* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: Sqrxz levels won't show...  (Read 170 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Switchblade

  • New User
  • Join Date: Mar 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 4
  • Post Rating Ratio: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Sqrxz levels won't show...
« on: March 14, 2017, 12:37:25 am »
I have downloaded several Sqrxz levels from ticalc for my TI-86.  However, except for the 3 levels that come with Sqrxz, none show up in the level selection screen.  Does anyone have any hints? Thanks.



Offline _iPhoenix_

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Mar 2017
  • Location: Encoded in Binary.
  • Posts: 57
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-1
  • I could be DJ iPhoenix, I guess
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sqrxz levels won't show...
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2017, 12:40:36 am »
Are you sure the version you downloaded was for the right calculator?
  • Calculators owned: TI-84+ CE, TI-85

Offline Switchblade

  • New User
  • Join Date: Mar 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 4
  • Post Rating Ratio: +0/-0
    • View Profile

Online DJ Omnimaga

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Topic Management
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 17448
  • Post Rating Ratio: +83/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sqrxz levels won't show...
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2017, 01:23:49 am »
Hm good question, I only got into SQRXZ recently so I doubt I would be able to help much (I really need to dig up my silverlink from the closet to see if TI-Connect can detect a 86 with it), but I think @JamesV or @Travis might own that calculator and might be able to help (especially JamesV since he made the CE version). I wonder if you should backup your calculator content then reset its RAM? On 83+ calcs this often fixes issues.

Which external levels have you tried and which copy of SQRXZ on ticalc have you used? It's possible that there are multiple versions available for the same calculator such as 1.0, 1.1, etc, and that some might have compatibility issues.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2017, 01:25:26 am by DJ Omnimaga »
  • Calculators owned: TI-73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX, HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Travis

  • Full User
  • Safe-haven access
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 117
  • Post Rating Ratio: +3/-0
    • 8361
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sqrxz levels won't show...
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2017, 11:18:43 pm »
I seem to remember that TI Connect on Windows ditched support for “legacy” calcs like the 86 even back when it first came out, though I could be remembering that wrong. But yeah, if you (@Switchblade) could answer DJ Omnimaga's questions, and also tell us which linking software and cable you're using, that might provide a clue. Also, you might try using TILP to transfer the files to the calculator if you haven't already; I seem to recall that there were a few strangely-formatted 86 files out there that can confuse some link programs into transferring bad data. As I recall, TILP can properly handle several of the nonstandard variations.
« Last Edit: March 16, 2017, 11:21:18 pm by Travis »
  • Calculators owned: TI-81, TI-82, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89, TI-89 Titanium, 2 × HP 50g
ticalc.org staff member—http://www.ticalc.org/

Online DJ Omnimaga

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Topic Management
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 17448
  • Post Rating Ratio: +83/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sqrxz levels won't show...
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2017, 03:38:36 am »
The TI page says that TI-Connect supports the TI-86: https://education.ti.com/en/products/computer-software/ti-connect-sw

I'm unsure which cables are supported, though. Also I indeed remember that certain programs had issues being sent, such as Joltima, regardless of the calc, due to weird compiling formats being used.
  • Calculators owned: TI-73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX, HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Switchblade

  • New User
  • Join Date: Mar 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 4
  • Post Rating Ratio: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Sqrxz levels won't show...
« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2017, 04:13:58 pm »
Sorry for the late answer, I've been n vacation.  I am using a it silver link with TILP.  Every thing I send to either my 83 plus or 86 sends.  The only problem is, that on the level selection screen in SQRXZ, the levels won't show up, other than the default levels.  The strings are there however, as can be told by looking through the the contents of the memory.  Unfortunately, my 86 had a really bad crash recently.  My younger brother didn't know what he was doing, and started a game of Chessmaster 86 with computer playing against the computer.  The game reach a point where the two moves where simply being repeated, and it was impossible to exit.  I pulled out the batteries, and days later, it still won't turn on.   :banghead:

Online DJ Omnimaga

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Topic Management
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 17448
  • Post Rating Ratio: +83/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sqrxz levels won't show...
« Reply #7 on: March 17, 2017, 04:24:37 pm »
Was the crash before trying to install SQRXZ or after your first post?
  • Calculators owned: TI-73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX, HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Travis

  • Full User
  • Safe-haven access
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 117
  • Post Rating Ratio: +3/-0
    • 8361
    • View Profile
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sqrxz levels won't show...
« Reply #8 on: March 17, 2017, 04:46:54 pm »
I feel your pain; 86 crashes can be a pain to recover from sometimes. ;)

The worst crash I had, I had to remove all the AAA batteries and the backup battery, and I think I even put a piece of tape on the ON key to hold it down for a few hours with the batteries removed (somehow that seems to help). It should eventually reset and work again if you do that, even if it takes a while and a number of attempts.

Usually it doesn't take that long, though; often removing the AAAs and holding ON for a minute or so will be enough to drain the remaining charge and allow the processor to hard-reset when you reinstall the AAAs.

Hope that helps!
« Last Edit: March 17, 2017, 04:54:51 pm by Travis »
  • Calculators owned: TI-81, TI-82, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89, TI-89 Titanium, 2 × HP 50g
ticalc.org staff member—http://www.ticalc.org/

Online DJ Omnimaga

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Forum Maintenance
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Topic Management
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 17448
  • Post Rating Ratio: +83/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sqrxz levels won't show...
« Reply #9 on: March 17, 2017, 07:19:52 pm »
I didn't know 86 crashes were that nasty. On the 83, usually you only need to pull a battery and get a mem clear.

Also what is your TI-86 ROM version? Maybe SQRXZ levels aren't compatible with certain newer ROMs
  • Calculators owned: TI-73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX, HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games