Windows 10 and increase my RAM from 4 Gb to 8 Gb. Can't see myself ever needing more than 8 Gb.

Any thoughts / advice??

Cheers!
  • Calculators owned: TI 84+CE-T
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Sega Master System, Sony PlayStation 3
SUBSCRIBE TO THE FUTURERAVE.UK MAILING LIST
http://futurerave.uk

Offline _iPhoenix_

  • Super User
  • Join Date: Mar 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 509
  • Post Rating Ratio: +11/-1
  • █████ ▼ ♪ Best music ♫
    • @dj_iPhoenix
    • @UCytgMNPxAMDsxjimvxHf01w
    • @the-legend-of-iphoenix
  • Gender: Male
Re: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?
« Reply #16 on: June 28, 2017, 12:56:59 pm »
I never use more than half of my 64 gigs of ram, even while doing like 8 things at once.
  • Calculators owned: A sentient TI-84+ CE, TI-85
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: TI-99/4a home computer
Help me with a project by voting here! Thanks!

"walruses are better than tuxedo chickens, all hail the great :walrii:" ~ me

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18876
  • Post Rating Ratio: +99/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?
« Reply #17 on: June 28, 2017, 04:30:58 pm »
64 GB seems kinda overkill. Many people are still fine with 8 GB (I have 8 and use like 55%)
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline _iPhoenix_

  • Super User
  • Join Date: Mar 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 509
  • Post Rating Ratio: +11/-1
  • █████ ▼ ♪ Best music ♫
    • @dj_iPhoenix
    • @UCytgMNPxAMDsxjimvxHf01w
    • @the-legend-of-iphoenix
  • Gender: Male
Re: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?
« Reply #18 on: June 28, 2017, 04:41:35 pm »
Yeah, but gets REALLY nice while doing intensive things.

I just checked, it was actually 32gigs, but that's still overkill.

(So that's why I can only use half of 64 gigs :P)
  • Calculators owned: A sentient TI-84+ CE, TI-85
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: TI-99/4a home computer
Help me with a project by voting here! Thanks!

"walruses are better than tuxedo chickens, all hail the great :walrii:" ~ me

Offline kotu

  • -< \'V/,,,
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: don't panic
  • Posts: 1160
  • Post Rating Ratio: +7/-11
  • woah
    • dj_kotu
    • @UCAy2ZF4hbc08iStnTn6jgxQ
    • rowanmedhurst
    • @romanov-psyco
    • futurerave.uk
  • Gender: Male
Re: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?
« Reply #19 on: June 28, 2017, 11:45:22 pm »
Well, when I am going insane creating things in C++Builder, it sometimes uses as much as 35 Mb of memory

lol

beat that you insane ram heads
  • Calculators owned: TI 84+CE-T
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Sega Master System, Sony PlayStation 3
SUBSCRIBE TO THE FUTURERAVE.UK MAILING LIST
http://futurerave.uk

Offline xMarminq_

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Sep 2016
  • Location: Generic Location
  • Posts: 461
  • Post Rating Ratio: +3/-0
  • Generic Personal Text
    • @UCUWQR30oIW2fRqCNI2IDGIA
  • Gender: Male
Re: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?
« Reply #20 on: June 29, 2017, 12:56:41 am »
108x  ;)

64x For real
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84 Plus CE, Ti-84 Plus (can be borrowed from my school)
I don't associate with associations

Offline kotu

  • -< \'V/,,,
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: don't panic
  • Posts: 1160
  • Post Rating Ratio: +7/-11
  • woah
    • dj_kotu
    • @UCAy2ZF4hbc08iStnTn6jgxQ
    • rowanmedhurst
    • @romanov-psyco
    • futurerave.uk
  • Gender: Male
Re: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?
« Reply #21 on: June 29, 2017, 12:59:46 am »
that is lazy typing
  • Calculators owned: TI 84+CE-T
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Sega Master System, Sony PlayStation 3
SUBSCRIBE TO THE FUTURERAVE.UK MAILING LIST
http://futurerave.uk

Offline xMarminq_

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Sep 2016
  • Location: Generic Location
  • Posts: 461
  • Post Rating Ratio: +3/-0
  • Generic Personal Text
    • @UCUWQR30oIW2fRqCNI2IDGIA
  • Gender: Male
Re: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?
« Reply #22 on: June 29, 2017, 01:00:25 am »
'Tis this  ;D
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84 Plus CE, Ti-84 Plus (can be borrowed from my school)
I don't associate with associations

