* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: KnightOS Updates  (Read 33183 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18799
  • Post Rating Ratio: +98/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: KnightOS Updates
« Reply #30 on: March 27, 2015, 06:17:08 pm »
Ah ok. I wish it was possible to keep the clock intact. Why TI even bothered implementing one under such circumstances is beyond me.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline jamu

  • Full User
  • Safe-haven access
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: Next to walrii
  • Posts: 36
  • Post Rating Ratio: +0/-0
    • @jamesguessis
    • @jamesguessis
    • /u/jamesguessis
    • jamesguessis
  • Gender: Male
Re: KnightOS Updates
« Reply #31 on: March 27, 2015, 06:27:19 pm »
Why they didnt also add a clock to the nspire confuses me
I have a rhythm game problem.

Offline SirCmpwn

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 81
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-0
Re: KnightOS Updates
« Reply #32 on: March 27, 2015, 07:51:30 pm »
Ah ok. I wish it was possible to keep the clock intact. Why TI even bothered implementing one under such circumstances is beyond me.

I'm not sure if the clock resets when the CPU resets, or if the boot code resets it. If the boot code does it, then it should be possible to patch it out of your boot code.

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Professional slacker
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Israel
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
  • ƎW∀⅁ ƎH⊥
  • Gender: Male
Re: KnightOS Updates
« Reply #33 on: March 27, 2015, 11:12:26 pm »
Ah ok. I wish it was possible to keep the clock intact. Why TI even bothered implementing one under such circumstances is beyond me.

I'm not sure if the clock resets when the CPU resets, or if the boot code resets it. If the boot code does it, then it should be possible to patch it out of your boot code.
Possible but dangerous. Also TI started write-protecting the boot pages in the flash chip itself.
  • Calculators owned: TI-80, HP 40G, TI-84 Plus rev G (yay 128k RAM), TI-83 Plus Silver Edition (broken LCD), TI-82 Stats.fr (black), TI-Nspire CX rev C (yay Nlaunchy), TI-83+ SE ViewScreen



Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18799
  • Post Rating Ratio: +98/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: KnightOS Updates
« Reply #34 on: March 28, 2015, 04:33:53 am »
Streetwalrus do you know when they started doing that? There was Boot 1.03 in 2011 that blocked downgrades, but it was easily circumventable by replacing your boot code. But I don't remember hearing nor reading about any further attempt at locking the monochrome Z80 calcs down afterward. IIRC even the CSE didn't have further protection either, but I could be wrong.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Streetwalrus

  • Professional slacker
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Israel
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
  • ƎW∀⅁ ƎH⊥
  • Gender: Male
Re: KnightOS Updates
« Reply #35 on: March 28, 2015, 11:45:00 am »
I don't remember but it's fairly recent. Probably around when the CSE was released. This particular protection is impossible to circumvent without opening the calc and soldering stuff into it (and it' extremely dangerous of course).
  • Calculators owned: TI-80, HP 40G, TI-84 Plus rev G (yay 128k RAM), TI-83 Plus Silver Edition (broken LCD), TI-82 Stats.fr (black), TI-Nspire CX rev C (yay Nlaunchy), TI-83+ SE ViewScreen



Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18799
  • Post Rating Ratio: +98/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: KnightOS Updates
« Reply #36 on: March 28, 2015, 04:33:48 pm »
Ah that might be it. I wonder if that could explain why the CSE in particular cannot be overclocked higher than 15 MHz? I know the SE could, but not the CSE. I will need to check the Cemetech topic again at some point to get a memory refreshing.


That said, maybe KnightOS could just backup the clock every minute? But then the issue is would developers want such thing to happen via interrupts during the execution of their games?
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline CKH4

  • Extravagant Sushi
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 872
  • Post Rating Ratio: +3/-2
  • Gender: Male
Re: KnightOS Updates
« Reply #37 on: March 28, 2015, 04:35:29 pm »
Someone did over clock the cse to 20 if I'm not mistaken. The resistors ( i think ) on it are tiny though
  • Calculators owned: TI-83+, TI-84+


Offline Streetwalrus

  • Professional slacker
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Israel
  • Posts: 2903
  • Post Rating Ratio: +20/-0
  • ƎW∀⅁ ƎH⊥
  • Gender: Male
Re: KnightOS Updates
« Reply #38 on: March 28, 2015, 07:26:13 pm »
Someone did over clock the cse to 20 if I'm not mistaken. The resistors ( i think ) on it are tiny though
This. It's feasible, just a very painstaking process.
  • Calculators owned: TI-80, HP 40G, TI-84 Plus rev G (yay 128k RAM), TI-83 Plus Silver Edition (broken LCD), TI-82 Stats.fr (black), TI-Nspire CX rev C (yay Nlaunchy), TI-83+ SE ViewScreen



Offline SirCmpwn

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 81
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-0
Re: KnightOS Updates
« Reply #39 on: March 30, 2015, 03:22:06 am »
That said, maybe KnightOS could just backup the clock every minute? But then the issue is would developers want such thing to happen via interrupts during the execution of their games?

I know of at least one modded calculator out there running a custom KnightOS kernel that clocks it up to 20 MHz.

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18799
  • Post Rating Ratio: +98/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: KnightOS Updates
« Reply #40 on: March 30, 2015, 03:29:40 am »
Oh in that post I meant the clock as in time, not the CPU frequency. My bad.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline SirCmpwn

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 81
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-0
Re: KnightOS Updates
« Reply #41 on: March 30, 2015, 03:30:59 am »
Oh in that post I meant the clock as in time, not the CPU frequency. My bad.

Sounds like a good way to thrash Flash. I don't think it's feasible.

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18799
  • Post Rating Ratio: +98/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: KnightOS Updates
« Reply #42 on: March 30, 2015, 03:32:16 am »
Ah right, forget about the idea then.

In other words, the TI-84 Plus time clock is completely useless except in games that records play time.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline SirCmpwn

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 81
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-0
Re: KnightOS Updates
« Reply #43 on: March 30, 2015, 03:33:16 am »
Ah right, forget about the idea then.

In other words, the TI-84 Plus time clock is completely useless except in games that records play time.

Well, KnightOS includes code for doing date/time math regardless of whether or not the clock is present (i.e. convert timestamps to a date/time struct), so there is some usefulness there.

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18799
  • Post Rating Ratio: +98/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: KnightOS Updates
« Reply #44 on: March 30, 2015, 03:35:59 am »
Yeah, I meant due to the fact it keeps getting reset to factory settings, though, unless I am missing or misunderstanding something.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games