Join us on Discord!
You can help CodeWalrus stay online by donating here.

[theoretical][debate][TI-84+CE]About porting Axe Parser to color calculators

Started by Agothro, January 04, 2015, 06:02:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Agothro

Axe Parser, for the uninitiated (probably the small minority on this site) is a development tool (compiler kit) and programming language for the TI-8{3|4}+(SE) (henceforth the TI-84). Many games have been written with it. Now, those games are not easily ported to any other calculator (they have to be rewritten.)

I'm particularly interested in making a port that can run decently on an TI84+CSE. I wouldn't make it myself, since I'm not an ASM programmer (yet), but maybe one day...

Upon compilation, you'd choose a graphics mode:

Mode 0 would be the native resolution of the TI-84 (96x64)
Mode 1 could be the native resolution of the TI-84+CSE, HP Prime, nSpire CX, and  (320x240)
Mode 2 could be half resolution for the those calcs (160x120)
Mode 3 could be the native resolution of the Casio FX-CG10 (384x216)

etc.

and zoom mode could be set to 1x, 2x, etc. Lines and pixels would be doubled appropriately.

color modes:

Mode 0 would be Black and White.
Mode 1 would be 4-Gray.
Mode 2 would be 8-color. (set from a palette of colors per program)
Mode 3 would be 16-color (again set from a pallette)
Mode 4 would be 256-color. This would be enough, at least for now.

My first theoretical approach is a port to the 320x240 calcs. Let's do an example of scaling here, if we have a program written for a TI-84 originally (100% of current Axe programs)

So, let's say the mode is Graphics:0/Disp:2x/Color:1.

Let's say there's a centered display.

Pretend this image was centered well, ok?