CodeWalrus

CodeWalrus Website => Game, Software and Music Downloads => Games => Topic started by: Keoni29 on November 22, 2014, 11:15:53 PM

Title: [TI-83+/84+] Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on November 22, 2014, 11:15:53 PM
Hero Core
TIMID - Compatible (http://8times8.host56.com/?p=98)
By keoni29 (PC original by Daniel Remar)

About:
Daniel Remar, the creator of the PC original, said it was all right to port his game and he'd like to see it on a calculator.
That was back in 2011 and my Hero Core port is still not finished :-[ I recently started working on it again. This video shows what progress I have made.


(http://updo.nl/file/a6c8b261.jpg)


To do:

- Health, injure & overheat (100%)
- Blade (cut away dirt and pipes that are in the way)(100%)
- New tile system (100%)
- TestWorld (25%)
- Enemies & AI (70%)
- Bosses (10%)
- Player controls (80%)
- Pause screen w/ map and settings (40%)
- Tile graphics (80%)
- World map (10%)
- Music  (music only for soundchip users)
- Soundeffects from the I/O port (60%)
- Events, doors etc. (0%)
- Map screen (50%)
- Save progress (0%)

Features for upcoming build:
+ Sound effects enabled (it was in the previous build, but they were not enabled)
+ New tile-system allowing for some optimizations and easier expansion of the tileset
+ New tiles including: Doors, Barriers
+ New animated tiles: Liquid metal cascade
+ Weapon and shield upgrade pickups
+ Collision checking for tiles in adjacent rooms prevents you from getting stuck in solid tiles that are in another room. It also allows for some pretty interesting level design. (e.g. one-way passageways with destructable tiles)
+ Larger test world to contain it all
* Fixed memory leak which was causing ram clears.
* Fixed animation bug

Download newest version (http://codewalr.us/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=41.0;attach=40)
Title: Re: [83p/84p] Hero Core
Post by: pimathbrainiac on November 22, 2014, 11:30:46 PM
Nice as always. Do you think you are going to rewrite the code to TIMID now that arTICL is out?
Title: Re: [83p/84p] Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on November 22, 2014, 11:42:23 PM
I will not be using arTICL because I suspect it is a lot slower than the protocol TIMID uses. The calculator shifts out data via the linkport to the arduino and the arduino translates received bytes into sounds. I have not written a proper music player yet because I am focussing on getting the core engine done at the moment.
Title: Re: [83p/84p] Hero Core
Post by: pimathbrainiac on November 22, 2014, 11:54:19 PM
Ah okay. Good to know. I'll try to rebuild my TIMID when I have the chance to test stuff out.
Title: Re: [83p/84p] Hero Core
Post by: Dream of Omnimaga on November 23, 2014, 05:01:39 AM
I was glad when I saw this was revived. It's really awesome and when I played it I was even more impressed, especially that stereo sound effect. The sounds reminds me a bit of Atari material, but they fits perfectly with the graphics you use.

Hopefully you can add music for 15 MHz calcs without requiring extra hardware. :)
Title: Re: [83p/84p] Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on November 23, 2014, 09:30:35 AM
I might have stated this somewhere already: the whole game runs at 6MHz as of right now. I posted a topic on omni regarding interrupt-driven sound, but I have not got a single reply yet. I might ask calc84 about it.
Title: Re: [83p/84p] Hero Core
Post by: Dream of Omnimaga on November 23, 2014, 12:03:37 PM
Aah ok. Does the 6 MHz mode supports sound at all?
Title: Re: [83p/84p] Hero Core
Post by: novenary on November 23, 2014, 12:31:37 PM
Hmmm I should totally build a TIMID too. There's an electronics store next to my place that carries Arduinos (though they're kind of expensive but here taxes on electronics are insane).

