We're on Discord! Please join our server now if you don't want to miss anything! (More info) | Join the UCC4 contest! (More info)

* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire  (Read 98709 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Moderator
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 19053
  • Post Rating Ratio: +101/-5
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #240 on: April 24, 2016, 03:18:39 am »
I hope you didn't brick your Nspire @gameblabla O.O

  • Calculators owned: TI-84 Plus C Silver Edition, TI-84 Plus CE, Casio fx-CG10
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nintendo Switch, Playstation TV

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline gameblabla

  • Super User
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 800
  • Post Rating Ratio: +15/-7
  • TI-nspire porter
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #241 on: April 24, 2016, 03:48:30 am »
I hope you didn't brick your Nspire @gameblabla O.O
It doesn't seem so but perhaps my nspire is having the same issues as yours...
  • Calculators owned: TI Nspire CX, TI-89

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Moderator
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 19053
  • Post Rating Ratio: +101/-5
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #242 on: April 24, 2016, 03:57:30 am »
Could anybody else give Wolfenstein 3D a try on their nspire ?

No.



Just kidding, I will load it now and then edit my post to tell you what happens. :3=


EDIT: Nope it just reboots immediately on launch @gameblabla . Maybe someone else could try it in case it's just my calc being dumb, though.

« Last Edit: April 24, 2016, 04:15:23 am by DJ Omnimaga »
  • Calculators owned: TI-84 Plus C Silver Edition, TI-84 Plus CE, Casio fx-CG10
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nintendo Switch, Playstation TV

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Vogtinator

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 120
  • Post Rating Ratio: +4/-0
  • Instruction counter
    • @UCii1mkxAsrIGvjFwS80YSmg
    • /u/Vogtinator
    • Vogtinator
    • ../../../cgi-bin/acct-view.cgi?userid=87663#
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #243 on: April 24, 2016, 08:42:32 am »
Quote
Well, i can't even run your binary on firebird...
What happens?
Latest firebird version, latest ndless_installer and _resources (r2004)?
Any output on the serial console?
  • Calculators owned: TI-Nspie CX CAS, Casio FX-85ES

Offline Duke "Tape" Eiyeron

  • Urist McEiyolobster
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: (V)(-_(//));(V)
  • Posts: 1636
  • Post Rating Ratio: +11/-2
  • Fanciest Walrus of the oceans.
    • @@Eiyeron
    • Eiyeron
    • /u/Eiyeron
    • Eiyeron
    • Rétro-Actif : Rétro/Prog/Blog
  • Gender: Male
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #244 on: April 24, 2016, 03:34:28 pm »
Instacrash on 3.1.0.392 on ndless v5829093 (Commit short hash)
  • Calculators owned: A lot.

Offline gameblabla

  • Super User
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 800
  • Post Rating Ratio: +15/-7
  • TI-nspire porter
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #245 on: April 24, 2016, 07:22:53 pm »
What happens?
Latest firebird version, latest ndless_installer and _resources (r2004)?
It outright crashes... just like Duke and DJ are reporting.
And yes, latest stable version this time.

Quote
Any output on the serial console?
Well, it outputs this but i don't think that will be too useful :
Code: [Select]
Warning (120f0d20): Data abort: address=12272cc1 status=01 instruction at 120f0d20
Care to share your own ndless_installer and resources build as well, please ?
You're the only one here enjoying Wolfenstein here, that's not fair... :(
  • Calculators owned: TI Nspire CX, TI-89

Offline Vogtinator

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 120
  • Post Rating Ratio: +4/-0
  • Instruction counter
    • @UCii1mkxAsrIGvjFwS80YSmg
    • /u/Vogtinator
    • Vogtinator
    • ../../../cgi-bin/acct-view.cgi?userid=87663#
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #246 on: April 24, 2016, 07:33:52 pm »
Quote
Any output on the serial console?
Well, it outputs this but i don't think that will be too useful :
Code: [Select]
Warning (120f0d20): Data abort: address=12272cc1 status=01 instruction at 120f0d20
Care to share your own ndless_installer and resources build as well, please ?
You're the only one here enjoying Wolfenstein here, that's not fair... :(

I could, but that's highly unlikely to be the issue here.
I assume you're running 32-bit firebird on x86? That version has some checks for alignment built-in (much cheaper on 32-bit)
so it behaves more like a real calc. I see that this data abort is at an unaligned address.
You need to read the warnings gcc spits out! I guess I'll set "-Werror=align-cast" by default.
« Last Edit: April 24, 2016, 07:35:35 pm by Vogtinator »
  • Calculators owned: TI-Nspie CX CAS, Casio FX-85ES

Offline gameblabla

  • Super User
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 800
  • Post Rating Ratio: +15/-7
  • TI-nspire porter
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #247 on: April 25, 2016, 01:19:03 am »
Quote
I assume you're running 32-bit firebird on x86? That version has some checks for alignment built-in (much cheaper on 32-bit)
so it behaves more like a real calc. I see that this data abort is at an unaligned address.
Yeah, i'm running a 32-bit nighly build.

