We're on Discord! Please join our server now if you don't want to miss anything! (More info) | Join the UCC4 contest! (More info)

* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: KnightOS  (Read 9049 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Juju

  • aka Yuki Kagayaki aka J̵̭͕͇ù̞̭̝̯̦j̴̭̙̗͖͡ù͏͓̲̕
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Server Maintenance
  • Moderator
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Inside a walrus
  • Posts: 3241
  • Post Rating Ratio: +37/-2
  • Couch potato
    • jul.savard
    • juju2143
    • @juju2143
    • juju2143
    • @julosoft
    • juju-kun
    • /u/juju2143
    • juju2143
    • @juju2143
    • Juju's shed
  • Gender: Female
  • WalriiPoints: 99999
KnightOS
« on: November 18, 2014, 01:33:53 pm »
http://juju.codewalr.us/emu.html

Just trying out something.


EDIT (DJ) made it external link because it will make some people's older computers freeze otherwise >.<
« Last Edit: November 19, 2014, 11:21:31 pm by DJ Omnimaga »


  • Calculators owned: TI-83+ (dead?), Casio Prizm (also dead???)
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: A lot
Read Zarmina!
YUKI-CHAAAANNNN
In the beginning there was walrii. In the end there will be walrii. All hail our supreme leader :walrii: --Snektron

if you wanna throw money at me and/or CodeWalrus monthly it's here

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2014, 01:49:57 pm »
Whoa it's pretty cool that you got this running here. :D It totally lags my browser though (and maxes a whole cpu core out O.O).
* Streetwalrus enables e10s to try

Edit : OK lol e10s totally breaks it (maybe it's because of vimperator but I'm too lazy to turn it off :P).
« Last Edit: November 18, 2014, 01:53:48 pm by Streetwalrus »

Offline Juju

  • aka Yuki Kagayaki aka J̵̭͕͇ù̞̭̝̯̦j̴̭̙̗͖͡ù͏͓̲̕
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Server Maintenance
  • Moderator
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Inside a walrus
  • Posts: 3241
  • Post Rating Ratio: +37/-2
  • Couch potato
    • jul.savard
    • juju2143
    • @juju2143
    • juju2143
    • @julosoft
    • juju-kun
    • /u/juju2143
    • juju2143
    • @juju2143
    • Juju's shed
  • Gender: Female
  • WalriiPoints: 99999
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2014, 02:49:00 pm »
Yeah, it will be pretty useful if and when we'll get some nice KnightOS packages in the downloads section eventually.
  • Calculators owned: TI-83+ (dead?), Casio Prizm (also dead???)
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: A lot
Read Zarmina!
YUKI-CHAAAANNNN
In the beginning there was walrii. In the end there will be walrii. All hail our supreme leader :walrii: --Snektron

if you wanna throw money at me and/or CodeWalrus monthly it's here

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Moderator
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 19052
  • Post Rating Ratio: +101/-5
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2014, 11:04:16 pm »
Yeah I agree. I think this should be used mostly for the future arcade, though. If this site gets an arcade like Omni had it will be calc-only material or at least ports of calc games, and being able to disallow exiting games and launching them instantly, while also being able to extract highscores would be amazing.

However, I don't think we should implement TI-OS support since it will require uploading a ROM for the user, unless you implement some ROM uploader that doesn't keep a ROM copy on the server like jsTIfied. So yeah people might have to port some games :P


SirCMpwn really needs to make this emulator less laggy, though. It's awesome but on my Intel Core i7 in CHrome and Opera it's like if I was running Crysis 2 maxed out. This might also explain the server lag if there is any PHP code in this.
« Last Edit: November 18, 2014, 11:06:09 pm by DJ Omnimaga »
  • Calculators owned: TI-84 Plus C Silver Edition, TI-84 Plus CE, Casio fx-CG10
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nintendo Switch, Playstation TV

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline aeTIos

  • Dabbler in C
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Ede, NL
  • Posts: 1049
  • Post Rating Ratio: +12/-0
  • hi
    • r_vdijk
    • /u/aetios
    • aetios
  • Gender: Male
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2014, 10:16:43 am »
How? I am not getting any lag, and I'm running a mobile i5 O.o
ceci n'est pas une signature

Offline pimathbrainiac

  • Full User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 422
  • Post Rating Ratio: +2/-1
  • Formerly Banned CW Co-Founder Turned Lurker
    • pimathbrainiac
    • @pimathbrainiac
  • Gender: Other
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2014, 01:04:45 pm »
I'm getting lag myself. Maybe GPU has more to do with it than CPU?
Well, I'm bach here too!