Nice to see some progress too. :)
Title: Re: [83p/84p] Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on November 23, 2014, 03:14:50 PM
This will work on an Arduino Nano as well. Those are dirt-cheap, but they often use fake Serial->Usb chips, so they might not always work as expected.
Title: Re: [83p/84p] Hero Core
Post by: novenary on November 23, 2014, 04:32:27 PM
Ah nice. I might even be able to port my GameCube modchip to that and free up my raspberry pi for other things lol (and not have stuff hanging outside the back of my GC :P).
Title: Re: [83p/84p] Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on November 23, 2014, 05:44:50 PM
I am working on the new tiles system at the moment. I added a ton of new animated tiles. There's this annoying bug that breaks the animation: it does not display the right tiles and it only animates 1 frame. Once I have figured out why and fixed it I can move on to doing other stuff.

Next I want to implement doors that open when a room is cleared.

Edit: Tiles are animated correctly now :D Now I just have to modify some bits of code to make the cut ability work again.
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Dream of Omnimaga on November 24, 2014, 03:17:35 PM
Good luck! Btw how hard is it to only animated a part of a tilemap? I always wondered if the tileset needed the exact same amount of frames for each tile than the animated ones to avoid slowdowns?
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on November 24, 2014, 06:00:51 PM
With the old tile system all animated tiles had the same number of frames and all other tiles just had 1 tile. With the new system you can set the animation length of each tile in the set.

I draw the non-animated tiles once on the back buffer and I just copy that to the front buffer every frame. The animated tiles and sprites are drawn on top. This saves me a clrdraw and a lot of tile drawing.
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Dream of Omnimaga on November 24, 2014, 06:08:27 PM
Ah right I see now. With all tiles having the same number of frames this can waste a crapload of space for nothing. This is why I was always relunctant about using animated tiles in my games before. Does your new way slow things down though?

Also off-topic, but one image in your first post is broken. If I try accessing it it gives an error on Omni saying I am not allowed to access this section. Is it copied from a very old post with broken Omni ID links? SMF can be annoying with attachmeents sometimes when a topic gets moved or the ID changes.
Quote from: keoni29 on November 22, 2014, 11:15:53 PM
Hero Core
(http://tinyurl.com/orcpbkp) (http://8times8.host56.com/?p=98)
By keoni29 (PC original by Daniel Remar)
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on November 24, 2014, 06:17:26 PM
I don't think it slows it down much since I only update animated tiles once every 8 frames and not all tiles are animated. It uses very few cycles compared to redrawing the entire room every frame.

Quote from: DJ Omnimaga on November 24, 2014, 06:08:27 PM

Also off-topic, but one image in your first post is broken. If I try accessing it it gives an error on Omni saying I am not allowed to access this section. Is it copied from a very old post with broken Omni ID links? SMF can be annoying with attachmeents sometimes when a topic gets moved or the ID changes.
Oh that must have been something to do with timid compatibility. I put text there instead. If we use images/links to omnimaga they can see codewalr.us in the access logs by the way :P
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Dream of Omnimaga on November 24, 2014, 07:45:02 PM
Oh I see now, and yeah I usually try to avoid linking there (at least until somewhere in early December when we start being less careful :P) or any other big site for now, since they tend to check their logs a lot. I don't mind using img.ourl.ca though, now that I know that only Soru is in charge, because he is aware that there is a new site going on (he is against it, though).
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: pimathbrainiac on November 24, 2014, 07:48:51 PM
And he won't help me set up post notifiers :P

Anyway, any more progress?
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Dream of Omnimaga on November 24, 2014, 07:52:57 PM
For post notifications we could always find some alternatives. Besides, juju setup OmnomIRC on two different forums before and he even modded it so that both forums use the same instance of OmnomIRC (same database even) simultaneously. I'm fairly sure that he might know how to setup a post notifier, else you can always either do it via a custom SMF mod like Netham did at first or via using the RSS feed (but it won't work until the site becomes visible to guests).

I might have an idea, though...
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on November 24, 2014, 07:56:38 PM
I have not been able to do anything today because of school. I have most of the day off tomorrow, so expect some updates.
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on November 29, 2014, 01:04:30 PM
I found out that the interrupts were causing the memory leak. I disabled them for now, but I will come back to that later. The newest test build is finally  here!

