* WalrusIRC

You need to have 5 posts and not be part of restricted usergroups in order to use the WalrusIRC embedded shoutbox. However, you can also access our IRC channel called #CodeWalrus via EFnet.

Author Topic: Connecting a TI-84+CE to a GBA  (Read 8511 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ivoah

  • Super User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 523
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-0
    • @NoahRosamilia
    • Ivoah
    • @UCmgDyh_AeaHALohvR7PKXIw
    • /u/Ivoah
    • Ivoah
    • 114/11421
    • Codinghobbit
  • Gender: Male
  • WalriiPoints: 100
Re: Connecting a TI-84+CE to a GBA
« Reply #45 on: February 26, 2016, 06:05:20 pm »
*bump*

I've finally saved up the money for a GBA again. ;D So once I get that (should be today), I'll start anew.

But does anyone know how to get started? I still have no idea on how to actually start writing code that would even begin to run on a GBA, much less communicate between a GBA and a CE.
You can't link a GBA to a CE, because TI removed the link port.
  • Calculators owned: TI-86 (now broken), TI SR-56, TI-Nspire CX CAS, TI-84+ SE, TI-84+ SE, TI-85, TI-73 Explorer VS, ViewScreen, TI-84+ CSE, TI-83+ SE

Offline caleb1997

  • Full User
  • Safe-haven access
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location: In a calculator.
  • Posts: 60
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-1
  • Gender: Male
Re: Connecting a TI-84+CE to a GBA
« Reply #46 on: February 26, 2016, 09:14:06 pm »
Doesn't the mini-USB of the CE have a proper controller now? It might work.
  • Calculators owned: CSE, CE

Offline Ivoah

  • Super User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 523
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-0
    • @NoahRosamilia
    • Ivoah
    • @UCmgDyh_AeaHALohvR7PKXIw
    • /u/Ivoah
    • Ivoah
    • 114/11421
    • Codinghobbit
  • Gender: Male
  • WalriiPoints: 100
Re: Connecting a TI-84+CE to a GBA
« Reply #47 on: February 26, 2016, 09:14:53 pm »
Doesn't the mini-USB of the CE have a proper controller now? It might work.

Yes, but there's no USB on a GBA. Unless you can toggle and read the data pins on the CE directly, it won't work.
  • Calculators owned: TI-86 (now broken), TI SR-56, TI-Nspire CX CAS, TI-84+ SE, TI-84+ SE, TI-85, TI-73 Explorer VS, ViewScreen, TI-84+ CSE, TI-83+ SE

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18782
  • Post Rating Ratio: +96/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Connecting a TI-84+CE to a GBA
« Reply #48 on: February 26, 2016, 10:33:44 pm »
Are there converters?
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Ivoah

  • Super User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 523
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-0
    • @NoahRosamilia
    • Ivoah
    • @UCmgDyh_AeaHALohvR7PKXIw
    • /u/Ivoah
    • Ivoah
    • 114/11421
    • Codinghobbit
  • Gender: Male
  • WalriiPoints: 100
Re: Connecting a TI-84+CE to a GBA
« Reply #49 on: February 26, 2016, 11:01:58 pm »
Are there converters?
Converters for what?
  • Calculators owned: TI-86 (now broken), TI SR-56, TI-Nspire CX CAS, TI-84+ SE, TI-84+ SE, TI-85, TI-73 Explorer VS, ViewScreen, TI-84+ CSE, TI-83+ SE

Offline xlibman

  • Omni founder & CW co-founder
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • CodeWalrus Supporter
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Quebec, Canada
  • Posts: 18782
  • Post Rating Ratio: +96/-4
    • dj_omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga.music
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • dj_omnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • /u/DJ_Omnimaga
    • DJOmnimaga
    • 112/11286
    • @djomnimaga
    • @DJOmnimaga
    • DJ Omnimaga music store
  • Gender: Male
Re: Connecting a TI-84+CE to a GBA
« Reply #50 on: February 26, 2016, 11:20:18 pm »
For the cables. For example, there are serial to USB converters and vice-versa (eg if someone has no serial port on his PC). So I was wondering if there was one for GBA <> USB.
  • Calculators owned: TI-57, 73, TI-80 (broken), TI-81, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+ (broken), TI-83+SE (broken), TI-84+, TI-84+CSE, TI-84+CE, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89T, TI-92, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CX (semi-broken), HP 39gII, HP Prime, Casio fx-7000G, fx-7400G+, fx-7700GE, fx-9750G+, fx-9750GII, fx-9860G, cfx-9850G, FX-1.0+, fx-CG10, fx-CP400
  • Consoles, mobile devices and vintage computers owned: Samsung i5510, Nexus 5, Atari 2600, Lynx, SMS, Game Gear, Genesis, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GCN, Wii, Wii U, GBA, DS, 3DS, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP, PSVita, XBox 360, XBOne

