* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Poll

So.... what OS do you use??

Windows 10
Windows 8
Windows 7
Windows XP, Vista or older
Linux
Mac OS
Other

Author Topic: What OS do you use?? (poll)  (Read 2260 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline p2

  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Moderator
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 2261
  • Post Rating Ratio: +8/-0
  • *Wubba lubba dub dub*
    • KaliPhobos
  • Gender: Male
Re: What OS do you use?? (poll)
« Reply #30 on: April 10, 2017, 11:03:53 pm »
it should run about 3 or 4 times faster.
Also the FPS drops to 5-10 when I press E to view the inventory or press ESC to get to the menu...
For whatever reason Menus are a loooot more resource intensive than the game (crappy game code).

Also Look at this beauty I got trying to setup Java, pretty much sums it up:
  • Calculators owned: ti-83+, ti-84+, ti-84+, ti-84+se, ti-84+se(te), ti-nsphire, ti-nsphire CX-CAS, ti-voyage, ti-voyage, Who reads this list anyways...?
Anyway war sucks. Just bring us your food instead of missiles  :P ~ DJ Omnimaga (11.10.2016 20:21:48)
if you cant get a jframe set up, draw stuff to it, and receive input, i can only imagine how horrible your game code is _._   ~ c4ooo (14.11.2016 22:44:07)
If they pull a Harambe on me tell my family I love them ~ u/Pwntear37d (AssangeWatch /r/)
make Walrii great again ~ DJ Omnimaga (28.11.2016 23:01:31)
God invented the pc, satan the smartphone I guess ~ p4nix (16.02.2017 22:51:49)

Offline _iPhoenix_

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Mar 2017
  • Location: Encoded in Binary.
  • Posts: 367
  • Post Rating Ratio: +7/-1
  • █████ ▼ ♪ Best music ♫
    • @dj_iPhoenix
    • @UCytgMNPxAMDsxjimvxHf01w
    • @the-legend-of-iphoenix
  • Gender: Male
Re: What OS do you use?? (poll)
« Reply #31 on: April 10, 2017, 11:17:03 pm »
Guys, I seriously can get 1200 fps, that's not a typo.

I just have a this
  • Calculators owned: A sentient TI-84+ CE, TI-85
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: TI-99/4a home computer
Help me with a project by voting here! Thanks!

"walruses are better than tuxedo chickens, all hail the great :walrii:" ~ me

Offline c4ooo

  • Super User
  • CW Contest II Winner
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: 127.0.0.1
  • Posts: 966
  • Post Rating Ratio: +12/-4
  • Advanced forumer
  • Gender: Male
Re: What OS do you use?? (poll)
« Reply #32 on: April 11, 2017, 12:05:08 am »
Guys, I seriously can get 1200 fps, that's not a typo.

I just have a this
"3.0GHz 8-Core Intel Xeon E5 processor
16GB 1866MHz DDR3 ECC memory
Dual AMD FirePro D700 with 6GB GDDR5 VRAM each
256GB PCIe-based flash storage1"
$4000

vs
Intel 7700k -  4.50 GHz, 8 threads - $350
water cooler - $100
mobo - $ 150-250
gtx 1080 ti founder's edition - $700 (the best-est GPU)
256Gb M.2 SSD - $250
1 tb hdd - $50 (?)
16 gb of DDR4 ram - around $130
case - $50-100
total - 2055

You could save more with a 16 threaded AMD CPU, and a slightly less over-the-top GPU.

* c4ooo runs
« Last Edit: April 11, 2017, 12:07:22 am by c4ooo »

Offline p2

  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Moderator
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 2261
  • Post Rating Ratio: +8/-0
  • *Wubba lubba dub dub*
    • KaliPhobos
  • Gender: Male
Re: What OS do you use?? (poll)
« Reply #33 on: April 11, 2017, 12:45:54 am »
what kind of monster are you, betting an hdd anstead of an ssd for a computer that's going to be blessed with a 1080?  :ninja:

also yay my server got 2x Xeon as well, but no graphics card  :P
  • Calculators owned: ti-83+, ti-84+, ti-84+, ti-84+se, ti-84+se(te), ti-nsphire, ti-nsphire CX-CAS, ti-voyage, ti-voyage, Who reads this list anyways...?
Anyway war sucks. Just bring us your food instead of missiles  :P ~ DJ Omnimaga (11.10.2016 20:21:48)
if you cant get a jframe set up, draw stuff to it, and receive input, i can only imagine how horrible your game code is _._   ~ c4ooo (14.11.2016 22:44:07)
If they pull a Harambe on me tell my family I love them ~ u/Pwntear37d (AssangeWatch /r/)
make Walrii great again ~ DJ Omnimaga (28.11.2016 23:01:31)
God invented the pc, satan the smartphone I guess ~ p4nix (16.02.2017 22:51:49)