Run in DCS

What's new?
+ A huge 9x9 room world map to explore.
+ Collision checking for tiles in adjacent rooms prevents you from getting stuck in solid tiles that are in another room.
+ New tile system that allows for rapid expansion of the tile set
+ Added lots of new tiles + animated tiles
+ Added barriers (cannot be disabled yet)
+ Added doors (cannot be opened yet)
+ Added items (cannot be picked up yet)

+ Split up AI into modules, so new AI can be made by combining modules (example: Reaver = spew + drone)
+ New enemies! Blomb, Reaver
+ Enemies now face towards you

+ Sound can be enabled from the menu

+ Small graphics tweaks

* Tons of bugfixes

Be sure to let me know if you find any bugs!
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Dream of Omnimaga on November 29, 2014, 07:08:04 PM
Awesome! Gonna check this tonight. :D (if I don't crash in bed before you guys do). As for interrupts, any luck with interrupt-based music?
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on November 29, 2014, 09:32:46 PM
I released this build and went on to do some other things. I will continue to work on this game next week.
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Duke "Tape" Eiyeron on November 30, 2014, 08:46:54 AM
No e work! I should install again till to test it!
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: novenary on November 30, 2014, 09:40:57 AM
Downloaded. I'm gonna load it on my calc today. :)
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on November 30, 2014, 01:42:48 PM
Version A3.1
Bug fixed: Cut ability sometimes does not work.
New feature: Reduced max number of enemies on screen south-east part of the world map (makes it a lot easier not to die all the time).
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: pimathbrainiac on November 30, 2014, 02:44:29 PM
Cool beans! I'll download when I find my mini USB cable!
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: novenary on November 30, 2014, 03:06:31 PM
OK so I messed with it for like 5 minutes and it seems to run great so far ! :D Great job Keoni.

I hope to match you awesomeness one day.
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Dream of Omnimaga on December 01, 2014, 07:01:29 AM
Ok I downloaded the new version now. Hopefully I am not too exhausted tomorrow and can try it.  :)
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Duke "Tape" Eiyeron on December 01, 2014, 07:20:51 AM
Quote from: Streetwalrus on November 30, 2014, 03:06:31 PM
OK so I messed with it for like 5 minutes and it seems to run great so far ! :D Great job Keoni.

I hope to match you awesomeness one day.

Why not giving a link to big gamen news sites? With a bit of luck that'll get too some spotlight!
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Dream of Omnimaga on December 01, 2014, 07:44:06 AM
That would probably be an idea to submit it there, although it probably depends of how popular Hero Core is, outside the community. The main selling point of this game outside the calculator community is the sound feature, so before submitting it anywhere it would help if the game was mostly finished and that the sound feature was pushed to its limit (eg music that has at least 2 channels or sounds like old Z80 computer games). Normally big sites only promote calc games that are technical achievements and in some rare cases, unexpected remakes of very popular franchises (eg XXR, SSB, Wolfeinstein, nDoom and Portal).


Also I doubt giving a link to big news site right now would be a good idea anyway, considering this site is invisible to guests. :P
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on December 01, 2014, 08:12:11 AM
In order to make TIMID music work I have to do 2 things:
1. Make interrupts not corrupt ram.
2. Write a midi → my file format converter.
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Dream of Omnimaga on December 01, 2014, 08:15:51 AM
Do you think you would be able to support music that doesn't require external hardware by the way (even if quickly alternating between notes to mimic multi-channel like in some c64 songs)? The thing is that other big sites will be more likely to feature it if it pushes the hardware to its limits without external assistance. Also more people would be able to use that feature.

TIMID support would be nice, though, for those who are willing to build the extra equipment for the resulting enhanced music.
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on December 01, 2014, 10:19:56 AM
Can't do. It would make the game sluggish and unplayable.
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Dream of Omnimaga on December 01, 2014, 03:57:13 PM
What about making such feature only work on 15 MHz models?

Also I think this was the 1000th post O.O
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Duke "Tape" Eiyeron on December 01, 2014, 04:37:37 PM
That could be a bad move for the guys who only have 83... By the way, what's TIMID?
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on December 01, 2014, 05:12:06 PM
I could try that. I will ask calc84 if I can use his music engine from steins gate 8bit.

