Dear visitors and members, with the staff having moved on to other life interests and as a result of changes in people's internet usage habits, the CodeWalrus community have migrated almost entirely to Discord, IRC and WalrusIRC and is now essentially a place where to hang out, chat about gaming, programming, music, anime, and chill. As a result, even though the CW forums will remain open for posting, for faster TI, Casio or HP calculator help and news we recommend using the bilingual TI-Planet forums instead.

We encourage everyone to join our Discord server now.

* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire  (Read 72671 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline gameblabla

  • Super User
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 749
  • Post Rating Ratio: +15/-7
  • TI-nspire porter
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #225 on: April 22, 2016, 02:45:25 am »
Mame for TI Nspire, you want it ?
It's yours my friend, as long as you debug it with GDB !
TNS file
Github repo

Trying to port Wolf4SDL and guess what ? Crashes.
Crashes before the application even starts...
Same thing for MAME apparently.

Is my devkit buggy ?
I do not know but you can still give it a try on your nspire.
If it works,  then you can run your games (provided they come from the old mame 0.37 set) by putting this line in ndless.cfg.tns :
Code: [Select]
ext.zip=mame
This is going nowhere so i'll just take a break just like i did in december and hopefully
gcc and newlib will get fixed again.
  • Calculators owned: TI Nspire CX, TI-89

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18972
  • Post Rating Ratio: +100/-5
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #226 on: April 22, 2016, 03:12:59 am »
Hm, sorry to hear about Wolf4SDL crashing. Maybe you could ask the Ndless team directly about what could be wrong? (assuming they are the ones who made gcc and newlib)

Also Mame for the TI-Nspire is definitively interesting if it runs. It can emulate a lot of obscure platforms if I recall correctly, right?
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Vogtinator

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 120
  • Post Rating Ratio: +4/-0
  • Instruction counter
    • @UCii1mkxAsrIGvjFwS80YSmg
    • /u/Vogtinator
    • Vogtinator
    • ../../../cgi-bin/acct-view.cgi?userid=87663#
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #227 on: April 22, 2016, 04:36:17 pm »
Mame for TI Nspire, you want it ?
It's yours my friend, as long as you debug it with GDB !
TNS file
Github repo

Trying to port Wolf4SDL and guess what ? Crashes.
Crashes before the application even starts...
Same thing for MAME apparently.

I tried to compile it, didn't work. I had to add "#undef TRUE" and "#undef FALSE" to nucleus.h.
The reason for the crashes is probably that malloc fails. The binary is also too big to be debugged (without tweaking emu_debug_alloc_size) and it doesn't even load on OS >= 4.0.
  • Calculators owned: TI-Nspie CX CAS, Casio FX-85ES

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18972
  • Post Rating Ratio: +100/-5
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #228 on: April 23, 2016, 08:47:31 am »
What is the max size allowed?
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Vogtinator

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 120
  • Post Rating Ratio: +4/-0
  • Instruction counter
    • @UCii1mkxAsrIGvjFwS80YSmg
    • /u/Vogtinator
    • Vogtinator
    • ../../../cgi-bin/acct-view.cgi?userid=87663#
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #229 on: April 23, 2016, 10:18:40 am »
The default emu_debug_alloc_size is 8MiB. It prints a message "[Zehn] emu_debug_alloc_size too small!" if the executable needs more.
  • Calculators owned: TI-Nspie CX CAS, Casio FX-85ES

Offline gameblabla

  • Super User
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 749
  • Post Rating Ratio: +15/-7
  • TI-nspire porter
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #230 on: April 23, 2016, 02:09:33 pm »
To compile Mame, you actually need to comment out the os.h file.
Maybe i should file a bug for this but you should completely remove this file because it conflicts with a lot of applications out there...
And the uncompressed executable is 30MB, so debugging it is out of question...

I guess it's really dead then...
How about you look at Wolfenstein 3D instead ? ;D
https://github.com/gameblabla/wolf4sdl_nspire

I will see if i can't port KEGS instead, it's pretty fast on my computer and it takes like less than 1% of my cpu,
it should run pretty fast on nspire.
  • Calculators owned: TI Nspire CX, TI-89

Offline Vogtinator

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 120
  • Post Rating Ratio: +4/-0
  • Instruction counter
    • @UCii1mkxAsrIGvjFwS80YSmg
    • /u/Vogtinator
    • Vogtinator
    • ../../../cgi-bin/acct-view.cgi?userid=87663#
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #231 on: April 23, 2016, 07:37:41 pm »
To compile Mame, you actually need to comment out the os.h file.
Maybe i should file a bug for this but you should completely remove this file because it conflicts with a lot of applications out there...
It's already deprecated, but everything still uses it :-/

Quote
And the uncompressed executable is 30MB, so debugging it is out of question...
It's about 10 MiB here, but even that's too large to use on 4.0 ("ld_exec: could not malloc savedscr")

Quote
I guess it's really dead then...
How about you look at Wolfenstein 3D instead ? ;D
https://github.com/gameblabla/wolf4sdl_nspire
Same crash?
Edit: Works fine here on OS 3.1. Probably also a memory problem. enable_relative_paths doesn't seem to work though, I had to place the .wl1.tns files in /documents.