Offline _iPhoenix_

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Mar 2017
  • Location: Encoded in Binary.
  • Posts: 367
  • Post Rating Ratio: +7/-1
  • █████ ▼ ♪ Best music ♫
    • @dj_iPhoenix
    • @UCytgMNPxAMDsxjimvxHf01w
    • @the-legend-of-iphoenix
  • Gender: Male
Re: What OS do you use?? (poll)
« Reply #34 on: April 11, 2017, 01:38:37 am »
It seems I linked the wrong one XD, I have the USD2k one :P
  • Calculators owned: A sentient TI-84+ CE, TI-85
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: TI-99/4a home computer
Help me with a project by voting here! Thanks!

"walruses are better than tuxedo chickens, all hail the great :walrii:" ~ me

Offline Unicorn

  • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Super User
  • CW Contest II - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Posts: 2811
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-2
  • make :PICKACHUP: a thing!
    • Unicorn808
    • 114/11432
    • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Gender: Male
Re: What OS do you use?? (poll)
« Reply #35 on: April 12, 2017, 10:24:18 am »
If you like macs, why not build a pc and then uh, hackintoah? :P but also, you should be able to select at least three, cuz what if you boot Win10, mac, and linux all on the same computer???
  • Calculators owned: I own all of them: PICKACHUP TI 84+ CSE TI 83+ SE TI something something ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: PICKACHUP ??? ??? ??? ??? ???



??? ??? ??? ??? ???

Offline kotu

  • fast hard => french
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: UK - facing deportation to Russia - I am French
  • Posts: 1038
  • Post Rating Ratio: +7/-7
  • I read bytecode for cash
    • dj_kotu
    • @UCAy2ZF4hbc08iStnTn6jgxQ
    • rowanmedhurst
    • @romanov-psyco
    • futurerave.uk
  • Gender: Male
Re: What OS do you use?? (poll)
« Reply #36 on: April 13, 2017, 04:49:28 am »
i thought 2 would be enough..... if you use 3, just select the 2 you use most.... that was my thinking.
  • Calculators owned: TI 84+CE-T
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Sega Master System, Sony PS3
MY CV (RESUME)
designed mateo patio joke name.
invited to mateo's house by matio patio himself.
mateo swore me in as his best friend.
MATEO PATIO TO CHANGE HIS NAME TO MATEO PATIO BY DEED POLL.

Offline Alvajoy123

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Feb 2017
  • Location: USA
  • Posts: 112
  • Post Rating Ratio: +3/-5
  • The best programmer start her ~ codewalr.us
    • alvajoy asante
    • @@AlvajoyAsante
  • Gender: Male
Re: What OS do you use?? (poll)
« Reply #37 on: April 13, 2017, 02:44:45 pm »
i use Windows 10 because it much easier move through file and much easy to program on
  • Calculators owned: TI-84+CE
??? ??? ???
Qestions are hard to ask that why we have ???
http://huggle.jdf2.org/sig/Alvajoy123.png

Offline p2

  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Moderator
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 2261
  • Post Rating Ratio: +8/-0
  • *Wubba lubba dub dub*
    • KaliPhobos
  • Gender: Male
Re: What OS do you use?? (poll)
« Reply #38 on: April 20, 2017, 01:16:20 am »
The file explorer has almost no changes...?
But what script editors do you use? :)
  • Calculators owned: ti-83+, ti-84+, ti-84+, ti-84+se, ti-84+se(te), ti-nsphire, ti-nsphire CX-CAS, ti-voyage, ti-voyage, Who reads this list anyways...?
Anyway war sucks. Just bring us your food instead of missiles  :P ~ DJ Omnimaga (11.10.2016 20:21:48)
if you cant get a jframe set up, draw stuff to it, and receive input, i can only imagine how horrible your game code is _._   ~ c4ooo (14.11.2016 22:44:07)
If they pull a Harambe on me tell my family I love them ~ u/Pwntear37d (AssangeWatch /r/)
make Walrii great again ~ DJ Omnimaga (28.11.2016 23:01:31)
God invented the pc, satan the smartphone I guess ~ p4nix (16.02.2017 22:51:49)

