* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: MOS: A game that has been in development for 3 years.  (Read 802 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online c4ooo

  • ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
  • Super User
  • CW Contest II Winner
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: 127.0.0.1
  • Posts: 917
  • Post Rating Ratio: +9/-2
  • ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
"And" is the bitwise function, you want to use the shorts circuit '?' Instead:
x>(z*8 )+8?x+8<(z*8 )?y>z?y<3
However, your real problem seems to be that you don't understand Order of operations ;)
Axe does everything left to right, so x>(z*8 )+8 checks to see if x is bigger then z*8, and then adds 8 to that true/false value. You want to rewrite it as z+1*8<x or something. (z+1*8 'should' be more optimized then z*8+8 )

Online DJ Omnimaga

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Topic Management
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18256
  • Post Rating Ratio: +91/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Ideally it's a good idea to make separate topics for programming help, for maximum visibility. I can't help, though, since I haven't touched Axe in years and was never successful in doing map-based collision detection with it. I wish you good luck, though. But yeah, as c4ooo said, order of operation is different in Axe compared to BASIC and ICE. In addition to that, you need to be careful with signed/unsigned integers (I think for example that -1 becomes 65535)
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)
??? ??? ??? ???

Offline mazhat

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Mar 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 91
  • Post Rating Ratio: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Thanks for the advice, c4ooo

Unfortunetly I know about the arithmetic and it doesn't work one way or another :^(
I even mass used parenthesis to bypass order of operations.

Now I've scrapped the old collision to work on an old school western rpg (wasteland) . It's tilebased movement (like uvutu).

Sorry for the hassel guys, I just can't persevere when I can barely indentify the problem.
  • Calculators owned: TI-83Plus, TI-84Plus
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung TAB A (Cheap), DSI, Rasperry PI 3

Offline mazhat

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Mar 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 91
  • Post Rating Ratio: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Update: The problem has seemed to sorted itself out, I guess it was my fault after all. I'm sorry Axe, I never meant to hurt you.

Anyway, I now need a good way to store and compress maps!
Also there's no dynamic memory in Axe right? (std::vector equivalent)
  • Calculators owned: TI-83Plus, TI-84Plus
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung TAB A (Cheap), DSI, Rasperry PI 3

Online DJ Omnimaga

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Topic Management
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18256
  • Post Rating Ratio: +91/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
By dynamic memory, do you mean like with pointers? Because Axe supports pointers.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)
??? ??? ??? ???

Offline mazhat

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Mar 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 91
  • Post Rating Ratio: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Not quite, DJ.
In C++ we have a template called std::vector*
It's an array that can grow or shrink! To give you a more hands on example:
Vectors help to spawn and de-spawn enemies and items,
otherwise I have to hard code the enemies into the game.**

Trivial info:
1) *Despite the confusing name, it is not a physics vector. Strange nomenclature!
2) **Unless a sexy smarty pants figured out a way to do this without vectors.
3) Sometimes I write too much stuff, so I made this optional-to-read "Trivial Info" section! I hope you like it, it's in beta!
  • Calculators owned: TI-83Plus, TI-84Plus
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung TAB A (Cheap), DSI, Rasperry PI 3

Online c4ooo

  • ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
  • Super User
  • CW Contest II Winner
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: 127.0.0.1
  • Posts: 917
  • Post Rating Ratio: +9/-2
  • ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Also there's no dynamic memory in Axe right?
There is no abstraction in axe for dynamic variables. You have plenty of free ram areas though, and if you ever run out, you can use GetCalc("prgmTEMP",size) to allocate your self some more free ram.

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games