* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: 3D models - A call To Arms  (Read 3170 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TheMachine02

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 356
  • Post Rating Ratio: +14/-0
Re: 3D models - A call To Arms
« Reply #15 on: May 14, 2017, 09:23:36 am »
Well, rendering scaled/rotated 2D sprite is a matter of skipping one dimension and use the exact same code as with 3d rendering. So yeah, draing only two textured triangle and rotating 4 vertex is pretty fast. That could indeed be used.

Offline c4ooo

  • Super User
  • CW Contest II Winner
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: 127.0.0.1
  • Posts: 1012
  • Post Rating Ratio: +12/-4
  • Advanced forumer
  • Gender: Male
Re: 3D models - A call To Arms
« Reply #16 on: May 14, 2017, 05:50:20 pm »
Well, rendering scaled/rotated 2D sprite is a matter of skipping one dimension and use the exact same code as with 3d rendering. So yeah, draing only two textured triangle and rotating 4 vertex is pretty fast. That could indeed be used.
If rendering rotation / scaling of 2D sprites, why not treat them as a single rectangle instead of two triangles? I dont understand the reason behind why everything 3D is made from triangles lol

Offline kotu

  • -< \'V/,,,
  • Super User
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: don't panic
  • Posts: 1160
  • Post Rating Ratio: +7/-11
  • woah
    • dj_kotu
    • @UCAy2ZF4hbc08iStnTn6jgxQ
    • rowanmedhurst
    • @romanov-psyco
    • futurerave.uk
  • Gender: Male
Re: 3D models - A call To Arms
« Reply #17 on: May 14, 2017, 06:26:03 pm »
The reason things are made from  triangles in 3D is: a polygon with 3 vertices defiines a plane - one with 4 vertices can define up to 2 planes

*edit*
so with a triangle you always know whether the whole thing is visible or not.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2017, 06:27:52 pm by kotu »
  • Calculators owned: TI 84+CE-T
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Sega Master System, Sony PlayStation 3
SUBSCRIBE TO THE FUTURERAVE.UK MAILING LIST
http://futurerave.uk

Offline c4ooo

  • Super User
  • CW Contest II Winner
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: 127.0.0.1
  • Posts: 1012
  • Post Rating Ratio: +12/-4
  • Advanced forumer
  • Gender: Male
Re: 3D models - A call To Arms
« Reply #18 on: May 14, 2017, 07:49:21 pm »
The reason things are made from  triangles in 3D is: a polygon with 3 vertices defiines a plane - one with 4 vertices can define up to 2 planes

*edit*
so with a triangle you always know whether the whole thing is visible or not.
Well i meant if it was ported to just allow 2D sprites on a 2D surface. I guess my post was confusing since i mentioned 3D :(

Offline TheMachine02

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 356
  • Post Rating Ratio: +14/-0
Re: 3D models - A call To Arms
« Reply #19 on: May 14, 2017, 08:46:52 pm »
Sure, 2D blitting method could also be programmed, but it would be very close to what textured triangle code is, and there is little point to use maybe a little more optimized code which would add a lot of weight to the already heavy program. Futhermore, there isn't many gain to be expected from a custom 2D pipeline, especially that the integration with the 3D will be harder. Better off using 3D pipeline for everything (not UI though  :P )

Offline xMarminq_

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Sep 2016
  • Location: Generic Location
  • Posts: 454
  • Post Rating Ratio: +3/-0
  • Generic Personal Text
    • @UCUWQR30oIW2fRqCNI2IDGIA
  • Gender: Male
Re: 3D models - A call To Arms
« Reply #20 on: May 15, 2017, 12:32:39 am »
You could just pull a Doom and make it look 3D
  • Calculators owned: Ti-84 Plus CE, Ti-84 Plus (can be borrowed from my school)
I don't associate with associations

Offline p2

  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Moderator
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 2293
  • Post Rating Ratio: +9/-0
  • *Wubba lubba dub dub*
    • KaliPhobos
  • Gender: Male
Re: 3D models - A call To Arms
« Reply #21 on: May 15, 2017, 08:39:17 am »
using gLib with 2D chars could result in a really impressive framerate if I think about how simplified the map of nDoom was...
But doesnt that kill the purpose or a real 3D game? ;)

sure it'd do for a first demo of gLib, but I doubt that's what he wants.
As I understood it, he needs real 3D char models to test gLib on a real 3D game to evaluate the speed ;)
  • Calculators owned: ti-83+, ti-84+, ti-84+, ti-84+se, ti-84+se(te), ti-nsphire, ti-nsphire CX-CAS, ti-voyage, ti-voyage, Who reads this list anyways...?
Anyway war sucks. Just bring us your food instead of missiles  :P ~ DJ Omnimaga (11.10.2016 20:21:48)
if you cant get a jframe set up, draw stuff to it, and receive input, i can only imagine how horrible your game code is _._   ~ c4ooo (14.11.2016 22:44:07)
If they pull a Harambe on me tell my family I love them ~ u/Pwntear37d (AssangeWatch /r/)
make Walrii great again ~ DJ Omnimaga (28.11.2016 23:01:31)
God invented the pc, satan the smartphone I guess ~ p4nix (16.02.2017 22:51:49)

Offline TheMachine02

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 356
  • Post Rating Ratio: +14/-0
Re: 3D models - A call To Arms
« Reply #22 on: May 15, 2017, 11:55:46 am »
Exactly, since using 3D model for character open a whole world of possibilities against using only 2D precomputed image, especially in lightning (cause yeah, my lightning is quite efficient right now). And even if the speed isn't enough to ouput full 320x240, I have the possibilities to lower the resolution....

