* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: About porting Axe Parser to color calculators  (Read 12592 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline aeTIos

  • Dabbler in C
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Ede, NL
  • Posts: 1049
  • Post Rating Ratio: +12/-0
  • hi
    • r_vdijk
    • /u/aetios
    • aetios
  • Gender: Male
Re: Reimplementation of Axe
« Reply #15 on: January 05, 2015, 01:03:26 am »
It's probably possible to write Axe for the Nspire/Prime/somecasiocalc. Thing is however that the whole Axe syntax is centered around how things work on the z80 and also around how input works on the 84 series, namely using tokens.
That said I can't do anything but applaud a port/reimplementation of Axe to another platform :D
ceci n'est pas une signature

Offline Agothro

  • New User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: New York, New York
  • Posts: 15
  • Post Rating Ratio: +0/-0
  • Should probably be working right now
  • Gender: Male
Re: Reimplementation of Axe
« Reply #16 on: January 05, 2015, 01:20:49 am »
Axe is fully compiled. If someone were to make a version of it they'd need to be very familiar with SH4 assembly for the Casio Prizm and newer 9860's. If they wanted compatibility for the older models they'd need to be familiar with whatever processor those models use as well (SH3?). As I said though, I think it's pretty unlikely.

I could perhaps write a version in C. Do you think that'd work with an nspire?
...in America!
– Bandit Keith

Offline Art_of_camelot

  • Full User
  • Safe-haven access
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: Dr. Light's Laboratory
  • Posts: 99
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-1
    • Omnimaga
Re: Reimplementation of Axe
« Reply #17 on: January 05, 2015, 04:46:59 am »
The nspire does support C yes, but asm would be more optimized.

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18735
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Reimplementation of Axe
« Reply #18 on: January 05, 2015, 05:28:15 am »
I would say that maybe there could be a brand new Axe utilizing an identical syntax and use a computer for compiling to multiple platforms simultaneously, but on the side, someone could write a 83+ Axe to 84+CSE Axe program converter for people who just want to play older games on their color model. Actually, there could even be a converter for other calcs with no speed restrictions and the option to scale graphics up.

This is a mockup of my idea:


The first would basically be 96x64 spanning across 96x128 on 160x240, while the second one would be 288x64 spanning across 288x192 on 320x240.
However, this example is a 6 MHz game. Even with the Full command I doubt a CSE version would run at 100% speed, which is why I slowed down the modified screenshots above to 12 FPS instead of about 18. Perhaps the first, especially considering it's in half-res mode, would run closer to original game speed.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2015, 05:52:00 am by DJ Omnimaga »
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Agothro

  • New User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: New York, New York
  • Posts: 15
  • Post Rating Ratio: +0/-0
  • Should probably be working right now
  • Gender: Male
Re: Reimplementation of Axe
« Reply #19 on: January 05, 2015, 05:52:17 am »
I would say that maybe there could be a brand new Axe utilizing an identical syntax and use a computer for compiling to multiple platforms simultaneously, but on the side, someone could write a 83+ Axe to 84+CSE Axe program converter for people who just want to play older games on their color model. Actually, there could even be a converter for other calcs with no speed restrictions and the option to scale graphics up.

This is a mockup of my idea:


The first would basically be 96x128 on 160x240, while the second one would be 288x192 on 320x240.
However, this example is a 6 MHz game. Even with the Full command I doubt a CSE version would run at 100% speed, which is why I slowed down the modified screenshots above to 12 FPS instead of about 18. Perhaps the first, especially considering it's in half-res mode, would run closer to original game speed.


Nice mockup, matches my idea. Any reason to keep scanlines?
...in America!
– Bandit Keith

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18735
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Reimplementation of Axe
« Reply #20 on: January 05, 2015, 05:54:08 am »
Because by only drawing every two row of pixels, it doubles rendering speed. Remember that on a CSE, filling the entire 320x240 screen with just 1 single color takes approximately 0.25 seconds, meaning 4 images/seconds. My game runs at 20 FPS on the 6 MHz 83+.

Plus we have to take both rendering and game code speed into account anyway (for example, if this game was 288x192 with no scanlines and ran at 15 MHz on a color model, it would probably run at 8-10 FPS)
« Last Edit: January 05, 2015, 05:57:13 am by DJ Omnimaga »
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Agothro

  • New User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: New York, New York
  • Posts: 15
  • Post Rating Ratio: +0/-0
  • Should probably be working right now
  • Gender: Male
Re: Reimplementation of Axe
« Reply #21 on: January 05, 2015, 06:19:09 am »
Because by only drawing every two row of pixels, it doubles rendering speed. Remember that on a CSE, filling the entire 320x240 screen with just 1 single color takes approximately 0.25 seconds, meaning 4 images/seconds. My game runs at 20 FPS on the 6 MHz 83+.