Offline Strontium

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Apr 2015
  • Location: CA
  • Posts: 232
  • Post Rating Ratio: +3/-2
  • hey
    • Unilunge
    • /u/thismarkstheend
    • Azmarok
  • Gender: Female
Re: What OS do you use?? (poll)
« Reply #39 on: April 20, 2017, 03:27:07 am »
Currently rollin' Fedora on my Mac, going to install Void Linux on my new laptop once it arrives.
  • Calculators owned: TI Nspire CX, HP Prime
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: NES

Offline aeTIos

  • Dabbler in C
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Ede, NL
  • Posts: 1049
  • Post Rating Ratio: +12/-0
  • hi
    • r_vdijk
    • /u/aetios
    • aetios
  • Gender: Male
Re: What OS do you use?? (poll)
« Reply #40 on: April 20, 2017, 05:07:46 pm »
If you like macs, why not build a pc and then uh, hackintoah? :P but also, you should be able to select at least three, cuz what if you boot Win10, mac, and linux all on the same computer???
i thought 2 would be enough..... if you use 3, just select the 2 you use most.... that was my thinking.
I took the liberty to edit the poll to allow for 3 selections.
ceci n'est pas une signature

Offline kotu

  • fast hard => french
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: UK - facing deportation to Russia - I am French
  • Posts: 1038
  • Post Rating Ratio: +7/-7
  • I read bytecode for cash
    • dj_kotu
    • @UCAy2ZF4hbc08iStnTn6jgxQ
    • rowanmedhurst
    • @romanov-psyco
    • futurerave.uk
  • Gender: Male
Re: What OS do you use?? (poll)
« Reply #41 on: April 21, 2017, 12:57:14 am »
I took the liberty of installing Windows 10 on my main machine  8)  it's nice
  • Calculators owned: TI 84+CE-T
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Sega Master System, Sony PS3
MY CV (RESUME)
designed mateo patio joke name.
invited to mateo's house by matio patio himself.
mateo swore me in as his best friend.
MATEO PATIO TO CHANGE HIS NAME TO MATEO PATIO BY DEED POLL.

Offline Switchblade

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Mar 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 38
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-0
Re: What OS do you use?? (poll)
« Reply #42 on: April 21, 2017, 01:06:37 am »
I use several operating systems.  I normally run Windows 10, Ubuntu and Kali Linux nearly the same, Zorin OS very little, and Pinguy OS, Elementary OS, and RemixOS pretty much nil.  All except Windows 10 are VM's though  :blah:

Offline Unicorn

  • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Super User
  • CW Contest II - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Posts: 2811
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-2
  • make :PICKACHUP: a thing!
    • Unicorn808
    • 114/11432
    • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Gender: Male
Re: What OS do you use?? (poll)
« Reply #43 on: June 07, 2017, 04:57:01 am »
I use several operating systems.  I normally run Windows 10, Ubuntu and Kali Linux nearly the same, Zorin OS very little, and Pinguy OS, Elementary OS, and RemixOS pretty much nil.  All except Windows 10 are VM's though  :blah:
Does an andriod OS in a vm run well, @Switchblade?
  • Calculators owned: I own all of them: PICKACHUP TI 84+ CSE TI 83+ SE TI something something ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: PICKACHUP ??? ??? ??? ??? ???



??? ??? ??? ??? ???

Offline Switchblade

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Mar 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 38
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-0
Re: What OS do you use?? (poll)
« Reply #44 on: June 07, 2017, 01:25:21 pm »
I use several operating systems.  I normally run Windows 10, Ubuntu and Kali Linux nearly the same, Zorin OS very little, and Pinguy OS, Elementary OS, and RemixOS pretty much nil.  All except Windows 10 are VM's though  :blah:
Does an andriod OS in a vm run well, @Switchblade?

I tried running RemixOS in Virtual Box because it is supposed to be several times faster than Bluestacks. However, due probably to restrictions or something, I could not sign in with my Google account to test apps.  The OS itself seem to run kinda slow even though I gave it 4 GB of ram.  I think it would run a lot better in a dual boot.  There are also plain Android x86 vm downloads.

http://www.osboxes.org/virtualbox-images/


 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games