Join us on Discord!
You can help CodeWalrus stay online by donating here.

Basic Pacman

Started by xMarminq_, November 29, 2016, 01:15:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

xMarminq_

Hi. This is a project I will be doing alongside Time.
It is pretty self explanatory, as this game has been done by @MateoConLechuga .
But since I am a BASIC beginner, you may have seen me ask a ton of questions.
But I have a cton of things on its to-do list, like:
•Colored text, to easily differentiate everything, which requires that library program, please correct me
•AI
•A somewhat of a character that looks like this ៴, for a pacman going up, as i already have < > and ^
•Pacman controls
•Everything but the level design

• Calculators owned: Ti-84 Plus CE, Ti-84 Plus (can be borrowed from my school)
I don't associate with associations

aetios

(edited your message, you don't have to censor stuff like 'c' when it's totally obvious ;))

Looks interesting. It's on the CE, isn't it? I would recommend making the ghosts a single letter, maybe an O or something. The reason is that they're quite hard to distinguish right now. When you add in colors, you can also just color them to distinguish, further removing the need for different letters.
Looks good so far, though! How is the speed? I don't have a CE, so I can't test :)
ceci n'est pas une signature

xMarminq_

All I have is the level design, and I have bronchitis  :'(
How do you make colored letters using the library program for home screen BASIC?
How can you detect certain letters/numbers at a certain coordinate?

E37

I would have a string that is the screen which is updated along with the screen. You may even want to just display the string to update the screen.
I don't know how laggy displaying a string that takes up the whole screen is, you will have to try it. Using output instead of disp makes it so the text wraps.
If you have doors installed, there are a bunch of libs for programming which could be helpful.