Offline aeTIos

  • Dabbler in C
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Ede, NL
  • Posts: 1049
  • Post Rating Ratio: +12/-0
  • hi
    • r_vdijk
    • /u/aetios
    • aetios
  • Gender: Male
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2014, 04:05:01 pm »
Err, actually... I'm getting lag, especially on Phoenix :P
ceci n'est pas une signature

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Moderator
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 19052
  • Post Rating Ratio: +101/-5
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #7 on: November 19, 2014, 05:26:14 pm »
Yeah lots of lag in Phoenix and my computer fans spin like crazy
  • Calculators owned: TI-84 Plus C Silver Edition, TI-84 Plus CE, Casio fx-CG10
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nintendo Switch, Playstation TV

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline matrefeytontias

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: France
  • Posts: 200
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-1
  • Axe metalhead of vengence
    • @matrefeytontias
    • matrefeytontias
    • matrefeytontias
  • Gender: Male
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #8 on: November 19, 2014, 06:24:35 pm »
Haha yeah z80e is in the "work first, optimize later" stage.
  • Calculators owned: TI-83+.fr, TI-Nspire CAS prototype, TI-84+ CSE, TI-Nspire CX
My TI games (some got their own article on non-calc websites !) : http://www.ticalc.org/archives/files/authors/112/11202.html

My moozik (100% free metal) : http://www.soundcloud.com/matrefeytontias

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #9 on: November 19, 2014, 06:37:39 pm »
The problem is that the emulator was not really made for browsers. I can actually run the PC version at something like 300MHz. :P

Offline Juju

  • aka Yuki Kagayaki aka J̵̭͕͇ù̞̭̝̯̦j̴̭̙̗͖͡ù͏͓̲̕
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Server Maintenance
  • Moderator
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Inside a walrus
  • Posts: 3241
  • Post Rating Ratio: +37/-2
  • Couch potato
    • jul.savard
    • juju2143
    • @juju2143
    • juju2143
    • @julosoft
    • juju-kun
    • /u/juju2143
    • juju2143
    • @juju2143
    • Juju's shed
  • Gender: Female
  • WalriiPoints: 99999
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #10 on: November 19, 2014, 06:46:25 pm »
Yeah, an arcade based on calc games would be pretty cool. KnightOS can launch games without going through the castle menu and for the high scores, you would probably be able to look in the RAM, but that's game by game. A ROM uploader would be doable entierely in Javascript with HTML5 storage. And we have a few people here who works on KnightOS stuff iirc, guess he can always help us.

Anyway, the emulator works fine on Chrome with computers I tested with 4GB RAM. On this netbook with 1GB RAM it's kinda laggy, but usable. Well, at least it's better than nothing.
  • Calculators owned: TI-83+ (dead?), Casio Prizm (also dead???)
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: A lot
Read Zarmina!
YUKI-CHAAAANNNN
In the beginning there was walrii. In the end there will be walrii. All hail our supreme leader :walrii: --Snektron

if you wanna throw money at me and/or CodeWalrus monthly it's here

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #11 on: November 19, 2014, 06:52:10 pm »
I thnk Firefox is the only browser supposed to run it really well for now due to asm.js (that iirc Chrome doesn't have).

Offline Juju

  • aka Yuki Kagayaki aka J̵̭͕͇ù̞̭̝̯̦j̴̭̙̗͖͡ù͏͓̲̕
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Server Maintenance
  • Moderator
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Inside a walrus
  • Posts: 3241
  • Post Rating Ratio: +37/-2
  • Couch potato
    • jul.savard
    • juju2143
    • @juju2143
    • juju2143
    • @julosoft
    • juju-kun
    • /u/juju2143
    • juju2143
    • @juju2143
    • Juju's shed
  • Gender: Female
  • WalriiPoints: 99999
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #12 on: November 19, 2014, 07:10:15 pm »
asm.js stuff runs pretty well on Chrome. You just need a decent computer. Of course, your mileage may vary.
  • Calculators owned: TI-83+ (dead?), Casio Prizm (also dead???)
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: A lot
Read Zarmina!
YUKI-CHAAAANNNN
In the beginning there was walrii. In the end there will be walrii. All hail our supreme leader :walrii: --Snektron

if you wanna throw money at me and/or CodeWalrus monthly it's here

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Moderator
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 19052
  • Post Rating Ratio: +101/-5
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #13 on: November 19, 2014, 10:50:21 pm »
I got a quad core 2.8 GHz with 8 GB of RAM so maybe it's my GPU?  Anyway I assume it will improve in terms of speed in the future, else not many people will use it. If jsTIfied CSE emulation can run at full speed on this computer then I'm sure it would be possible to improve this KOS emulator to run just as fast. It just takes quite a lot of work and we have to be patient. >.<
  • Calculators owned: TI-84 Plus C Silver Edition, TI-84 Plus CE, Casio fx-CG10
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nintendo Switch, Playstation TV

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #14 on: November 19, 2014, 11:17:54 pm »
The emulator is purely CPU based.

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games