* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: Zampy's Quest  (Read 8510 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline alexgt

  • Just your friendly neighborhood Ninja Stach Fancy Iron Man
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Behind you
  • Posts: 2611
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-1
  • Something should go here...
    • /u/alexgt9123
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zampy's Quest
« Reply #30 on: January 02, 2016, 01:16:55 am »
Update!!
 - Added dynamic map drawing/ collision
 - Sped up the game at least 2X!
 - Made jumping smoother
 - Added animation to Zampy
 - Squashed many minor bugs ;)
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84+, Ti-Nspire, Hp Prime, Broken HP Prime, HP 48SX

Offline Unicorn

  • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Super User
  • CW Contest II - 2nd place
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Posts: 2823
  • Post Rating Ratio: +5/-2
  • make :PICKACHUP: a thing!
    • Unicorn808
    • 114/11432
    • ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zampy's Quest
« Reply #31 on: January 02, 2016, 06:29:23 am »
Awesome! Can we get a screenshot?
  • Calculators owned: I own all of them: PICKACHUP TI 84+ CSE TI 83+ SE TI something something ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: PICKACHUP ??? ??? ??? ??? ???



??? ??? ??? ??? ???

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18795
  • Post Rating Ratio: +98/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zampy's Quest
« Reply #32 on: January 03, 2016, 02:30:07 am »
I agree that a screenshot would be nice. :) I am curious about what you have so far. What do you mean by dynamic map drawing by the way? Do you mean auto-tiles like in RPG Maker?
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline alexgt

  • Just your friendly neighborhood Ninja Stach Fancy Iron Man
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Behind you
  • Posts: 2611
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-1
  • Something should go here...
    • /u/alexgt9123
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zampy's Quest
« Reply #33 on: January 03, 2016, 03:39:22 am »
I mean for dynamic map drawing is that it creates the GROB the correct size and only uses the correct amount of tiles on either directoin when I draw it. for ex: if I have a 100x15 map it would load a 1600x240 GROB, anyways it is a lot more efficient than what I had before xD

Here is the screenshot , the visual glitch in the back of Zampy is just the way I had the walriis on the sprite sheet but I can fix that by fixing the image ;)

A rating is much appreciated :P
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84+, Ti-Nspire, Hp Prime, Broken HP Prime, HP 48SX

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Professional slacker
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Israel
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
  • ƎW∀⅁ ƎH⊥
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zampy's Quest
« Reply #34 on: January 03, 2016, 11:49:25 am »
Looks good, but what is that bar behind him when he faces left ? :P
  • Calculators owned: TI-80, HP 40G, TI-84 Plus rev G (yay 128k RAM), TI-83 Plus Silver Edition (broken LCD), TI-82 Stats.fr (black), TI-Nspire CX rev C (yay Nlaunchy), TI-83+ SE ViewScreen



Offline alexgt

  • Just your friendly neighborhood Ninja Stach Fancy Iron Man
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Behind you
  • Posts: 2611
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-1
  • Something should go here...
    • /u/alexgt9123
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zampy's Quest
« Reply #35 on: January 03, 2016, 04:11:26 pm »
Looks good, but what is that bar behind him when he faces left ? :P
Here is the screenshot , the visual glitch in the back of Zampy is just the way I had the walriis on the sprite sheet but I can fix that by fixing the image ;)
(I have the first walrii starting at {0,0} and the next at {23,0 so since I didn't give it it's full space part of the other walrii appears when I display the GROB. It happens in the other direction also but it just displays 1 pixel that is out of whack :P) I can fix it today though ;)
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84+, Ti-Nspire, Hp Prime, Broken HP Prime, HP 48SX

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Professional slacker
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Israel
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
  • ƎW∀⅁ ƎH⊥
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zampy's Quest
« Reply #36 on: January 04, 2016, 03:00:42 pm »
Ah ok lol, I'd guessed that it was something that simple. :P
  • Calculators owned: TI-80, HP 40G, TI-84 Plus rev G (yay 128k RAM), TI-83 Plus Silver Edition (broken LCD), TI-82 Stats.fr (black), TI-Nspire CX rev C (yay Nlaunchy), TI-83+ SE ViewScreen