TIMID is a sound device that hooks up to the linkport of a calculator. It's basically an arduino with a SID soundchip emulator on it.
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Duke "Tape" Eiyeron on December 01, 2014, 05:24:50 PM
Oooh, I want one! Is there a tracker TIMID compatible or something in the looks? Actually that was one of the things I thought when figuring how the game including HBE could be done, a link port including a little soundchip which would read sound stream from a SD card.
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on December 01, 2014, 06:11:45 PM
There was one in the works, but I am not actively working on it. I might pick that up again when I finish Hero Core (or if the Midi converter does not work out I'll have to make the tracker to create the music for Hero Core)
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Duke "Tape" Eiyeron on December 01, 2014, 06:14:26 PM
If I had the skills in electronics I'd be more than happy to help you, alas... :/
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: novenary on December 01, 2014, 06:18:01 PM
Well the tracker isn't a hardware issue. :P You just need to write an Axe GUI. :)
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Duke "Tape" Eiyeron on December 01, 2014, 06:21:20 PM
Graphical User Interface? WHere do I sign? Could I have a prototype to test the thing with?
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on December 01, 2014, 06:58:24 PM
Quote from: Streetwalrus on December 01, 2014, 06:18:01 PM
Well the tracker isn't a hardware issue. :P You just need to write an Axe GUI. :)
I have written a barebones tracker interface as well as the spi communication protocol for communicating with the chip. I don't remember how much of it works already tho.
If anyone wants to continue working on that I would highly appreciate :)

Quote from: Eiyeron on December 01, 2014, 06:21:20 PM
Graphical User Interface? WHere do I sign? Could I have a prototype to test the thing with?
I don't have any spares, but this will work on any arduino based on the ATmega168 or 328 chip, so you can get yourself one of those to test it with.
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Duke "Tape" Eiyeron on December 01, 2014, 07:38:14 PM
Do you have a site where I could get them cheaper than on the official site without cutting off the quality?
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: novenary on December 01, 2014, 07:45:15 PM
http://eBay.com :P
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Duke "Tape" Eiyeron on December 01, 2014, 07:50:50 PM
And whitout going by eBay? (I'm bit confident about this site... We had bad experiences in the family)
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on December 01, 2014, 08:06:49 PM
http://www.dx.com/p/arduino-nano-v3-0-81877
This is an arduino-compatible board with a very small form-factor. It's 42% off right now :D
Deal extreme is pretty reliable. They're a big company as opposed to the small resellers on ebay.
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: novenary on December 01, 2014, 11:48:30 PM
Yeah DX is good too, but shipping is veeeeeery slow (unless you wanna pay for the shipping but it's a deal breaker lol :P).
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Dream of Omnimaga on December 02, 2014, 12:22:24 AM
Quote from: Eiyeron on December 01, 2014, 04:37:37 PM
That could be a bad move for the guys who only have 83... By the way, what's TIMID?
Not really. It's possible to detect the calc model at game start and simply disable the option to turn music on on 6 MHz models. It won't prevent the game fron running on the 83+
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Duke "Tape" Eiyeron on December 02, 2014, 05:38:38 AM
DJ, that doesn't change anything to what I wanted to say : they won't be able to run a neat feature that is music! :/
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on December 02, 2014, 08:22:10 AM
I can't please everyone :P I am not sure how much load calc84's engine puts on the cpu, but if it's low enough I might be able to run it on 6MHz and perhaps skip frames.
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Dream of Omnimaga on December 02, 2014, 08:32:48 AM
Quote from: Eiyeron on December 02, 2014, 05:38:38 AM
DJ, that doesn't change anything to what I wanted to say : they won't be able to run a neat feature that is music! :/
Oh ok I thought you meant the game wouldn't run at all on the calc. >.<


Anyway good luck Keoni29!

