* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: Oiram CE  (Read 22874 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline MateoConLechuga

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 231
  • Post Rating Ratio: +21/-1
Oiram CE
« on: September 10, 2016, 07:24:53 am »
Oiram is a Mario-like platformer for the CE:

Oiram Download: Download
Oiram Level Editor: Download


« Last Edit: January 05, 2017, 11:26:00 pm by MateoConLechuga »



Offline tr1p1ea

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 267
  • Post Rating Ratio: +4/-1
Re: Mario CE
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2016, 01:55:54 pm »
Looks awesome, you can tell it uses the OS input routine tho, but that's a good sign since you should be able to get things going faster without it.

Will be following progress on this as will lots of other people no doubt :).

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18907
  • Post Rating Ratio: +100/-5
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Mario CE
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2016, 02:23:49 pm »
That looks amazing Mateo. I was wondering if that project was still alive or not so I'm glad it is. Which power-ups and enemies do you plan to add? Do you also plan to add working pipes? I don't think there's any calc Mario clone with working pipes except Super Mario 68K. Keep up the good work :)
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline MateoConLechuga

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 231
  • Post Rating Ratio: +21/-1
Re: Mario CE
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2016, 06:58:29 pm »
Since this is in C, adding working pipes will be a breeze. I'm almost finished with the map editior, at least for the tiles and saving/loading, enemies and other things  will come later once I decide how I want to make those work.

Offline Art_of_camelot

  • Full User
  • Safe-haven access
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: Dr. Light's Laboratory
  • Posts: 99
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-1
    • Omnimaga
Re: Mario CE
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2016, 09:33:01 pm »
Not meaning to nitpick, but those are Super Mario Bros. 3 sprites from Super Mario All stars. They aren't from Super Mario World. Anyhow, looks good regardless. :thumbsup:

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18907
  • Post Rating Ratio: +100/-5
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Mario CE
« Reply #5 on: September 10, 2016, 09:40:45 pm »
Lol I didn't notice the SMW in the first post actually. When I first saw the screenshot it used SMB1 sprites. Also those SMB3 sprites are from the Super Nintendo version.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline c4ooo

  • Pedanticity prevents ambiguity
  • Super User
  • CW Contest II Winner
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: 127.0.0.1
  • Posts: 1020
  • Post Rating Ratio: +12/-4
  • Advanced forumer
  • Gender: Male
Re: Mario CE
« Reply #6 on: September 10, 2016, 10:20:55 pm »
Will it be possible to speed up the tile mapper and add 1 pixel scrolling?
Anyways mario is something a lot of people will enjoy playing ;)

Edit: saw the note of it being 80% speed. ;)

Offline MateoConLechuga

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 231
  • Post Rating Ratio: +21/-1
Re: Mario CE
« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2016, 10:29:46 pm »
The tile mapper can easily move at any pixel increment possible. I chose it to be blocks for the tile map editor. Remember, it is cruising faster than the old asm version.

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18907
  • Post Rating Ratio: +100/-5
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Mario CE
« Reply #8 on: September 11, 2016, 05:40:49 am »
I am definitively curious about how fast the game would be with smooth scrolling. On the CSE I remember that with some calculations, we determined that a smooth scrolling platformer would scroll at 20 FPS max horizontally due to the time it takes to redraw enemies, the character, erase them and draw the missing column of tiles. And that was in half-resolution mode. That number would drop around 8 FPS with animated tiles or vertical scrolling.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline MateoConLechuga

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 231
  • Post Rating Ratio: +21/-1
Re: Mario CE
« Reply #9 on: September 11, 2016, 05:46:31 am »
I am definitively curious about how fast the game would be with smooth scrolling. On the CSE I remember that with some calculations, we determined that a smooth scrolling platformer would scroll at 20 FPS max horizontally due to the time it takes to redraw enemies, the character, erase them and draw the missing column of tiles. And that was in half-resolution mode. That number would drop around 8 FPS with animated tiles or vertical scrolling.
It is currently running at around 33-34 fps. The tilemap engine has no concept of scolling, it just redraws the whole thing depening on input offsets:

Code: [Select]
gfx_Tilemap( tilemap, offset_x, offset_y );
With enemies and the characters and movement and everything I predict it will go no slower than 23-25 fps or so.

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18907
  • Post Rating Ratio: +100/-5
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Mario CE
« Reply #10 on: September 11, 2016, 05:52:38 am »
Ah I see. I think it's fine to redraw everything every frame if you have enough speed to afford it, especially on that calculator. I wonder how many enemies will there be on the screen? I remember Mario 83+, SMB series and stuff slowed down when there were more than 3 in the screen.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline kotu

  • -< \'V/,,,
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: don't panic
  • Posts: 1160
  • Post Rating Ratio: +7/-11
  • woah
    • dj_kotu
    • @UCAy2ZF4hbc08iStnTn6jgxQ
    • rowanmedhurst
    • @romanov-psyco
    • futurerave.uk
  • Gender: Male
Re: Mario CE
« Reply #11 on: September 12, 2016, 10:55:10 pm »
It is currently running at around 33-34 fps. The tilemap engine has no concept of scolling, it just redraws the whole thing depening on input offsets:

I only am getting around 21-25 fps on my build (different game) I'm using 16x16 tiles is that why?
Thx
  • Calculators owned: TI 84+CE-T
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Sega Master System, Sony PlayStation 3
SUBSCRIBE TO THE FUTURERAVE.UK MAILING LIST
http://futurerave.uk

Offline Jkolade936

  • All Around Coolio
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location: Horseheads, NY
  • Posts: 1515
  • Post Rating Ratio: +9/-1
  • I'm an unknown loner. I try to change that.
    • Jkolade936
    • My Sprites and Walrii Collection
  • Gender: Male
Re: Mario CE
« Reply #12 on: October 11, 2016, 10:44:35 pm »
Wow! I didn't know when this was getting updated. It's awesome! Have you started thinking about what Mario sprites to use?
  • Calculators owned: None of them. :'(
Does this qualify as a signature? 
The answer is "Sure."


Offline xMarminq_

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Sep 2016
  • Location: Generic Location
  • Posts: 464
  • Post Rating Ratio: +3/-0
  • Generic Personal Text
    • @UCUWQR30oIW2fRqCNI2IDGIA
  • Gender: Male
Re: Mario CE
« Reply #13 on: October 15, 2016, 01:14:14 am »
When Pls!!!!!!!!
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84 Plus CE, Ti-84 Plus (can be borrowed from my school)
I don't associate with associations

Offline MateoConLechuga

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 231
  • Post Rating Ratio: +21/-1
Re: Mario CE
« Reply #14 on: October 15, 2016, 01:18:22 am »
When Pls!!!!!!!!
Not until you make something on your own. I'm sick of having to write all the things.

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games