* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Poll

Do you have x86 or x64 hardware as your main machine?

x86
0 (0%)
x64
20 (100%)

Total Members Voted: 20

Voting closed: July 12, 2017, 06:10:12 pm

Author Topic: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?  (Read 2039 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kotu

  • -< \'V/,,,
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: don't panic
  • Posts: 1160
  • Post Rating Ratio: +7/-11
  • woah
    • dj_kotu
    • @UCAy2ZF4hbc08iStnTn6jgxQ
    • rowanmedhurst
    • @romanov-psyco
    • futurerave.uk
  • Gender: Male
Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?
« on: April 13, 2017, 06:10:12 pm »
This poll will run for 90 days.


  • Calculators owned: TI 84+CE-T
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Sega Master System, Sony PlayStation 3
SUBSCRIBE TO THE FUTURERAVE.UK MAILING LIST
http://futurerave.uk

Offline Snektron

  • Lvl 69 Russian Snake
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Posts: 3165
  • Post Rating Ratio: +32/-0
  • SSSssssss.....
    • RobinDeWalvis
    • Kzyrox
    • RobinDeWalvis
    • quantuminfinity
  • Gender: Male
Re: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2017, 06:42:37 pm »
if you still run 32-bit you must have not upgraded since 2007
  • Calculators owned: TI-84+
Legends say if you spam more than DJ Omnimaga, you will become a walrus...


Offline Streetwalrus

  • Professional slacker
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Israel
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
  • ƎW∀⅁ ƎH⊥
  • Gender: Male
Re: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2017, 06:44:26 pm »
Yeah, pretty much. I still have a Pentium 4 rig, but I never use it.
  • Calculators owned: TI-80, HP 40G, TI-84 Plus rev G (yay 128k RAM), TI-83 Plus Silver Edition (broken LCD), TI-82 Stats.fr (black), TI-Nspire CX rev C (yay Nlaunchy), TI-83+ SE ViewScreen



Offline kotu

  • -< \'V/,,,
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: don't panic
  • Posts: 1160
  • Post Rating Ratio: +7/-11
  • woah
    • dj_kotu
    • @UCAy2ZF4hbc08iStnTn6jgxQ
    • rowanmedhurst
    • @romanov-psyco
    • futurerave.uk
  • Gender: Male
Re: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2017, 06:46:28 pm »
if you still run 32-bit you must have not upgraded since 2007

XD

november 2012 actually :p
  • Calculators owned: TI 84+CE-T
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Sega Master System, Sony PlayStation 3
SUBSCRIBE TO THE FUTURERAVE.UK MAILING LIST
http://futurerave.uk

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18900
  • Post Rating Ratio: +100/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?
« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2017, 06:47:11 pm »
Z80, ez80, 68K, SHA-3, SHA-4, ARM9, x64.

Had a x86 PC in 2010-11 but I no longer have it.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Professional slacker
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Israel
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
  • ƎW∀⅁ ƎH⊥
  • Gender: Male
Re: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2017, 06:58:13 pm »
Well, if you're gonna count that... various ARM devices from v5 to v8 (Nspire, phones, tablet, Raspberry Pis, various MCUs, GBA), PowerPC 750 (GameCube), MIPS32 (router, stereo), z80 (TI calcs), Saturn (HP 40g), and probably others I forgot. :P
  • Calculators owned: TI-80, HP 40G, TI-84 Plus rev G (yay 128k RAM), TI-83 Plus Silver Edition (broken LCD), TI-82 Stats.fr (black), TI-Nspire CX rev C (yay Nlaunchy), TI-83+ SE ViewScreen



Offline Juju

  • aka Yuki Kagayaki aka J̵̭͕͇ù̞̭̝̯̦j̴̭̙̗͖͡ù͏͓̲̕
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Server Maintenance
  • Moderator
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Inside a walrus
  • Posts: 3140
  • Post Rating Ratio: +33/-2
  • Couch potato
    • jul.savard
    • juju2143
    • @juju2143
    • juju2143
    • @julosoft
    • juju-kun
    • /u/juju2143
    • juju2143
    • @juju2143
    • Juju's shed
  • Gender: Female
  • WalriiPoints: 99999
Re: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?
« Reply #6 on: April 13, 2017, 07:17:06 pm »
I have a bunch of x86_64, x86 and ARM devices around, am I the only one to still have some x86 laptops?
  • Calculators owned: TI-83+ (dead?), Casio Prizm (also dead???)
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: A lot
On semi-hiatus until who knows when. CODEWALRUS 2.0 COMING SOON
YUKI-CHAAAANNNN
In the beginning there was walrii. In the end there will be walrii. All hail our supreme leader :walrii: --Snektron

if you wanna throw money at me and/or CodeWalrus monthly it's here

Offline gameblabla

  • Super User
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 745
  • Post Rating Ratio: +15/-7
  • TI-nspire porter
Re: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?
« Reply #7 on: April 13, 2017, 11:34:50 pm »
I have an Intel Atom 32-bits PC but i gutted all of its parts.
I also have some intel atom motherboards but they lack a vent so i can't use them...