EDIT: On a side note I tried the game again just now and one suggestion I got is to make sure that enemies won't respawn right next to you. Perhaps ensure that they always spawn at least 3 tiles away from you or something. Else it kinda sucks when you get hit immediately when entering a new room. >.<
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on December 02, 2014, 09:45:10 AM
There is a 2 tile border around the room where enemies cannot spawn.
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Dream of Omnimaga on December 02, 2014, 02:39:32 PM
Ah ok, but maybe you could make it so that where they spawn is split into 4 quadrants or something and they always spawn in one of the two opposite quadrants (unless there's no room for enemies to spawn, in which case it would make them spawn like they do right now).
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on December 03, 2014, 10:15:36 AM
Found a video. This is where the tracker is at now. It uses hardware LCD scrolling. I had to add a lot of delay, cause otherwise it would scroll really fast. You only have to redraw one row of text at the top or bottom of the screen to update.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=St77awK2mGs
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Duke "Tape" Eiyeron on December 03, 2014, 11:25:15 AM
Yeah, z-addressing is a neat trick that allow us to optimize quite a few things! I love this trick!

Nice UI, I hope this can fit into my 84 and that I'll be able to test if I can make bleeps on it! :thumbsup:
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Dream of Omnimaga on December 03, 2014, 01:23:51 PM
Oh that's nice so far. I can't wait to hear it in action. :)
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on December 19, 2014, 07:51:09 AM
I am looking for a way to edit the world map. I made the current map in gamemaker, but it has given me issues. Does anyone know a tilemap editor that can export to a file?
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Dream of Omnimaga on December 19, 2014, 07:55:55 AM
Oh lol I didn't realize you did like me in the way you use a game engine for totally different purposes XD. I use RPG Maker 2003 to make SWL maps, then switch to a different tileset then convert the result into a smaller PNG for map data. But I am lucky cuz HP PPL lets me use pixel test on multiple pixel colors, so that helps.

Other than that I only know of Mappy and TokenIDE. Mappy does not export to calc format but it export to files. TokenIDE exports to xLIBC IIRC, but I guess you can write a converter.

In Mappy you can also import screenshots of your maps then edit them or vice-versa. That software is horribly buggy and lacks an undo function, though, so save very, very often.
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on December 19, 2014, 08:03:06 AM
I can write a converter to convert map data to my appvar format, so that is not a problem.
The world map is gonna be 99*64 tiles large, so the editor should support this size.
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Dream of Omnimaga on December 19, 2014, 05:22:02 PM
Wow that's quite nice. It should be fine with sich size, tho
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on December 29, 2014, 10:49:05 AM
Quote from: Eiyeron on December 03, 2014, 11:25:15 AM
Yeah, z-addressing is a neat trick that allow us to optimize quite a few things! I love this trick!

Nice UI, I hope this can fit into my 84 and that I'll be able to test if I can make bleeps on it! :thumbsup:
Did you find some spare time to work on the tracker yet?
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Duke "Tape" Eiyeron on December 29, 2014, 11:27:23 AM
I just got free time today. Family travels and meetings. I'm fed up with these already for the next years to come.
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Dream of Omnimaga on December 29, 2014, 02:27:41 PM
Just 1 hour of travel/family meeting and you're tired of them already? *.* Just kidding. Actually this tracker would be nice since it would make it easier for Keoni to make Herocore music. Would the music require special hardware like the SID chip, by the way?
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: novenary on December 29, 2014, 09:39:51 PM
Iirc the tracker is made for the timid chip (which can be built for cheap).
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Dream of Omnimaga on December 30, 2014, 06:11:24 AM
Aah ok. I was wondering because the issue is that many people live in remote areas where getting parts is hard and some might not be enough into calcs to devote extra money and effort to buy a special chip for a calculator game. It would be nice, though.

