Join us on Discord!
You can help CodeWalrus stay online by donating here.

I'm giving up on programming.

Started by kegwaan, April 27, 2016, 12:24:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

kegwaan

For a while, I've been telling myself and others that I'm a programmer.
But I'm not. And if I am, I'm a pretty trash programmer. I've never finished a project that's worthy of anything. Remember when I tried to make Fallout 84+ and got no where, then gave up on it? And Rocket League 84+ -- forget about it, it's just not going to happen.
And that's just calculator stuff -- I haven't mentioned anything about actual, computer programming. I've yet to be even remotely useful with a language. I've tried to learn C++, Python, HTML/CSS/JavaScript, and all I've learned is that I'm trash at programming.

And programming isn't the only thing I suck at. Just a little bit ago I got back from a Jazz Festival where I played the drums. And just as I thought I was getting better at them (this is my first year playing) some kid had to put me to shame. At that moment, I realized there are so many things I'm just not cut out for.

So that's why I won't be on often. And I definitely won't be working on any projects. I still might visit CodeWalrus a bit, but I'm no longer a programmer (if I even was), I am just here to observe.
  • Calculators owned: TI-84+ SE, TI-84+ CSE
"If it's stupid and it works, it's not stupid."

Dream of Omnimaga

Hi Kegwaan

I'm sorry to hear. I can understand the feeling, though. I myself never got able to climb further than TI-BASIC and hybrid TI-BASIC-like languages (notice for example how I released two Axe games in 2010 then another in 2013, only to switch back to TI-BASIC afterwards). Don't feel bad about it, though. There are several CodeWalrus members who have never programmed anything serious, but are still sticking around.