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Ivoah

  • Super User
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 523
  • Post Rating Ratio: +6/-0
    • @NoahRosamilia
    • Ivoah
    • @UCmgDyh_AeaHALohvR7PKXIw
    • /u/Ivoah
    • Ivoah
    • 114/11421
    • Codinghobbit
  • Gender: Male
  • WalriiPoints: 100
Re: Connecting a TI-84+CE to a GBA
« Reply #51 on: February 27, 2016, 12:02:49 am »
For the cables. For example, there are serial to USB converters and vice-versa (eg if someone has no serial port on his PC). So I was wondering if there was one for GBA <> USB.

Actually, if you got a USB to Serial adaptor that might work, as (I think?) the latest CE OS has USB serial stuff.
  • Calculators owned: TI-86 (now broken), TI SR-56, TI-Nspire CX CAS, TI-84+ SE, TI-84+ SE, TI-85, TI-73 Explorer VS, ViewScreen, TI-84+ CSE, TI-83+ SE

Offline caleb1997

  • Full User
  • Safe-haven access
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location: In a calculator.
  • Posts: 60
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-1
  • Gender: Male
Re: Connecting a TI-84+CE to a GBA
« Reply #52 on: March 03, 2016, 01:59:34 pm »
So I'd have to get a converter, and connect it that way. Hmph.

* caleb1997 starts brainstorming
  • Calculators owned: CSE, CE

Offline aeTIos

  • Dabbler in C
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Ede, NL
  • Posts: 1049
  • Post Rating Ratio: +12/-0
  • hi
    • r_vdijk
    • /u/aetios
    • aetios
  • Gender: Male
Re: Connecting a TI-84+CE to a GBA
« Reply #53 on: March 03, 2016, 02:07:48 pm »
I think the best thing to do it make a converter yourself, because I doubt that there will be GBA <> USB adapters readily available. I bet that the best thing to do would be having an usb interface in e.g. an arduino and interface with the gba over serial. So an active converter (more like an interface in that case)
ceci n'est pas une signature

Offline caleb1997

  • Full User
  • Safe-haven access
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location: In a calculator.
  • Posts: 60
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-1
  • Gender: Male
Re: Connecting a TI-84+CE to a GBA
« Reply #54 on: March 03, 2016, 02:09:34 pm »
How would I get started building a converter? After all, it's 6-pin (GBA) to 5(or4)-pin(CE) (if I remember correctly)
  • Calculators owned: CSE, CE

Offline aeTIos

  • Dabbler in C
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Ede, NL
  • Posts: 1049
  • Post Rating Ratio: +12/-0
  • hi
    • r_vdijk
    • /u/aetios
    • aetios
  • Gender: Male
Re: Connecting a TI-84+CE to a GBA
« Reply #55 on: March 03, 2016, 02:11:01 pm »
The way I'd go about that is have an active interface between the two sides. So CE (5 pin) -> microcontroller  over GPIO-> GBA
ceci n'est pas une signature

Offline caleb1997

  • Full User
  • Safe-haven access
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location: In a calculator.
  • Posts: 60
  • Post Rating Ratio: +1/-1
  • Gender: Male
Re: Connecting a TI-84+CE to a GBA
« Reply #56 on: March 03, 2016, 02:11:53 pm »
So it'd be like this:

CE(5 pin)-> Raspberry Pi->GBA. Am I right?
  • Calculators owned: CSE, CE

Offline aeTIos

  • Dabbler in C
  • Super User
  • Original 5
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Location: Ede, NL
  • Posts: 1049
  • Post Rating Ratio: +12/-0
  • hi
    • r_vdijk
    • /u/aetios
    • aetios
  • Gender: Male
Re: Connecting a TI-84+CE to a GBA
« Reply #57 on: March 03, 2016, 02:59:35 pm »
Or any compatible microcontroller, yes.
ceci n'est pas une signature

 


You can also use the following HTML or bulletin board code to share it on your page or forum signature!


Also do not forget to check our affiliates below.
Planet Casio TI-Planet Calc.news BroniesQC BosaikNet Velocity Games