* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: TI-Disconnect Stories  (Read 512 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 123outerme

  • Super User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: In spaaace! Well, the Earth is anyhow.
  • Posts: 665
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-0
  • Professional Unpaid Intern
    • 123outerme
    • 113/11355
  • Gender: Male
TI-Disconnect Stories
« on: February 11, 2017, 09:36:48 pm »
Share your TI-Disconnect stories here!

I was trying to send a program to my calc, so I had it queued up in the software's Send to Device window, and was about to send it when I noticed an issue with my program. I quickly fixed it (modifying the program), and got an error saying it couldn't send. I just retried, since I expected that from TI-Connect, and it sent. However, I looked over at my calc minutes later, and the screen was full of garbage data! It was extremely weird. I reset the calc and tried to turn it on, but every time it just froze with two little pixels on. I realized that I had to resend the OS since it probably got corrupted, so thankfully I did and that fixed it.
TL;DR: TI-Connect corrupted my OS with a simple task O.O


  • Calculators owned: TI-84+CSE, TI-nspire Clickpad, TI-84+SE

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18806
  • Post Rating Ratio: +98/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: TI-Disconnect Stories
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2017, 03:43:55 am »
Tried to backup my Illusiat 2004-R progress (english translation of Illusiat 2004 pack, along with improvements) by grouping the files then sending them to my PC with TI-Connect. The result: Both the calculator groups and the PC backup got corrupted. Lost everything as a result.

Also, TI-Connect (not the CE version) erases the swap sector on every connect attempt IIRC. It also inspires itself from Microsoft by using "Cancel" buttons that takes 40 seconds to cancel.

Your story is kinda scary O.O
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Unicorn

  • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Super User
  • CW Contest II - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Posts: 2823
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-2
  • make :PICKACHUP: a thing!
    • Unicorn808
    • 114/11432
    • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Gender: Male
Re: TI-Disconnect Stories
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2017, 08:03:59 am »
and that is why i use... tilp! :thumbsup:
  • Calculators owned: I own all of them: PICKACHUP TI 84+ CSE TI 83+ SE TI something something ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: PICKACHUP ??? ??? ??? ??? ???



??? ??? ??? ??? ???

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games