Plus we have to take both rendering and game code speed into account anyway (for example, if this game was 288x192 with no scanlines and ran at 15 MHz on a color model, it would probably run at 8-10 FPS)

So do you just write differences to screen or the whole image?
...in America!
– Bandit Keith

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18735
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Reimplementation of Axe
« Reply #22 on: January 05, 2015, 06:32:25 am »
Differences to screen. The black rows remains untouched. When you draw a 8x8 sprite, it just spaces its 8 rows out.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Keoni29

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 284
  • Post Rating Ratio: +8/-0
    • 8times8
  • Gender: Male
Re: Reimplementation of Axe
« Reply #23 on: January 05, 2015, 08:02:38 am »
The graphics problem could be tackled by making a graphics layer for every calc. The cpu problem can be solved by using an interpreted language such as Forth.

These solutions will always be slower than native code.

That said: some games do not require speed. An example is a Z-machine which interprets text adventures.
If you like my work, why not give me an internet?

Offline Dark Storm

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Lyon (France)
  • Posts: 23
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-0
    • Planète Casio
  • Gender: Male
Re: Reimplementation of Axe
« Reply #24 on: January 05, 2015, 10:11:44 pm »
Axe is fully compiled. If someone were to make a version of it they'd need to be very familiar with SH4 assembly for the Casio Prizm and newer 9860's. If they wanted compatibility for the older models they'd need to be familiar with whatever processor those models use as well (SH3?). As I said though, I think it's pretty unlikely.
Ok, so I know why it's hard to make support for other calcs. I haven't enough skills in ASM, so Prizm should wait before see Axe games on it. :(

In other hand, I've so many projects to finish, Arcuz, MMGOC, my Web browser (with Lephenixnoir's engine), Calc Center, Serial support for FiXos, the list is very long ^^
I need a new laptop, and quick (my old is dead :( )
French young Casio programmer.
If I do some (big) mistakes in english, could you correct me?

Offline Keoni29

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 284
  • Post Rating Ratio: +8/-0
    • 8times8
  • Gender: Male
Re: Reimplementation of Axe
« Reply #25 on: January 05, 2015, 10:15:22 pm »
I also have way too many projects going on, but I don't work on them simultaneously. It's easy to get distracted and never get anything done. It's best to work on a project for a few days and if you get stuck move on to the next project and work on that for a while. Eventually you will bring the amt. of projects back to a reasonable number and you can maybe start learning assembly language on the side.
If you like my work, why not give me an internet?

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18735
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Reimplementation of Axe
« Reply #26 on: January 05, 2015, 11:40:30 pm »
The cpu problem can be solved by using an interpreted language such as Forth.

If such Axe compiler supported the HP Prime or Ndless, I doubt that CPU would be much of a problem, considering those calcs are 400 and 150 MHz respectively (assuming the HP Prime was opened to ASM dev and that the program wasn't HP PPL, but even in HP PPL it might still be fast enough)
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Duke "Tape" Eiyeron

  • Urist McEiyolobster
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: (V)(-_(//));(V)
  • Posts: 1636
  • Post Rating Ratio: +11/-2
  • Fanciest Walrus of the oceans.
    • @@Eiyeron
    • Eiyeron
    • /u/Eiyeron
    • Eiyeron
    • Rétro-Actif : Rétro/Prog/Blog
  • Gender: Male
Re: Reimplementation of Axe
« Reply #27 on: January 06, 2015, 10:44:04 pm »
Axe is fully compiled. If someone were to make a version of it they'd need to be very familiar with SH4 assembly for the Casio Prizm and newer 9860's. If they wanted compatibility for the older models they'd need to be familiar with whatever processor those models use as well (SH3?). As I said though, I think it's pretty unlikely.
Ok, so I know why it's hard to make support for other calcs. I haven't enough skills in ASM, so Prizm should wait before see Axe games on it. :(

In other hand, I've so many projects to finish, Arcuz, MMGOC, my Web browser (with Lephenixnoir's engine), Calc Center, Serial support for FiXos, the list is very long ^^
I need a new laptop, and quick (my old is dead :( )

Why isn't FiXOS the first of your list? >:|
  • Calculators owned: A lot.

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18735
  • Post Rating Ratio: +95/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Reimplementation of Axe
« Reply #28 on: January 06, 2015, 11:16:47 pm »
It could be because it will have fewer users than the official OS since not as many people are aware that it exists. Also, many people might like to switch to a custom OS that is better than the official Casio OS, but still want to use the official OS too in order to run their favorite BASIC and ASM/C games, so until it supports dual-booting, it will probably take a while after being finished that it reaches a significant userbase (a much faster BASIC interpreter or Axe language would be an huge seller, though). I really hope it gets finished, though, same for KnightOS 84+.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Duke "Tape" Eiyeron

  • Urist McEiyolobster
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: (V)(-_(//));(V)
  • Posts: 1636
  • Post Rating Ratio: +11/-2
  • Fanciest Walrus of the oceans.
    • @@Eiyeron
    • Eiyeron
    • /u/Eiyeron
    • Eiyeron
    • Rétro-Actif : Rétro/Prog/Blog
  • Gender: Male
Re: Reimplementation of Axe
« Reply #29 on: January 07, 2015, 07:03:14 am »
(It was just because the project stalled for too much time that I wanted it to get a littlw nudge, not because the user base).
It's a shame that we won't have something like Axe on another platforms. It's holy useful.
  • Calculators owned: A lot.

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games