Heck, maybe one day Keoni29 could do like Tangrs with his Nspire dock connector thing and sell TI add-ons that fits in all Flash Z80 models :D
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: novenary on December 30, 2014, 07:59:50 PM
Hmmm I heard selling kits is a pain, pre assembled products even more because you need to actually assemble it. :P So yeah unless Keoni wants to get himself into this I don't think it will happen.
Besides getting your hands on an arduino (even a cheap clone) is pretty easy. You're extremely unlucky if you can't.
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Duke "Tape" Eiyeron on December 30, 2014, 08:02:13 PM
Even I got one, it's actually easy to get them. I got some neat nano clones on dx.com if you feel lazy to search.
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: novenary on December 30, 2014, 08:26:11 PM
Yeah ebay is a good source too. I only have a raspberry pi but I also want an Arduino and an fpga board. The raspi is currently occupied with my gamecube tho. :P
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Dream of Omnimaga on December 31, 2014, 05:06:53 AM
Quote from: Streetwalrus on December 30, 2014, 07:59:50 PM
Hmmm I heard selling kits is a pain, pre assembled products even more because you need to actually assemble it. :P So yeah unless Keoni wants to get himself into this I don't think it will happen.
Besides getting your hands on an arduino (even a cheap clone) is pretty easy. You're extremely unlucky if you can't.
Indeed. Just see how long it is taking before Pier Solar reprint gets shipped. I pre-ordered it 2 years ago and it's still being delayed today (although most copies are now assembled). Also if TI ever changes the calculator case then he needs to redo the mold so that it still fits.


Also Keoni happens to live outside United States, so getting the required parts shipped to him will cost much more than if he lived in the Land of Free Shipping Stores of 'Murica.
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on December 31, 2014, 09:00:08 AM
Thats why I decided to use the arduino for this. It is widely available and a lot of people already own one.
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Dream of Omnimaga on December 31, 2014, 08:37:18 PM
I don't even think the local gadget stores have them, but again we never know. I avoid them lately because they went onto a pressure sales tactic rampage (like 5 times worse than expensive clothing stores)
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on December 31, 2014, 08:55:25 PM
Learning SDL so I can write a level editor in C++ :D
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: novenary on January 01, 2015, 10:12:40 AM
Nice ! Are you going to release the editor so that we can make custom levels ? That would add some replay value to the game. :)
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on January 01, 2015, 10:29:24 AM
Yes, that was the plan. I the source is available on my github page: http://github.com/keoni29/cedit
I would like to play user-submitted levels so I can explorer unknown worlds myself as well.
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Dream of Omnimaga on January 02, 2015, 07:12:48 AM
Good luck with the level editor Keoni29.It would definitively be a big plus. :) (providing that the game comes out)


Maybe I could try to port Metroid Evolution maps to Herocore :trollface:
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on January 02, 2015, 08:31:08 AM
That would be cool :) I decided to write the editor in c++ because object oriented and stuff. The editor blocks: rooms, world map and tile picker are all objects.
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Dream of Omnimaga on January 03, 2015, 08:09:00 AM
How bigs can maps be, by the way? Also do you have support for Undo (with multiple levels)? One annoyance in Mappy was the lack of an Undo feature (seriously, when even Notepad can single-level-undo and another computer editor software can't, there is a serious problem)
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on January 03, 2015, 08:19:24 AM
The limit is the calculator's flash memory. A world file is about w*h*88 so a 9*8 map is 6336 bytes large. Hero Core itself is about 12k at the moment. There will also be optional music files that need to fit in archive and a savefile. In the appvar the world width is specified, so arbitrary world sizes can be used.

I'd like to add an undo feature. With stacks in c++ this should be really easy to make. Every time you place a tile the coordinates and old tile id will be pushed onto the stack. To revert an action it's a matter of popping it back from the stack and placing it back in the buffer.
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Dream of Omnimaga on January 03, 2015, 08:23:57 AM
Aah I see. I was wondering in case I ever made a custom map one day and went a bit overboard like in Metroid II: Evolution/Last Chozo :P

(http://xlib.mtv-music-generator.com/metroidmap.gif)
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Keoni29 on January 03, 2015, 08:33:38 AM
Worlds are not interconnected areas, but a square consisting of rooms just like the original Hero Core.
Title: Re: Hero Core
Post by: Dream of Omnimaga on January 03, 2015, 08:47:40 AM
Actually it was technically the case in Metroid II too. But when moving from one room to another, you would still see the edge of each room in the first and last row/columns of the current map, so instead of moving 12 tiles left/right it was 11 and instead of 8 tiles up/down it was 7. That was unless you went through an hatch. This is why the map above has such weird layout.