* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: Zampy's Quest  (Read 8471 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18789
  • Post Rating Ratio: +97/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zampy's Quest
« Reply #60 on: January 20, 2016, 01:02:45 am »
ah sorry to hear. I find it weird that in USA you have exams at the very start of school year instead of at the end, though >.<

Is there a way to play past level 1 by changing the code or something? I checked the code and couldn't figure how D:
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline alexgt

  • Just your friendly neighborhood Ninja Stach Fancy Iron Man
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Behind you
  • Posts: 2611
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-1
  • Something should go here...
    • /u/alexgt9123
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zampy's Quest
« Reply #61 on: January 20, 2016, 02:24:52 pm »
Well we have two exams one in the middle of the year and one at the end

And to change the level you have to go to a subroutine named RunMainMenu() which is below DrawMainMenu() which is below ExitGame() which is right under the main function START() so it isn't that far down :P

then you will look for a line that looks like this:
Code: [Select]
AFiles("LEVEL.1-1")->M1;

You can change it to any of the following preset levels:
 - LEVEL.LSelect
 - TestLevel
 - Level1-1
 - LEVEL.1-1
 - MenuWorld

You can also make levels on your own they just have to make a matrix that is at least 20x15

the block IDs are:
 Grass - 1
 Dirt - 2
 Brick - 3
 Flowers - 4-6
 Door Base - 7
 Door Top - 8

Just put those in the matrix and use this in the home screen and it will create the level in the App
Code: [Select]
M1->AFiles("Whatever you want to name your level")
M1 is just what I usually use for making levels but you can use anything you want, be careful because when you run Zampy's Quest it sets M1 ot 1x1 erasing it.

Make sure that everything you put in AFiles() is surrounded by quotes ;)
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84+, Ti-Nspire, Hp Prime, Broken HP Prime, HP 48SX

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18789
  • Post Rating Ratio: +97/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zampy's Quest
« Reply #62 on: January 20, 2016, 08:59:03 pm »
Ok thanks for the tips. I hope you eventually add new levels and continue working on the game in the future. The engine seems promising so far despite some glitches (eg we can't fall between two blocks)
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Unicorn

  • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Super User
  • CW Contest II - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Posts: 2823
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-2
  • make :PICKACHUP: a thing!
    • Unicorn808
    • 114/11432
    • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zampy's Quest
« Reply #63 on: January 21, 2016, 07:04:14 am »
Ah, I was wondering about the levels. Yeah, it would be nice if you could create more levels, as well as implement a gui to select them. ;)
  • Calculators owned: I own all of them: PICKACHUP TI 84+ CSE TI 83+ SE TI something something ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: PICKACHUP ??? ??? ??? ??? ???



??? ??? ??? ??? ???

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18789
  • Post Rating Ratio: +97/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zampy's Quest
« Reply #64 on: January 21, 2016, 08:58:14 am »
By the way, do you plan to use the up arrow to enter doors? That seems like it would be a better choice since that's what many old platformers like Mario used.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline alexgt

  • Just your friendly neighborhood Ninja Stach Fancy Iron Man
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Behind you
  • Posts: 2611
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-1
  • Something should go here...
    • /u/alexgt9123
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zampy's Quest
« Reply #65 on: January 21, 2016, 12:56:13 pm »
By the way, do you plan to use the up arrow to enter doors? That seems like it would be a better choice since that's what many old platformers like Mario used.
Yep, on the calc you will use the up arrow, and on the PC it will be down (since the up arrow is used for jump).

Ok thanks for the tips. I hope you eventually add new levels and continue working on the game in the future. The engine seems promising so far despite some glitches (eg we can't fall between two blocks)
Yeah, that glitch i am working on and the engine might slow down once I add enemies. But don't worry I will keep working on it ;)

Ah, I was wondering about the levels. Yeah, it would be nice if you could create more levels, as well as implement a gui to select them. ;)
The GUI to select them is a level in itself, LEVEL.LSelect is a level that has doors from world 1,2, and 3
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84+, Ti-Nspire, Hp Prime, Broken HP Prime, HP 48SX

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18789
  • Post Rating Ratio: +97/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zampy's Quest
« Reply #66 on: January 24, 2016, 08:01:52 am »
Oh right. Also I wonder if you would be able to make it so that at the game start, it detects if you are on a PC or calculator by calculating the time it takes to execute a FOR A FROM 0 TO 999999 DO or something like that (eg if it takes longer then it detects the platform as a real calculator)? There could be an in-game option where you choose Calc, PC or Auto and the default would be Auto (the options being in case your computer is 15 years old and is detected as a calculator).

Also another idea I had since the levels are relatively short would be to instead make the game exploration-based, so that you need to get keys or items in specific levels to unlock other doors. Each level would basically be an area linked by doors and each level would basically be multiple areas. There could be a grass area, a cavern and a dungeon. It would be closer to an adventure game.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline alexgt

  • Just your friendly neighborhood Ninja Stach Fancy Iron Man
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Behind you
  • Posts: 2611
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-1
  • Something should go here...
    • /u/alexgt9123
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zampy's Quest
« Reply #67 on: January 24, 2016, 08:05:34 am »
Yeah, I might do a adventure themed avenue but I want to see how much enemies slow down the game first. Multiple rooms to a level might be a problem since I never designed the game to handle that <_<
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84+, Ti-Nspire, Hp Prime, Broken HP Prime, HP 48SX

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games