Quote
I will see if i can't port KEGS instead, it's pretty fast on my computer and it takes like less than 1% of my cpu,
it should run pretty fast on nspire.
« Last Edit: April 23, 2016, 07:51:02 pm by Vogtinator »
  • Calculators owned: TI-Nspie CX CAS, Casio FX-85ES

Offline gameblabla

  • Super User
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 749
  • Post Rating Ratio: +15/-7
  • TI-nspire porter
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #232 on: April 23, 2016, 07:52:09 pm »
Quote
Edit: Works fine here on OS 3.1. Probably also a memory problem. enable_relative_paths doesn't seem to work though, I had to place the .wl1.tns files in /documents.
ah, interesting, care to share your tns ?

Quote
Probably also a memory problem
What do you mean, memory ?
You mean that it is taking too much RAM or is it something else ?
« Last Edit: April 23, 2016, 07:54:39 pm by gameblabla »
  • Calculators owned: TI Nspire CX, TI-89

Offline Vogtinator

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 120
  • Post Rating Ratio: +4/-0
  • Instruction counter
    • @UCii1mkxAsrIGvjFwS80YSmg
    • /u/Vogtinator
    • Vogtinator
    • ../../../cgi-bin/acct-view.cgi?userid=87663#
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #233 on: April 23, 2016, 07:54:30 pm »
Here you go.

  • Calculators owned: TI-Nspie CX CAS, Casio FX-85ES

Offline gameblabla

  • Super User
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 749
  • Post Rating Ratio: +15/-7
  • TI-nspire porter
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #234 on: April 23, 2016, 07:58:14 pm »
Here you go.

Thanks, i don't know how you got it to work though...
It crashes right away on my nspire. (OS 4.2 btw)

I will reinstall my OS and go back to OS 3.1.
  • Calculators owned: TI Nspire CX, TI-89

Offline Vogtinator

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 120
  • Post Rating Ratio: +4/-0
  • Instruction counter
    • @UCii1mkxAsrIGvjFwS80YSmg
    • /u/Vogtinator
    • Vogtinator
    • ../../../cgi-bin/acct-view.cgi?userid=87663#
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #235 on: April 23, 2016, 08:05:59 pm »
Here you go.

Thanks, i don't know how you got it to work though...
It crashes right away on my nspire. (OS 4.2 btw)

I will reinstall my OS and go back to OS 3.1.

Just tried on 4.2 CX CAS (firebird) and it works fine. Do you have the latest ndless?
  • Calculators owned: TI-Nspie CX CAS, Casio FX-85ES

Offline gameblabla

  • Super User
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 749
  • Post Rating Ratio: +15/-7
  • TI-nspire porter
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #236 on: April 23, 2016, 08:19:02 pm »
Just tried on 4.2 CX CAS (firebird) and it works fine. Do you have the latest ndless?
Yeah, i had the latest ndless installed.
Reformatted my calc, put OS 3.1 then tried to run Wolfenstein : it crashed right away.
Have you tried on a real calc ?
« Last Edit: April 23, 2016, 08:23:45 pm by gameblabla »
  • Calculators owned: TI Nspire CX, TI-89

Offline Vogtinator

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 120
  • Post Rating Ratio: +4/-0
  • Instruction counter
    • @UCii1mkxAsrIGvjFwS80YSmg
    • /u/Vogtinator
    • Vogtinator
    • ../../../cgi-bin/acct-view.cgi?userid=87663#
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #237 on: April 23, 2016, 08:32:31 pm »
I don't have access to my calc right now. There's only a few possibe causes for a crash on HW: Unaligned access and other HW side-effects.
The whole lot of  GCC warnings point to the first.
  • Calculators owned: TI-Nspie CX CAS, Casio FX-85ES

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18972
  • Post Rating Ratio: +100/-5
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #238 on: April 23, 2016, 09:50:56 pm »
Wow, if this game works on a real calc in the future, this will be epic! O.O
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline gameblabla

  • Super User
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 749
  • Post Rating Ratio: +15/-7
  • TI-nspire porter
Re: SDL/n2DLib ports for TI Nspire
« Reply #239 on: April 24, 2016, 02:57:20 am »
I don't have access to my calc right now. There's only a few possibe causes for a crash on HW: Unaligned access and other HW side-effects.
The whole lot of  GCC warnings point to the first.
Well, i can't even run your binary on firebird...
I'm seriously thinking i have corrupted all of my Nspire-related files...

Could anybody else give Wolfenstein 3D a try on their nspire ?
  • Calculators owned: TI Nspire CX, TI-89

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games