Offline alexgt

  • Just your friendly neighborhood Ninja Stach Fancy Iron Man
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Behind you
  • Posts: 2611
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-1
  • Something should go here...
    • /u/alexgt9123
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zampy's Quest
« Reply #37 on: January 04, 2016, 04:23:05 pm »
Yeah, but now I am working on enemies
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84+, Ti-Nspire, Hp Prime, Broken HP Prime, HP 48SX

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18795
  • Post Rating Ratio: +98/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zampy's Quest
« Reply #38 on: January 06, 2016, 07:41:34 pm »
Wow that looks cool so far :D. You should make the background so it uses a gradient drawn in another GROB (either 1x240 stretched up or 320x240) and instead of drawing the blue background you use the gradient. I think stretching it would slow the game down, though.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline alexgt

  • Just your friendly neighborhood Ninja Stach Fancy Iron Man
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Behind you
  • Posts: 2611
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-1
  • Something should go here...
    • /u/alexgt9123
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zampy's Quest
« Reply #39 on: January 06, 2016, 10:00:40 pm »
So I don't slow the game down I just draw the whole level before play so it will be much faster. I already have a gradient background but it just wasn't loaded when I recorded the background and it is pseudo random ;).

I am on the verge of fixing a very large bug <_<
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84+, Ti-Nspire, Hp Prime, Broken HP Prime, HP 48SX

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18795
  • Post Rating Ratio: +98/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zampy's Quest
« Reply #40 on: January 10, 2016, 08:54:43 am »
Drawing the whole level before play causes serious RAM problems, though >.< (remember how much trouble I had running MinePrime?) How big are each map?

Something you could do to reduce risks of RAM running out is to make the map so it uses 8x8 tiles, but when time comes to display it on the LCD, zoom it up to 2x size. I notice your graphics don't have much details, so using 8x8 tiles instead of 16x16 and a zoomed up map, while keeping Walrii and the rest 320x240 wouldn't make graphics suffer that much.

In any case, I can't wait to try it :)

Also what is the bug?
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline alexgt

  • Just your friendly neighborhood Ninja Stach Fancy Iron Man
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Behind you
  • Posts: 2611
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-1
  • Something should go here...
    • /u/alexgt9123
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zampy's Quest
« Reply #41 on: January 10, 2016, 09:38:31 pm »
Well the level is only 100 blocks long and 15 tall so 100*16 and 15*16 isn't that bad compared to MinePrime, but when exiting Zampy's Quest you always need to use the builtin exit with Esc because that seets all the grobs to 0x0 :P

THe bug was a teleportation bug and it caused you to stick to walls but that is solved ;)

I hope I have time to make the enemies and AI :P (and level design xD)
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84+, Ti-Nspire, Hp Prime, Broken HP Prime, HP 48SX

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18795
  • Post Rating Ratio: +98/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zampy's Quest
« Reply #42 on: January 11, 2016, 07:53:45 am »
I should really implement that in future games. And good luck with AI (focus on levels first, though)
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline alexgt

  • Just your friendly neighborhood Ninja Stach Fancy Iron Man
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Behind you
  • Posts: 2611
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-1
  • Something should go here...
    • /u/alexgt9123
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zampy's Quest
« Reply #43 on: January 11, 2016, 02:37:44 pm »
but levels will be soo boring with out enemies <_<

And instead of having a whole story in the game I think I will put it in the readme to save time, I still plan to work on it after the contest though because it is the first platformer besides SWL ;) (so it will be finished eventually just like MinePrime :P)
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84+, Ti-Nspire, Hp Prime, Broken HP Prime, HP 48SX

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18795
  • Post Rating Ratio: +98/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zampy's Quest
« Reply #44 on: January 12, 2016, 08:53:31 am »
I know, but I was saying in case you run out of time. Of course you could have some test levels for the contest, though, and then work on a better level and send a second more polished version in case in the end you get extra time.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games