* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: How do you create Sprites  (Read 883 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Alvajoy123

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Feb 2017
  • Location: USA
  • Posts: 115
  • Post Rating Ratio: +4/-5
  • The best programmer start her ~ codewalr.us
    • alvajoy asante
    • @@AlvajoyAsante
  • Gender: Male
How do you create Sprites
« on: June 28, 2017, 12:38:42 pm »
Hello everyone and guest (if you a guest sign up)
What software do you use to make you Sprite maps
And why ? ???
.


  • Calculators owned: TI-84+CE
??? ??? ???
Qestions are hard to ask that why we have ???
http://huggle.jdf2.org/sig/Alvajoy123.png

Offline mazhat

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Mar 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 157
  • Post Rating Ratio: +7/-0
  • Edelweiss. Edelweiss.
    • /u/Mazhat
    • Mazhat(?)
    • @Mazhat
    • MOS
  • Gender: Male
Re: How do you create Sprites
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2017, 03:39:12 pm »
I use Paint Tool Sai for 'HD' sprites.

If you don't care too much about looks:
Just stick with a simple program like MS paint,
as it's very convienient (but ugly).

  • Calculators owned: TI-83Plus, TI-84Plus
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung TAB A (Cheap), DSI, Rasperry PI 3
The Mogami River.

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18912
  • Post Rating Ratio: +100/-5
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: How do you create Sprites
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2017, 04:28:16 pm »
I used TokenIDE (or Tokens) from ticalc.org to make maps and MS Paint, Paint.net or Photofiltre to draw sprite sheets.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Online _iPhoenix_

  • Super User
  • Join Date: Mar 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 542
  • Post Rating Ratio: +12/-1
  • █████ ▼ ♪ Best music ♫
    • @dj_iPhoenix
    • @UCytgMNPxAMDsxjimvxHf01w
    • @the-legend-of-iphoenix
  • Gender: Male
Re: How do you create Sprites
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2017, 04:44:17 pm »
Then, you do what the docs tell you to do <3

I use GIMP, it's very nice, overly powerful, super redundant, and just plain overcomplicated (for what I use it for, at least) in an awesome way.
  • Calculators owned: A sentient TI-84+ CE, TI-85
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: TI-99/4a home computer
Please spam here: https://legend-of-iphoenix.github.io/spam/

"walruses are better than tuxedo chickens, all hail the great :walrii:" ~ me

Offline p2

  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Moderator
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 2300
  • Post Rating Ratio: +9/-0
  • *Wubba lubba dub dub*
    • KaliPhobos
  • Gender: Male
Re: How do you create Sprites
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2017, 06:05:43 pm »
I use Paint.Net as well. It doesn'T have as many tools as Gimp but if you know how to use the tools you can get great results from it
  • Calculators owned: ti-83+, ti-84+, ti-84+, ti-84+se, ti-84+se(te), ti-nsphire, ti-nsphire CX-CAS, ti-voyage, ti-voyage, Who reads this list anyways...?
Anyway war sucks. Just bring us your food instead of missiles  :P ~ DJ Omnimaga (11.10.2016 20:21:48)
if you cant get a jframe set up, draw stuff to it, and receive input, i can only imagine how horrible your game code is _._   ~ c4ooo (14.11.2016 22:44:07)
If they pull a Harambe on me tell my family I love them ~ u/Pwntear37d (AssangeWatch /r/)
make Walrii great again ~ DJ Omnimaga (28.11.2016 23:01:31)
God invented the pc, satan the smartphone I guess ~ p4nix (16.02.2017 22:51:49)

Offline mazhat

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Mar 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 157
  • Post Rating Ratio: +7/-0
  • Edelweiss. Edelweiss.
    • /u/Mazhat
    • Mazhat(?)
    • @Mazhat
    • MOS
  • Gender: Male
Re: How do you create Sprites
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2017, 08:55:08 pm »
Paint.net is great for pixel art sprites.
That's what I used when making the legacy MOS sprites.
The selection tool is just AMAZING.