Even my old portable pc is x64, it has an old Pentium Dual Core.
With LLVMpipe, it can even play some OpenGL 3 games ! :D
  • Calculators owned: TI Nspire CX, TI-89

Offline semiprocoder

  • Full User
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 282
  • Post Rating Ratio: +2/-0
    • awesommee333
    • 114/11470
  • Gender: Male
Re: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?
« Reply #8 on: April 14, 2017, 05:48:31 am »
I think all the main computers I ever used were x64. I mean, I only really started using computers 10 years ago when I was five, but that was in school with the weird penguin iceburg game that I thoroughly enjoyed playing. For computers I actually used, I originally used a first gen mobile i3(I don't remember the exact model). Then I got a desktop with a 8320, then a laptop with a 5500u, and now a laptop with a 6700hq. So yup, all x64(although I really hate intel's lack of progress in the mobile cpu industry[and well, their cpus as a whole. A 2500k is almost as good as a modern 7600k, with both overclocking to just under 5 ghz ish]. I really hope that the mobile ryzen launch in Q4 will shake things up[there were some nice testers of the 1700 who undervolted it at, I think, more than(or at least) 3 ghz and ran it at 50 watts. Just a little underclocking or the removal of two cores would solidly push it into laptop cpu territory]).
  • Calculators owned: ti nspire, ti 84 plus se
My cemetech username is awesommee333.

Offline Vogtinator

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 109
  • Post Rating Ratio: +4/-0
  • Instruction counter
    • @UCii1mkxAsrIGvjFwS80YSmg
    • /u/Vogtinator
    • Vogtinator
    • ../../../cgi-bin/acct-view.cgi?userid=87663#
Re: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?
« Reply #9 on: April 14, 2017, 02:32:23 pm »
x64 is IA-64, I highly doubt that anyone of you has an Itanium system anywhere :P
The term got popular when Microsoft used it incorrectly for AMD64 and Intel-64 compatible editons of Windows, but it's still wrong.
  • Calculators owned: TI-Nspie CX CAS, Casio FX-85ES

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18900
  • Post Rating Ratio: +100/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?
« Reply #10 on: April 18, 2017, 05:33:03 pm »
x64 is IA-64, I highly doubt that anyone of you has an Itanium system anywhere :P
The term got popular when Microsoft used it incorrectly for AMD64 and Intel-64 compatible editons of Windows, but it's still wrong.
This reminds me when everyone started calling any music that had a UNTZ UNTZ UNTZ UNTZ beat as techno or when everyone started calling punk rock, hard rock, death metal and black metal as hardcore. <_<
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline p2

  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Moderator
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 2300
  • Post Rating Ratio: +9/-0
  • *Wubba lubba dub dub*
    • KaliPhobos
  • Gender: Male
Re: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?
« Reply #11 on: April 19, 2017, 08:12:52 am »
*edits poll to vote for his 32bit windows7 PC w/ 3GB RAM  :thumbsup:
  • Calculators owned: ti-83+, ti-84+, ti-84+, ti-84+se, ti-84+se(te), ti-nsphire, ti-nsphire CX-CAS, ti-voyage, ti-voyage, Who reads this list anyways...?
Anyway war sucks. Just bring us your food instead of missiles  :P ~ DJ Omnimaga (11.10.2016 20:21:48)
if you cant get a jframe set up, draw stuff to it, and receive input, i can only imagine how horrible your game code is _._   ~ c4ooo (14.11.2016 22:44:07)
If they pull a Harambe on me tell my family I love them ~ u/Pwntear37d (AssangeWatch /r/)
make Walrii great again ~ DJ Omnimaga (28.11.2016 23:01:31)
God invented the pc, satan the smartphone I guess ~ p4nix (16.02.2017 22:51:49)

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18900
  • Post Rating Ratio: +100/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?
« Reply #12 on: April 19, 2017, 06:50:41 pm »
There's already a 32 bits option @p2 (x86) :P
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline p2

  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Moderator
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 2300
  • Post Rating Ratio: +9/-0
  • *Wubba lubba dub dub*
    • KaliPhobos
  • Gender: Male
Re: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?
« Reply #13 on: April 19, 2017, 08:00:53 pm »
uh yeah, right. sorry
forgot about it
(click to show/hide)
  • Calculators owned: ti-83+, ti-84+, ti-84+, ti-84+se, ti-84+se(te), ti-nsphire, ti-nsphire CX-CAS, ti-voyage, ti-voyage, Who reads this list anyways...?
Anyway war sucks. Just bring us your food instead of missiles  :P ~ DJ Omnimaga (11.10.2016 20:21:48)
if you cant get a jframe set up, draw stuff to it, and receive input, i can only imagine how horrible your game code is _._   ~ c4ooo (14.11.2016 22:44:07)
If they pull a Harambe on me tell my family I love them ~ u/Pwntear37d (AssangeWatch /r/)
make Walrii great again ~ DJ Omnimaga (28.11.2016 23:01:31)
God invented the pc, satan the smartphone I guess ~ p4nix (16.02.2017 22:51:49)

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18900
  • Post Rating Ratio: +100/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Do you have x86 or x64 hardware?
« Reply #14 on: April 19, 2017, 08:35:55 pm »
Interesting. I always wondered why it was called x86 instead of x32
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games