Quote
You need to read the warnings gcc spits out! I guess I'll set "-Werror=align-cast" by default.
I looked at the warnings using GCC 5.3.0 and turning on all the warnings, but i see nothing about unaligned cast,
only non handled switches and stuff.
I feel like this is going to take a lot of time to fix...
  • Calculators owned: TI Nspire CX, TI-89

Offline Vogtinator

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 120
  • Post Rating Ratio: +4/-0
  • Instruction counter
    • @UCii1mkxAsrIGvjFwS80YSmg
    • /u/Vogtinator
    • Vogtinator
    • ../../../cgi-bin/acct-view.cgi?userid=87663#
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #248 on: April 25, 2016, 02:01:58 pm »
Got it: I assumed that all relocation pointers are properly aligned, but in this case it seems to not be the case.
This crashes ndless' Zehn loader during relocation.
The cause for the bad alignment (which will cause slowdowns, so that should be fixed) is https://github.com/gameblabla/wolf4sdl_nspire/blob/master/src/wl_def.h#L721
Notice the boolean at the beginning.

Preliminary ndless r2005 with fix attached.
  • Calculators owned: TI-Nspie CX CAS, Casio FX-85ES

Offline gameblabla

  • Super User
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 800
  • Post Rating Ratio: +15/-7
  • TI-nspire porter
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #249 on: April 25, 2016, 03:17:33 pm »
Got it: I assumed that all relocation pointers are properly aligned, but in this case it seems to not be the case.
This crashes ndless' Zehn loader during relocation.
The cause for the bad alignment (which will cause slowdowns, so that should be fixed) is https://github.com/gameblabla/wolf4sdl_nspire/blob/master/src/wl_def.h#L721
Notice the boolean at the beginning.

Preliminary ndless r2005 with fix attached.
How the hell you detected this ?
I can confirm it now works with the preliminary ndless_resources file.
That being said, i have no idea how to properly fix this...
Tried to change the variables types but to no avail, i hope this don't mean i need to completely redo the code...

I will give Mame a try on my calc to see if this works with the new ndless.
  • Calculators owned: TI Nspire CX, TI-89

Offline Vogtinator

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 120
  • Post Rating Ratio: +4/-0
  • Instruction counter
    • @UCii1mkxAsrIGvjFwS80YSmg
    • /u/Vogtinator
    • Vogtinator
    • ../../../cgi-bin/acct-view.cgi?userid=87663#
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #250 on: April 25, 2016, 03:27:02 pm »
Got it: I assumed that all relocation pointers are properly aligned, but in this case it seems to not be the case.
This crashes ndless' Zehn loader during relocation.
The cause for the bad alignment (which will cause slowdowns, so that should be fixed) is https://github.com/gameblabla/wolf4sdl_nspire/blob/master/src/wl_def.h#L721
Notice the boolean at the beginning.

Preliminary ndless r2005 with fix attached.
How the hell you detected this ?
It was actually quite easy, the PC of the data abort was inside ndless_resources so I just looked up where exactly it is.
It was an ldr inside the relocation loop, which I replaced by several memcpy.

Quote
I can confirm it now works with the preliminary ndless_resources file.
That being said, i have no idea how to properly fix this...
Tried to change the variables types but to no avail, i hope this don't mean i need to completely redo the code...
The issue here is that declaring a struct like that in standard C would cause proper alignment of all members on ARM,
but for some reason it decides to not do it here. Either that's a side effect of "-Os" or some other compiler flag.

Quote
I will give Mame a try on my calc to see if this works with the new ndless.
I doubt it. If it were the same issue, the executable would've run fine on firebird.
  • Calculators owned: TI-Nspie CX CAS, Casio FX-85ES

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Moderator
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 19053
  • Post Rating Ratio: +101/-5
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #251 on: April 25, 2016, 04:07:24 pm »
@Vogtinator I know this isn't relates to Wolfeinstein 3D but do you know how I could check why PicoDrive won't run properly on only my Nspire CX, even though it runs on everyone else's?
  • Calculators owned: TI-84 Plus C Silver Edition, TI-84 Plus CE, Casio fx-CG10
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nintendo Switch, Playstation TV

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Vogtinator

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 120
  • Post Rating Ratio: +4/-0
  • Instruction counter
    • @UCii1mkxAsrIGvjFwS80YSmg
    • /u/Vogtinator
    • Vogtinator
    • ../../../cgi-bin/acct-view.cgi?userid=87663#
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #252 on: April 25, 2016, 04:20:39 pm »
You can try to compare your manuf (read it using nsNandMgr) with a known working one. If there are no differences, it's definitely a hardware issue.
I can't tell which part is broken directly, but as it's practically impossible to repair anyway it's not worth it doing tests IMO.
  • Calculators owned: TI-Nspie CX CAS, Casio FX-85ES

Offline Duke "Tape" Eiyeron

  • Urist McEiyolobster
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: (V)(-_(//));(V)
  • Posts: 1636
  • Post Rating Ratio: +11/-2
  • Fanciest Walrus of the oceans.
    • @@Eiyeron
    • Eiyeron
    • /u/Eiyeron
    • Eiyeron
    • Rétro-Actif : Rétro/Prog/Blog
  • Gender: Male
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #253 on: April 25, 2016, 06:50:20 pm »
It didn't worked on my calc, do I need another binary or somethng with wolf?
  • Calculators owned: A lot.

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Moderator
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 19053
  • Post Rating Ratio: +101/-5
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #254 on: April 25, 2016, 06:51:08 pm »
Ok thanks. I'll have to check with nsNandMgr then. I hope it's not due to faulty hardware.
  • Calculators owned: TI-84 Plus C Silver Edition, TI-84 Plus CE, Casio fx-CG10
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nintendo Switch, Playstation TV

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games