It's my #1 program for such.

Paint tool sai: For sprites that are drawings (HD)
Paint.net: Great for pixel art
MS Paint: If you really don't care and want graphics fast
Adobe Illustrator: Good for graphic design, and it's scale-able since it uses vector graphics! Infinite resolution!
Photoshop: ??
  • Calculators owned: TI-83Plus, TI-84Plus
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung TAB A (Cheap), DSI, Rasperry PI 3
The Mogami River.

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Professional slacker
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Israel
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
  • ƎW∀⅁ ƎH⊥
  • Gender: Male
Re: How do you create Sprites
« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2017, 08:59:00 pm »
I use GIMP, it's very nice, overly powerful, super redundant, and just plain overcomplicated (for what I use it for, at least) in an awesome way.
I second this. GIMP is WAY beyond overkill for simple sprites but I still like using it.
  • Calculators owned: TI-80, HP 40G, TI-84 Plus rev G (yay 128k RAM), TI-83 Plus Silver Edition (broken LCD), TI-82 Stats.fr (black), TI-Nspire CX rev C (yay Nlaunchy), TI-83+ SE ViewScreen



Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18912
  • Post Rating Ratio: +100/-5
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: How do you create Sprites
« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2017, 09:20:16 pm »
Is it easy to do pixel art in GIMP though? I remember it was a major PITA to do so in Photoshop way back then. At least I am glad GIMP is no longer made of over 9000 small windows (the main reason why I hated it). Image Studio was kinda nice for pixel art too IIRC.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Snektron

  • Lvl 69 Russian Snake
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Posts: 3165
  • Post Rating Ratio: +32/-0
  • SSSssssss.....
    • RobinDeWalvis
    • Kzyrox
    • RobinDeWalvis
    • quantuminfinity
  • Gender: Male
Re: How do you create Sprites
« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2017, 09:22:27 pm »
I use GIMP, it's very nice, overly powerful, super redundant, and just plain overcomplicated (for what I use it for, at least) in an awesome way.
I second this. GIMP is WAY beyond overkill for simple sprites but I still like using it.
I dont. Its learning curve is way too high to use it for small edits to images i usually make.
  • Calculators owned: TI-84+
Legends say if you spam more than DJ Omnimaga, you will become a walrus...


Offline Streetwalrus

  • Professional slacker
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Israel
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
  • ƎW∀⅁ ƎH⊥
  • Gender: Male
Re: How do you create Sprites
« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2017, 09:25:25 pm »
Eh, it's fairly easy to use imo. I only ever need to google when I'm looking for some fancy feature.
  • Calculators owned: TI-80, HP 40G, TI-84 Plus rev G (yay 128k RAM), TI-83 Plus Silver Edition (broken LCD), TI-82 Stats.fr (black), TI-Nspire CX rev C (yay Nlaunchy), TI-83+ SE ViewScreen



Offline Alvajoy123

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Feb 2017
  • Location: USA
  • Posts: 115
  • Post Rating Ratio: +4/-5
  • The best programmer start her ~ codewalr.us
    • alvajoy asante
    • @@AlvajoyAsante
  • Gender: Male
Re: How do you create Sprites
« Reply #10 on: June 29, 2017, 02:07:21 pm »
So most of you use Gimp?
  • Calculators owned: TI-84+CE
??? ??? ???
Qestions are hard to ask that why we have ???
http://huggle.jdf2.org/sig/Alvajoy123.png

Offline tr1p1ea

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 267
  • Post Rating Ratio: +4/-1
Re: How do you create Sprites
« Reply #11 on: June 30, 2017, 05:24:31 am »
Gimp should suffice, I personally use Paint Shop Pro 7.04 and have so for years and years, mainly because it's fast :).

Though for converting to data I use my own custom tools.

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18912
  • Post Rating Ratio: +100/-5
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: How do you create Sprites
« Reply #12 on: July 02, 2017, 04:29:08 pm »
So most of you use Gimp?
My main software is Photofiltre Studio
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games