Offline kotu

  • -< \'V/,,,
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: don't panic
  • Posts: 1160
  • Post Rating Ratio: +7/-11
  • woah
    • dj_kotu
    • @UCAy2ZF4hbc08iStnTn6jgxQ
    • rowanmedhurst
    • @romanov-psyco
    • futurerave.uk
  • Gender: Male
Re: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?
« Reply #23 on: June 29, 2017, 05:18:05 am »
wl mmmm omg
  • Calculators owned: TI 84+CE-T
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Sega Master System, Sony PlayStation 3
SUBSCRIBE TO THE FUTURERAVE.UK MAILING LIST
http://futurerave.uk

Offline _iPhoenix_

  • Super User
  • Join Date: Mar 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 509
  • Post Rating Ratio: +11/-1
  • █████ ▼ ♪ Best music ♫
    • @dj_iPhoenix
    • @UCytgMNPxAMDsxjimvxHf01w
    • @the-legend-of-iphoenix
  • Gender: Male
Re: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?
« Reply #24 on: June 29, 2017, 06:05:54 am »
Well, when I am going insane creating things in C++Builder, it sometimes uses as much as 35 Mb of memory

lol

beat that you insane ram heads

When I am streaming video, playing 2 video games, programming, posting, ti-connecting, and composing all in one session, RAM is useful.
  • Calculators owned: A sentient TI-84+ CE, TI-85
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: TI-99/4a home computer
Help me with a project by voting here! Thanks!

"walruses are better than tuxedo chickens, all hail the great :walrii:" ~ me

Offline kotu

  • -< \'V/,,,
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: don't panic
  • Posts: 1160
  • Post Rating Ratio: +7/-11
  • woah
    • dj_kotu
    • @UCAy2ZF4hbc08iStnTn6jgxQ
    • rowanmedhurst
    • @romanov-psyco
    • futurerave.uk
  • Gender: Male
Re: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?
« Reply #25 on: June 29, 2017, 06:07:56 am »
i tend to do things in turn, tbh i dont even understand what you said
  • Calculators owned: TI 84+CE-T
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Sega Master System, Sony PlayStation 3
SUBSCRIBE TO THE FUTURERAVE.UK MAILING LIST
http://futurerave.uk

Offline _iPhoenix_

  • Super User
  • Join Date: Mar 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 509
  • Post Rating Ratio: +11/-1
  • █████ ▼ ♪ Best music ♫
    • @dj_iPhoenix
    • @UCytgMNPxAMDsxjimvxHf01w
    • @the-legend-of-iphoenix
  • Gender: Male
Re: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?
« Reply #26 on: June 29, 2017, 06:10:08 am »
I tend to just leave things running.

So I'll be in the middle of say, a post, and feel really inspired and go program something, then decide that I want to take a break and play a game, but I'll forget to close the window.
  • Calculators owned: A sentient TI-84+ CE, TI-85
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: TI-99/4a home computer
Help me with a project by voting here! Thanks!

"walruses are better than tuxedo chickens, all hail the great :walrii:" ~ me

Offline kotu

  • -< \'V/,,,
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: don't panic
  • Posts: 1160
  • Post Rating Ratio: +7/-11
  • woah
    • dj_kotu
    • @UCAy2ZF4hbc08iStnTn6jgxQ
    • rowanmedhurst
    • @romanov-psyco
    • futurerave.uk
  • Gender: Male
Re: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?
« Reply #27 on: June 29, 2017, 12:04:11 pm »
me and rob are have just realised we have been working on 2 remixes of a tune at once, reason is using just over 200 megabytes.

PLEASE DON'T STAB ME


btw guys mateo uses 64 gig at once and a million dollar array of HDDs as his swap file

just from looking at games

NICE HACK
COOL PROGRAM MATEO


FAIR PLAY


COOL FRIEND
  • Calculators owned: TI 84+CE-T
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Sega Master System, Sony PlayStation 3
SUBSCRIBE TO THE FUTURERAVE.UK MAILING LIST
http://futurerave.uk

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games