Offline c4ooo

  • Super User
  • CW Contest II Winner
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: 127.0.0.1
  • Posts: 1012
  • Post Rating Ratio: +12/-4
  • Advanced forumer
  • Gender: Male
Re: 3D models - A call To Arms
« Reply #23 on: May 15, 2017, 09:50:10 pm »
Maybe you can do something simple like this just to showcase the engine? :)


Offline p2

  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Moderator
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 2293
  • Post Rating Ratio: +9/-0
  • *Wubba lubba dub dub*
    • KaliPhobos
  • Gender: Male
Re: 3D models - A call To Arms
« Reply #24 on: May 16, 2017, 08:09:49 am »
Do you guys still remember the ravenfield topic?
I guess such a simplified character model (rather similar to minecraft) would be enough for testing the speed in a first demo :)
Even tho it wouldn't really show the true beauty of the light stuff :/
  • Calculators owned: ti-83+, ti-84+, ti-84+, ti-84+se, ti-84+se(te), ti-nsphire, ti-nsphire CX-CAS, ti-voyage, ti-voyage, Who reads this list anyways...?
Anyway war sucks. Just bring us your food instead of missiles  :P ~ DJ Omnimaga (11.10.2016 20:21:48)
if you cant get a jframe set up, draw stuff to it, and receive input, i can only imagine how horrible your game code is _._   ~ c4ooo (14.11.2016 22:44:07)
If they pull a Harambe on me tell my family I love them ~ u/Pwntear37d (AssangeWatch /r/)
make Walrii great again ~ DJ Omnimaga (28.11.2016 23:01:31)
God invented the pc, satan the smartphone I guess ~ p4nix (16.02.2017 22:51:49)

Offline c4ooo

  • Super User
  • CW Contest II Winner
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: 127.0.0.1
  • Posts: 1012
  • Post Rating Ratio: +12/-4
  • Advanced forumer
  • Gender: Male
Re: 3D models - A call To Arms
« Reply #25 on: May 16, 2017, 08:09:25 pm »
Do you guys still remember the ravenfield topic?
I guess such a simplified character model (rather similar to minecraft) would be enough for testing the speed in a first demo :)
Even tho it wouldn't really show the true beauty of the light stuff :/
3D minecraft would be awesome too

Offline p2

  • CodeWalrus Staff
  • Super User
  • Moderator
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 2293
  • Post Rating Ratio: +9/-0
  • *Wubba lubba dub dub*
    • KaliPhobos
  • Gender: Male
Re: 3D models - A call To Arms
« Reply #26 on: May 17, 2017, 05:36:56 am »
not very realistic cuz of the amount of blocks that have to be rendered for a decent game experience.
in a simplified building like in nDOOM like 20 surfaces are shown in average (guessed, idk for sure) but for minecraft... x.x

I think an nDOOM like map combined with a minecraft-style character would be best suited...

Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong @TheMachine02 ^^
  • Calculators owned: ti-83+, ti-84+, ti-84+, ti-84+se, ti-84+se(te), ti-nsphire, ti-nsphire CX-CAS, ti-voyage, ti-voyage, Who reads this list anyways...?
Anyway war sucks. Just bring us your food instead of missiles  :P ~ DJ Omnimaga (11.10.2016 20:21:48)
if you cant get a jframe set up, draw stuff to it, and receive input, i can only imagine how horrible your game code is _._   ~ c4ooo (14.11.2016 22:44:07)
If they pull a Harambe on me tell my family I love them ~ u/Pwntear37d (AssangeWatch /r/)
make Walrii great again ~ DJ Omnimaga (28.11.2016 23:01:31)
God invented the pc, satan the smartphone I guess ~ p4nix (16.02.2017 22:51:49)

Offline TheMachine02

  • Full User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 356
  • Post Rating Ratio: +14/-0
Re: 3D models - A call To Arms
« Reply #27 on: May 17, 2017, 09:46:17 am »
Yeah minecraft despite his low-poly appearance is still quite heavy for CPUs. You have to build up chunk & many polygons may be needed to be rendered. With significant shortcut such as very low view distance it could be possible though. gLib can still output a heavy number of triangles per frame hopefully  :P

Online xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18799
  • Post Rating Ratio: +98/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: 3D models - A call To Arms
« Reply #28 on: May 17, 2017, 06:11:58 pm »
I think the Minecraft issue is that you need to render every single side of the squares, right? In regular 3D games, the terrain is usually a bunch of walls stuck together while Minecraft is individual blocks
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline WholeWheatBagels

  • Full User
  • Join Date: May 2016
  • Location: "yes"
  • Posts: 140
  • Post Rating Ratio: +2/-0
  • call me Bagels
    • detjensrobert
    • @@detjensrobert
    • WholeWheatBagels
  • Gender: Male
Re: 3D models - A call To Arms
« Reply #29 on: May 17, 2017, 06:20:11 pm »
IIRC why Minecraft is so CPU-intensive is that it has to calculate what blocks to show and render them in real-time dynamically instead of a fixed map like other games. Not sure if this is actually why tho.
Living in another world to you.



Also in case you were wondering Frankie did go to Hollywood

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games